We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, big room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   965 N. State St., Saint Ignace, MI 49781   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Woodbridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great view, big room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We had a king suite spa room with a view of the beach. From reading some reviews I though the boardwalk went past the hotel, but that isn't the case. There is some minor maintance work that needs to be done (brown spots from water damaged ceiling in the bathroom, a stain on the carpet near the elevator). Overall the room was very clean and you can hear some noise from those walking down the hall. I also could hear pounding feet above me from whoever was in that room. They kept the breakfast area well stocked during that time. Good location to all the ferry lines (about 1/2 a mile). I wish they had a fitness center, but they do have a nice indoor pool. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    48
    39
    19
    16
See reviews for
54
50
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I know that the HIE chain repurposes old and other hotels, but this one is way below the usual expectations of a Holiday Inn Express.

Amber, at the Front Desk, is awesome - I will say that. But after she so pleasantly checked me in and gave me my key it was just plain yuck.

The room - "beachfront" - is dark, dank and weirdly shaped ... which is fine if they just accepted it without trying to make it a "feature"....

The patio looks on to a Gull-infested yard that is filled with bird crap and feathers and stinks and you definitely couldn't/shouldn't walk on it....

The "beach" is a mix of rocks (not pebbles) and stiff grass and muck ... and if you have kids do NOT let them go play there....

The bed is old....

The couch and chairs are saggy....

I sure hope the HIE Chain spends some money to renovate this... it needs it. Or let it go, let it just be a regular Holiday Inn. This is kind of what I expect from a Holiday Inn, and that's why I don't stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

This was my second stay at this hotel chain within the past 6 months. Some elements were the same....comfortable bed, so-so complimentary breakfast, but consider the operative word. The beach view was very nice (all rooms face the water), but you cannot swim in the beach as it is very rocky & cold (Lake MI). The shower was nice, as well as the indoor pool & hot tub. Indoor pool area is large; has more than enough lounge chairs for everyone. The pool temperature is COLD, but feels really exhilarating after sitting in the hot tub! Now, I must mention how absolutely RUDE one of the desk clerks was...we checked in on July 2, between 4-5pm. Upon returning from dinner that night (same person working), I requested extra towels and shampoo as we passed by the desk. The response I received was this: a sigh of exasperation, followed by eye rolling at what I considered to be a complete reasonable request! I must say that this individual was rude even during check-in...I observed this person dealing with other guests who were in line ahead of me-just a general attitude that she was being inconvenienced by having to do what is supposed to be her job. News flash: this is a customer service position!!! I'm sure there are many people who would be delighted to have that job & who would do it with a smile (imagine that!). Did I get her name? No. But I would hope that the 'powers that be' will read this review & take the appropriate actions & educate their staff about what real customer service is supposed to be!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendota, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Just returned from two days at Holiday Inn Express in St. Ignace. Nice place to stay. Room was roomy and view was excellent. A bit dated but overall it was a positive experience. Location was great. Close to ferry boats to Mackinac and close to downtown...easy walk into town.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Excellent choice for a hotel. We both loved the Holiday Inn Express in St. Ignace. Our balcony looked out over the water to Mackinac Island in the distance. We left the sliding patio door open to the balcony and fell asleep to the gentle sounds of the surf. No spiders, no bugs, just comfortable chairs on the balcony and a beautiful view. There was nothing wrong with the shoreline below the balcony--we have seen many of them, and unless you are expecting a swimming beach (which St. Ignace will not have), it looks just as it should. Two large, extremely comfortable queen beds. Well-appointed bathroom with separate counter and sink on the outside. A very nice included breakfast. Quiet room--other than the washing of the waves, we heard no other sounds. I highly recommend the Holiday Inn Express in St. Ignace. I read the negative reviews, but experienced nothing like what they said. So, why do I give it only 4 stars? We stayed at the Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island for a couple days following St. Ignace, and despite how much I liked the Holiday Inn Express, I could hardly rate it and the Grand equally. But, don't let that fool you. This is still a great hotel. Be sure you get the balcony view if you go--that was really a special touch.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a balcony room overlooking the water--you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is agreat place to stay in St Ignace. It is clean, quiet, and has a decent breakfast bar to get started with.

Room Tip: This hotel closes sometimes in the winter after the main season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chigago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

My family and I were traveling to Michigan and found the Holiday Inn Express in St. Ignace online. Booked the room and were pleasantly surprised at the beautiful room and the great view of Mackinac Island. The desk clerks were also very helpful in making plans as to what there was to do in the surrounding areas. Kudos to everyone at this fine establishment. Hope to see you in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace

Address: 965 N. State St., Saint Ignace, MI 49781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Inn St. Ignace, Michigan. Conveniently located 1/2 mile from the Mackinac Island Ferry Docks and 5 miles from the Famous Mackinaw Bridge. While visiting St. Ignace there is plenty to see and visit, Fort Mackinac, the Mystery Spot, Castle Rock, Mackinac Crossings, Mill Creek, and Tahquamenon Falls are just a few great ideas for a great vacation. Great activities including the Lilac Festival, Antique Auto Show, Truck Show, and The Midnight Ride. Stay Smart and enjoy our indoor heated pool and spa and our free deluxe continental breakfast.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace Hotel Saint Ignace
Holiday Inn St Ignace
Holiday Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.