We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of America's Best Value Inn

America's Best Value Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added America's Best Value Inn to your Saves list
America's Best Value Inn
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1074 N. State Street, Saint Ignace, MI 49781   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We booked this as an express deal on Priceline. Got a fair price and had a really nice stay.

Pros: The pool was great, it was a welcomed treat for us and the kids after a long car ride. The room was clean. We had a quiet stay. Friendly staff, especially the front desk lady! Good breakfast.

My only complaint: beds were not very comfortable, older and worn out.

Helpful Tip: not sure you can count on late check in. Front desk staff leave at 11pm. You should call ahead if you are going to need a late check in to be sure that is even possible.

Final: I would recommend this hotel, good value. Would probably stay again despite the old worn beds.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and the great review. I'm glad you liked the pool and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. I'm sorry the beds were not to your liking but it is hard to please everyone when it comes to their mattress preference (some like firm and some like soft). Our front desk staff leaves at 11 pm on weekdays and 12 am on Fridays and Saturdays, however, we own the motel directly across the street and there is someone there 24 hours a day to assist the late night travelers. We never have issues with late arrivals, we leave instructions on our office door directing any late arrivals where to check-in. There is always someone available by phone to help with anything you need. Thanks again for staying!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
20
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haslett, Michigan
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Our trip plans changed a little and we didn't have a reservation for one night in St Ignace. Every place in town had no vacancy signs. We walked I thinking we would hear no and they just had an opening as I walked through the door. The place was full but we didn't hear anyone. Very, very friendly front desk staff! Close to the casino. Clean and well kept.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for the nice review! I'm glad you found our staff friendly, helpful and everything to be clean. I'm happy we had a place for you on a busy weekend. Thanks for staying and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Even though the front desk was very friendly and helpful, we felt very dissatisfied. As we pull up to our room the door was open as they were just cleaning it. Since it was on the first floor, a chipmunk ran into the room. Someone had to chase it out. That was unnerving right there.The beds were hard and uncomfortable. It had an old musty smell in room and my friend had to take an allergy pill. There were 3 bugs climbing on the wall that we had to kill. Then we were told we should have wi- fi in the rooms but there was none. We had to step outside and walk near the office to get wi- fi. A very disappointing stay. I would have asked for another room but was told they were sold out as was every other motel along the way. We will not stay there again. Way overpriced for such outdated rooms. Even the carpet was torn and wearing away. Couldn't wait to leave out of that room with bugs.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
I'm very sorry your were dissatisfied with your stay. We have a contract with a bug/pest control company that sprays monthly for nature's little nuisances, so we do try to stay on top of that issue. We are consistently making updates to our rooms to keep our guests happy and satisfied with their stay. I'm glad that our front desk staff was very helpful to you and I hope you give us another try someday. Thanks for staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Rooms are nice and clean, continental breakfast was included in the reasonable rate. Even though we liked the room and the hotel's location, the breakfast room is far too small for the size of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for the nice review. I'm happy you found our motel to be very clean and reasonably priced. The breakfast room can seem small at times but we do have picnic tables outside for people to enjoy on nice days. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fowlerville
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed here after reading other reviews and would stay here in the future. Good location with Lake Huron access across the street. Nice clean room priced reasonable. There are plenty of towels in the room along with hair dryer, iron, soap, and shampoo. The only thing we found missing is no conditioner with the shampoo. We found the beds nice and firm without being too hard. Their breakfast is very nice with hot and cold items. The staff is very friendly and helpful. If you are headed to the island, get the Mackinac Money Bag offered at the front desk. There is a two for one ferry coupon that more than pays for the bag along with several other coupons for food and attractions.

Room Tip: They have pet friendly room and no pet rooms which is good if your are allergic to pet dander.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for the great review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the Mackinac Money Bag. It is a great deal if you are planning a trip to Mackinac Island. We hope to see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan's Upper Peninsula
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed here for an overnight recently. It is not the fanciest motel in St Ignace but your not paying for fancy either. Prices are reasonable, rooms are clean, location is great. Gounds were kept clean and they even have a small continental breakfast room. I would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and the nice review. You're right, we aren't the fanciest of motels but we strive to keep our guests happy with very clean rooms and a helpful staff. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Clean and very reasonable! The staff was quite pleasant. The hotel does offer an indoor heated pool which was good since being on the lake and chilly evenings. The outside was maintained as well as the rooms. They offer both a hot and cold breakfast bar. We would definitely choose this hotel again!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and found our motel to be very clean. Thank you for the great review and I hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to America's Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Value Inn

Address: 1074 N. State Street, Saint Ignace, MI 49781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — America's Best Value Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your America's Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage America's Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.