We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Longest Week's Hotel Stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Lakefront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Lakefront to your Saves list
Quality Inn Lakefront
1021 N. State St., Saint Ignace, MI 49781   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Streamood
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Longest Week's Hotel Stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

1. Advertised indoor pool was in no way connected to the hotel. When the outdoor temp is 40° you don't want to have to go to the pool bundled up, get out of those clothes, in to your suit then get in a freezing, over filled pool (I am 5'2" and could not touch bottom on the marker indicating 4' and the drop is very abrupt) only to have to redress & walk back outside to your room. 2. After removing "do not disturb sign" on our way out for the day @ noon, we returned @ 8:30 PM to an uncleaned room. The night clerk had to interrupt the TV show he was snuggled in to watch, said if we needed anything we should come to the office and get it ourselves and if we wanted anything else to talk to the mgr in the AM. The following morning a member of the cleaning staff rudely indicated it was our own fault since if the do not disturb sign is not removed by noon "or so" they do not go back to check if it the room is available to be cleaned. 3. On 2 different nites, in pouring rain, we determined our key card was deactivated. The same nite clerk pulled himself away from TV to give us new keys with no apology or anything, All of this topped by the fact that upon check in we had to state the # of nites we were staying and then were required to sign a card indicating no refunds for any reason for our 7 nite stay. Ironically on one of our excursions we had a converstation with a "local" who previously knew the owner & said he had never found the facility clean so he stopped accepting "comped rooms. Never stay here - they don't care about you only about your $$$$$.

Room Tip: Rooms all seem to face the water, but does this matter if they are unclean and management has no con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    41
    10
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
44
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fenton, MI
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife & I just got back from out annual fall color tour of northern Michigan. We used the Quality Inn here as home base for our excursions. We only paid $74 per weekend night. They served a small continental breakfast. The room was clean and so were the grounds.

This is a 3 story complex and our room was second floor unit with a balcony. It had outstanding views of Macinac Island & Moran Bay. The stars at night and the sunrise in the morning were both easily viewed from the balcony's eastern exposure.

IMHO - St. Ignace is the best place to stay while visiting the Mackinaw Straits area. More restaurants, cooler downtown waterfront, easy access to The Locks, parks, hiking, etc. And this place is a good choice for accommodations.

Room Tip: Sayed here before - the higher levels are better for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is a great value for the cost of the hotel! The room was nice and spaceous. The view was great - right on the lake! Staff was very helpful and friendly. The only downside would be that breakfast is served in a seperate building. But I would definately stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed on 3rd floor and the room was very spaceous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Sanilac, Michigan
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This place was wonderful. Spectacular views, balcony facing the water, large room, exceptionally comfortable bed, very clean, and very reasonable. The pool is in a separate building, as is the office and breakfast area. Highly recommend, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Try for the third floor. Rooms are bigger and the view is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was my first time staying at this hotel. The check-in process went smooth, as my and my girlfriend were let in our rooms earlier then the check-in time. The views from the balcony were stunning. Our first day there we seen a full rainbow from our balcony. Everything you need is at pretty close to the hotel. The rooms were very clean. Overall my experience at the Quality Inn Lakefront was great.

Room Tip: Right Corner Spa suite is the best location in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nw wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Arrived in late afternoon after a long day and was pleasantly surprised to open the door and see the wonderful lake view and find chairs and a small table on the balcony. My 84-year old mother and I relaxed for a bit with a glass of wine and some good cheese just enjoying the view before heading out to dinner. I got a recommendation from Mike for a local place that had a good reputation for their fish and was reasonable. We ended up having one of the best meals of our trip!
Everything in the room was clean and comfortable. We heard no noise except some rumbles of thunder later in the evening. We were moving on the next day, but if we had not had reservations at our next destination, I definitely would have hung out in St. Ignace and at the hotel for another day. I would come back here again any time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

This is 2year staying here. 3rd floor rooms mucb larger. Rooms are average but nice and clean. Staff is not the friendliest. Breakfast make sure you get there on time or it will be picked up even if you are trying to make it they dint care.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Lakefront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Lakefront

Address: 1021 N. State St., Saint Ignace, MI 49781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quality Inn Lakefront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Lakefront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.