We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Number 2 is #1 in my book” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn to your Saves list
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1067 North State St. / I-75, Saint Ignace, MI 49781 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Saint Ignace Lakefront)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Perrysburg, Ohio
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Number 2 is #1 in my book”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

I initially tried to book our stay at the #1 rated hotel by Trip Advisor but was disappointed that there weren't any rooms available. I then booked with the #2 rated Days Inn which was $10.00 cheaper for the same King/nonsmoking Balcony Lakefront AWESOME view which made it #1 in my book . We were pleasantly surprised that there was an ADULT ONLY hot tub area room separate from the indoor pool area. The breakfast room is pefectly fine with an outside large balcony and picnic table available for extra seating if needed. We also ate dinner next door at the steakhouse which had the best prime rib and the absolute best perch ever for great prices.

  • Liked — Private balconies with fantastic view of the lake and sunrise
  • Disliked — no bathroom fan
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    66
    27
    20
    8
See reviews for
75
79
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Central Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

Excellent View of Lake Superior and Mackinac Island. Rooms were above average size, very clean. The Breakfast room seemed EXTREMELY small for the size of the hotel but did have the typical breakfast foods. The only thng I wish was that the pool was a little shallower at the shallow end the small kids could not touch the bottom. Overall very nice would stay there again.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Poor internet connection, depth of pool for younger kids
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2006

Stayed here for 2 nights and had a great time. The room was larger than average with a great balcony offering superb views. Nice pool. Breakfast basic but okay. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newaygo, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2006

The Days Inn Lakefront & Suites was a wonderful place to stay. The room was very clean, spacious, and a beautiful view of the lake. I usually bring along some anti bacterial wipes or spray, when I stay in a hotel, however this time I left them behind. My plan was to check in, go to the store to purchase such wipes, then clean as usual before I would feel comfortable. However, as I walked into this room, looked around, I noticed how clean, and organized it all was. I never did buy any cleaning detergents, and had a very comfortable stay. This was the very first time I have ever felt comfortable at a hotel without cleaning it myself first. Outstanding! The first words out of my mouth as I opened the door was "wow, this is nice." The staff was very friendly, and made us feel like we were at home. Now for the view from the balcony of our room.... how beautiful! I thought maybe you would have to pay an extraordinary price for this view, but I was wrong. I would stand there and watch the waves come rolling in, it was lovely, and peaceful. I had a wonderful time there, and will choose this hotel the next time we go again. Thank you.

  • Liked — Very clean room.
  • Disliked — I wish there were more restaraunts to choose from that were closer.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulaski, WI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2006

At first we went in the room and it seemed dark and small, and didn't have the rollaway we asked for. I wasn't impressed. We questioned it and it was brought over in a few minutes with a big smile, extra towels, pillows, etc. The room was very clean. The pool was also really clean and the water was nice and warm!! We jumped right in each time. The staff was very friendly and went the extra step to make us happy. Coincidentally, our son also spilled his drink as happened in a previous review. The man working there got a cloth right away and cleaned it up and asked if he could do anything else. No complaints. Both days it was an older gentleman working there so maybe the crabby lady is gone. Breakfast was muffins, cereal, toast, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, bagels, oatmeal, etc. It ended up being a delightful little hotel and we will gladly go there again next year for the same event. Incidentally, our rate was $89.00 a night. The layout isn't that of a 5-star, but the hospitality and cleanliness are first rate.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2006

Traveling just after Labor Day was the best time. Our room was spacious (king bed), although not a suite, we did have a small frige, but the view was the best. My husband is into telescopes so the private balcony was perfect. With a sliding-glass wall, we slept with the door open every night. With the sound of the waves and birds, it was just the most pleasant, relaxing experience I had in a long time. Will definitely return to the area and if possible, to this hotel!

  • Liked — The view of Lake Huron
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early or off season
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2006

This was the 12th lodging location in a 5000+ mile driving trip. I expected a routine room. What I found was a large, comfortable oasis with a balcony overlooking Mackinac Island. The staff was welcoming and helpful, especially in arranging for us to be picked-up for an early-morning catamaran ride to the Island. Though it's located a bit down the road from the center of St. Ignace' activities, it's by no means inconvenient. And, since every room has a balcony and a water view, it's a peaceful retreat in any otherwise somewhat busy vacation community.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn

Address: 1067 North State St. / I-75, Saint Ignace, MI 49781 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Saint Ignace Lakefront)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re planning a trip to Northern Michigan, come stay with us! Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn is open year-round, making us your headquarters for easy access to all local attractions in the Mackinac Straits area. With our spacious rooms, great service and wide array of amenities, you’ll surely enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Saint Ignace Lakefront
Days Inn & Suites Saint Ignace Lakefront Hotel Saint Ignace
Days Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.