We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Deer Ranch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Ranch

Deer Ranch
US Highway 2, Saint Ignace, MI
906-643-7760
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 20 Attractions in Saint Ignace
Type: Ranchs, Ranch & Farm
Attraction details
Clare, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Deer Ranch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stopped here on our vacation. The entrance fee was $5.00-not bad since you can take your time to walk and feed the deer. There are carrots and saltines for sale to feed the deer at $1.00 each. It is cute to see the deer run to the fence when they realize that you have food. We were able to see young fawns, older deer, albino deer and a one horned white deer. What a variety to see on one ranch. This is a must see for any age to get an education.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    10
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This place was fun, and our daughter really enjoyed feeding the deer. It did not take too long to feed them, so for $5 a person, it did not "wow" me since we were not out with the deer for very long before our crackers were gone. However, it was fun, especially for a two-year old.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Good for the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

You can take your time on this "Ranch". Walk at your own pace. The deer are real friendly. Make sure you buy the carrots! Our 2 1/2 and 5 year old both thought it was fun. We were there for about an hour, much fun was had by all.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, Michigan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great stop if you've got kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stopped here with a toddler (2.5 years old) and turned out to be the best stop of the trip. The little one loved it so much that we went back later in the week at her request. Prices are extremely reasonable for adults, 5 and under free, a small but reasonable fee for items to feed the deer.

Lots of fawns while we were there, and deer that will come up to the edge of the fence to be fed. The facility and the animals appear to be well maintained - we were concerned that it would be a nasty, scary place where animals were not well cared for, and that is absolutely NOT the case. The animals all seemed healthy and well-maintained, and the owners appear to be very conscientious in making sure that the facility is kept up.

Highly recommended whether you have kids or not, but if you have kids, you can probably kill at least an hour, maybe two here.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, MI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Loved our visit to the Deer Ranch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our 4 year old sons have loved Bambi for years, so we've been wanting to bring them here. I'm so glad we did! The deer were friendly and social. Even a couple that weren't looking for carrots still came to the fence for attention. One was even like a dog, rubbing his head on the fence and looking at us like, "hey, why'd you stop petting me?" They sell generous cups of carrot sticks for $1 (I think) and many of the deer were very eager to get their carrot snacks.

The highlight for us was that they had 12 fawns, still with spots, that look just like Bambi. :) 7 of them were still kept in the barn and you could pet them and see them up close. They can't eat carrots yet, but If you're lucky enough to be there at feeding time you can see them get bottle-fed!!

I remember my parents bringing our family here years ago, so it was nice to bring my own kids. The people working there were super nice, too. It was a nice place to stop, mostly if you have young children or just love animals.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deer Ranch also viewed

Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 

Been to Deer Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.