We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service, Atmosphere, and rooms....but Breakfast???” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn to your Saves list
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1067 North State St. / I-75, Saint Ignace, MI 49781 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Saint Ignace Lakefront)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Service, Atmosphere, and rooms....but Breakfast???”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The Service was polite as we checked in and were helpful and gave me a place to practice my instruments. The Hotel featured a view of Lake Huron in all rooms. Considering this was only $93, this was a great buy. The rooms were squeaky clean, and the beds were comfy. Room service promptly prepared our room for us (we were only staying 1 night here). I would stay here again. The only thing they need to improve is their breakfast. They had a limited selection, and it wasn't great. Also this was only a mile or so from the Mackinac Island ferry, making it an ideal (but not perfect) cheap place to stay while touring the island.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    66
    27
    20
    8
See reviews for
75
79
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is my second summer visiting the UP, and after staying at this hotel (which was a Days Inn until a few months ago) last year, I don't need to consider any others. Beautiful views of Lake Huron from the balcony/deck of every room, especially the top floor. This shore of the lake doesn't seem to offer sandy swimming beaches, which reduces the crowds/noise. Ample breakfast buffet from 7-10am. Staff was always friendly and helpful. It's not brand new, but it's fine and affordable. Perfect when you're more focused on relaxing than the typical touristy Mackinac fudge-and-tshirts experience.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This is my last night here and so far everything has been excellent! The staff are very helpfull and pleasant. The rooms are nicely appointed and the view is wonderful.Breakfast was good and the location near perfect. The front desk people are like having your own personal tour guide as they will set up your trips and direct you where the best spots to visit are. Just a great choice in St Ignace...............Give it a try !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Valle, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We recently spent 2 nights at the Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn in St. Ignace. The location was good and the balcony overlooking Lake Huron was lovely. That is about all that can be said that was good about this property. The staff in the office were fine, but the room wasn't clean at 4 p.m. when we returned from a day trip to Mackinac Island. We spent the next 30 minutes on the "patio" overlooking the parking lot waiting for the room to be cleaned. While there we were able to overhear other staff cleaners complain about the heat...which we could relate to since it was over 90 degrees and all we wanted was to rest in our room.
Our first impression of the place was an overwhelming mold smell in the office. The entire first floor in the part of the hotel in which our room was located had an incredible odor...a cross of mold and something rotten. We did notice that some parts of the hotel were not as bad. One of the hot tubs was filled with warm, not hot water. The room furnishings were shabby. If we had noticed the "former Days Inn" subtitle in some of the reviews, we would have chosen another property. The Holiday Inn Express was almost next door and at least from the exterior appeared to be nicer. I question some of the reviews. We booked through Booking.com and when our review appeared it gave it a 6.3 rating...we gave it poor scores on all categories except location and office staff which is puzzling.
The exterior of this hotel is charming but since we were asked for our credit card in advance of seeing the room, which is the policy of booking.com reservations at this hotel...we should have known what to expect. Given the chance to not lose our money, we would have found another hotel.
On the plus side, staying at St. Ignace was a good choice. We found a couple of nice restaurants overlooking the harbor and enjoyed a trip under the Mackinac Bridge on the Shepley "mighty Mac" ferry ride over to Mackinac Island. We would definitely go to Mackinac again, but never stay at the Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn.

Room Tip: Ask to see your accommodation before you agree to pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I didn't stay here, but they were kind enough to let me and my friends use their pool! We were staying at another motel down the road that did not have a pool and so we went to Days Inn and asked if we could go swimming and they let us! Very nice people!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I booked this property when it was a Days Inn, so when I found out it wasn't anymore, needless to say I was concerned. We arrived and found the inn right on the lakefront with every room facing the water, as promised. It is a very large hotel with plenty of lakefront property, which consists of a well-manicured lawn with swings, lounge chairs, picnic tables, and grill. There were also bonfires on the beach every night we were there. The beach isn't sandy for swimming, but full of large rocks which are nice to look at and climb on for photos. We saw the most impressive red moonrise over Mackinac Island on the the 4th of July. It was more spectactular than the fireworks! The balcony was such a nice extra for sitting outside in the evening, although the sun is VERY bright in the morning since all the rooms face east. The fridge in our room came in handy to store our leftovers from area restaurants (Jose's Cantina next door is EXCELLENT), as well as for chilling beverages (we had a bottle of wine, which fit upright and a 6-pack of beer). Very roomy fridge. The beds were reasonably comfortable and clean and the staff was friendly. The breakfast was okay if you like hard boiled eggs and sausage gravy (which I don't). But I managed fine with eating cereal and bananas every day. They also had bagels, muffins, and juice. The breakfast was plentiful every day and they never ran out, not even right before 10:00am. There is no DVD player in the room or pay-per-view movies, but there is HBO and plenty of other channels. We got free casino cash for the Kewadin Casino just down the road and enjoyed that as well. We visited the Ojibwa Indian Museum and the Fort de Buade museum in town (both are free). We spent a whole day on Mackinac Island and this place is IDEAL for doing that. There are 3 different ferry boats right in town, very close down the street, and all of them charge $24 round trip. We took the Star Line hydro jet ferry, which I highly recommend and sat on top. The hotel does look a bit old and dated and not air-conditioned in the hallways, but the room was quite nice and cool (this was in 90+ degree weather). The indoor pool area looked nice, but the weather was too hot when we were there to try the whirlpool or sauna. We had a nice, romantic getaway at the Bavarian Haus!

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms have a patio, upper floors have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed 2 nights. The place was an older hotel, but was well kept. The room was larger than your average newer hotel and ours looked like it had been renovated not long ago and very clean. They have a very nice lawn behind the hotel that leads right out to Lake Heron, with places to sit (or tan if you like that kind of thing) and play things for kids. My two (grown) kids and I played multiple games of tether ball ... what a good time. I hadn't seen a tether ball pole for years. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was OK, pretty standard fare.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn

Address: 1067 North State St. / I-75, Saint Ignace, MI 49781 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Saint Ignace Lakefront)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re planning a trip to Northern Michigan, come stay with us! Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn is open year-round, making us your headquarters for easy access to all local attractions in the Mackinac Straits area. With our spacious rooms, great service and wide array of amenities, you’ll surely enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Saint Ignace Lakefront
Days Inn & Suites Saint Ignace Lakefront Hotel Saint Ignace
Days Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.