We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always the most fun ferry!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Star Line Mackinac Island Hydro-Jet Ferry

Star Line Mackinac Island Hydro-Jet Ferry
587 N. State Street, Saint Ignace, MI 49781
906 643-7635
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Hopkinsville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Always the most fun ferry!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We just love going across on the Star Line! What is more fun than a rooster tail behind you? ;-) They crew are always friendly, courteous and professional.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    32
    6
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head Island
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Greqat way to get to Mackinac Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

It's a loud boat but you feel like James Bond when you look astern and see the huge rooster tail the boat throws up. Pretty quick ride too. Check the schedule as certain times the boat actually detours and goes under the Mackinaw Bridge which is pretty neat.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Fast boat, fun crew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

All the ferries to Macinac are about the same price, so we went with the fastest one with free overnight parking. Star Line is like riding in a speed boat, compared with the other pokey lines. We chose to leave out of the main dock in St Ignace and would do that again, as the lines of people headed to Mackinac City from the island were much longer than ours. Also noticed that the other ferry lines had boats that were more packed than Star's (more waiting). This crew is also very entertaining.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“beautiful views from the upper deck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

A smooth ride to and from the island. Only problem was the temp had dropped and with a small child, it was a tough ride back.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

funnest time on the ferry,. A bat flew in and was going back and forth for a few minutes. People were freaking out. I was in the doorway when it came at me and had to duck, thinking it was going to fly out but it didn't. I couldn't get my vid. camera up fast enough, when guy knocked it down and threw it off the boat (kind of sad about that-he probably would of made it out). Anyway, that was too funny.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Line Mackinac Island Hydro-Jet Ferry also viewed

Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 

Been to Star Line Mackinac Island Hydro-Jet Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Line Mackinac Island Hydro-Jet Ferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.