We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION! Very Clean Room!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Lakefront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Lakefront to your Saves list
Quality Inn Lakefront
1021 N. State St., Saint Ignace, MI 49781   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Saint Ignace
MI
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION! Very Clean Room!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was one of the cleanest hotels I've stayed in! The view was fantastic! The pool & hot tub area was nice too. I don't recommend walking the beach area, as people tended to use it as an ashtray! Yuck! They should clean that up! That would be my only complaint. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I would recommend a lake view room. Worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    41
    10
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
44
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Ive been coming to St. Ignace for 20 years. Ive probably stayed at every hotel at some point. While the Quality is perhaps nothing amazing it certainly deserves to be rated much higher than most of the places here.

Its one of the big, lakeside chains. Ive stayed at all of those in recent years and they are essentially all the same.

If everything happens to be the same price then maybe the Quality isnt THE best choice but more than likely it will be cheaper than the other options in town.

The building is about 50 feet from the water, has a balcony with a perfect view of the lake and Mackinac Island, came with a jacuzzi and a king bed for almost half the price of the other chains next door.

The place is clean, maybe a little out of date but nothing to get worked up about.

If youre on any kind of budget at all or simply dont mind if theres a crack on a bathroom tile (and that sort of thing) then the Quality is the best.

So just to sum up, if everything is the same price Quality may be youre 3rd or 4th choice of the lakeside chains but if they keep their prices down like they have been theres no reason you shouldnt come here first,

Room Tip: 3rd floor room in the middle of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

So I am a planner; I like to know what Im doing and when and where Im staying and how far it is from everything and yada yada yada...well I was going to stay at a different motel in mackinaw city however, last minute I changed it to here because it was going to be sort of chilly and I wanted an indoor pool. So I went to expedia and picked the cheapest one...at 130 a night...with a private beach and indoor pool, I went with it. Well I showed up and just because the hotel is on the lake does not mean it has a private beach. There is about six feet of sand, then 20 feet of trees and brush and then a rocky wall and then the water. No sandy beach, with waves rolling up the shore...which is what I was expecting for a private beach. The pool and hot tub was good, the breakfast was standard, the room was clean, and not smelly. Its in a good location, within two minutes of town. Within in walking/biking distance.

However, there are tons of hotels along these roads. I mean back to back hotels and motels and once you get up there they are all competing with very low prices...probably half of what i paid per night. And not one said no vacancy. If I go again, I will not be booking online...I will wing it and just know that there will most def be a hotel vacancy for cheap once I get there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Made reservation directly through hotel 5 days before visit and was simple and fast and priced ok. Staff extremely nice and accommodating-especially housekeeping. Loved the fact all the rooms faced the water which meant one line of rooms with opened walkways to enter and a nice balcony off your room with a view of Mackinaw Island. Lovely breeze through room off the water. Room clean with nice bedding and good mattress, updated faucet and shower head. Has a coffee maker and fridge. Pool, ice and office are separate from lodging with a short walk. Located a short drive to boat docks, dining and casino-perfect for our trip!

Room Tip: 2nd or third floor for view-all have water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Michigan
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

For the price we paid for a room with a king bed, a pullout for the kids, balcony and hottub in the room it wasn't bad. If you don't mind rooms with no interior corridors and aren't afraid of little bugs that congregate around lakes, you'll be fine.
The room was clean but smelled a bit of lemon disinfectant. The decor is very dated and the "beach" was no more than a section of sand without easy access to the lake that needed to be cleaned for cigarette butts. (We wouldn't let our kids play on the beach.) The internet was not working as was documented by a misspelled sign in the office. I was disappointed that management implied that the wifi not working was not a big deal as it was "free" anyway. Hotels need to understand travelers will choose hotels based on these amenities.
The breakfast is average and they start moving things right at ending time (9:30). With such a small area to eat and the inability to take food out (multiple plastic signs) we felt rushed and burdensome when we arrived at 9:15.
The pool is in an outbuilding and included a good-sized pool and nice spa that was well-maintained.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 3rd floor seemed larger. We liked our king suite with the in-room spa, and it was o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was a decent place for a couple days stay.
Pluses:
Right on the lake, great view and warm enough to go wading on the rocky beach.
Reasonably clean and well maintained.
OK Parking. We did not use the pool but it looked nice.
Good sized room
Minuses:
Feather pillows, caused some allergy issues
Breakfast room is way too small for a hotel this size. Eat early or late or go to a different restaurant instead. Pretty standard breakfast offering anyway.
A fair distance to boat docks and not much within walking distance.
WIreless internet was not working while we were there

We would probably check elsewhere before staying here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colt
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was the worst place we have ever stayed. The only good thing about this room was the view. The internet would not work unless you went outside with your computer. The bed was as hard as concrete. The bathroom was so small you could not stand in it and shut the door. The TV was old. The balcony was full of mosquitos and the door to the balcony was bent and hard to open/close, it was also filthy. The grass outside the balcony was tall but they did mow it just before we left. The staff was very rude and not accommodating at all. We told them about the problems and they said all that came free with the room!!! The breakfast was not stocked and we even came to eat early. Awful. Don't stay here!!!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms at this motel! Unless you measure the room for the view. That's all it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Lakefront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Lakefront

Address: 1021 N. State St., Saint Ignace, MI 49781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quality Inn Lakefront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Lakefront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.