We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Place to Stay & Glad I Picked it for a 4 night stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of America's Best Value Inn

America's Best Value Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added America's Best Value Inn to your Saves list
America's Best Value Inn
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1074 N. State Street, Saint Ignace, MI 49781   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Saint Ignace
London, England
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 180 cities Reviews in 180 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place to Stay & Glad I Picked it for a 4 night stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I had intended to stay in Mackinaw City but the prices were way too high, so I settled on St Ignace and the ABVI, which, whilst it was not on the lakeside, offered the best value and it turned out to be a good choice. My room was at the end of the second floor with outside walkway with a handily placed chair from which I could see through the opposite buildings to the lake. The current owner also owns the opposite property and I was encouraged to use their lakeside facility.
All of the staff were very friendly and helpful and my only criticism would be the size of the Breakfast Room which was inadequate for the number of guests.
My room was very quiet, clean & comfortable, all I could have asked for.
Unlike one of the previous reviewers I enjoyed playing with Rosie (the black lab) each morning when I used the business centre.
A thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: A room facing the road will afford a view of Lake Huron
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
20
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The room wasn't the greatest, it needed some fresh mattresses (one box spring was really stained). The bathroom needed some fresh paint. The room smelled musty but that usually is the case in small motels. The staff was excellent, friendly and accommodating. We stayed 2 nights. The breakfast was ok, if you don't mind mini everything. I would recommend that they offer a larger coffee cup for one thing. Maybe a few more tables outside the breakfast area as it was cramped in the small building. I really enjoyed the dog behind the desk- she was friendly and cute. The price was very affordable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Took a weekend trip to the UP and stayed at this place when the highest ratest Tripadvisor places were booked. The room was spacious and clean. Free breakfast more than adequate. There's a good mexican restaurant across the street. It's 1 1/2 miles into the downtown from the motel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

I walked into the office to see a sign that says no pets, but yet the girl at the desk is playing with a black lab behin the desk that just run out from behind it and jumps on guest.. What if people are allergic? My daughter is and that dog jumped on her and the girl didn't say anything. Everythig else was great!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Decent lodging, and the front desk saved us $25 by giving us a coupon for 2 for 1 on the Arnold Line ferry to Mackinac Island. Beds were firm but I'm ok with that. It IS across the street from Lake Huron, but there are many places ON the lake if that's your bag. As others have said, their continental breakfast is minimal so head for McDonalds that's what we did....I gotta have a substantial breakfast!

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room so ya don't have to lug yer stuff upstairs,eh?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Not the cleanest or most comfortable place to stay but affordable for the area.
The room was very musty/moldy smelling. Couldnt put anything in the drawers due to them smelling like dirty wet clothes were left in them!! Gross. The whole family was congested and sneezing whenever we were in the room. Walls are thin. Beds basic. Pool was questionable. Foggy appearance with white foam floating on top. Walked into the breakfast bar & walked right back out.
Coffee pots nasty and dirty.
I would pay the extra amount for comfort and better amenities.

Room Tip: SPLURGE! if you choose to stay then get on the second level. Like I said if you just need a quick pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Michigan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Very basic clean room. They say they have "extra's" but not, it's just the basic's. Very light breakfast,NOT a FULL breakfast, cold cereal, mini muffins/bagels, boiled eggs, coffee, juice. But there was no coffee ay 930am. Price line $52 a night.

Room Tip: if u just need a room to sleep and shower. It will work for u.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to America's Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Value Inn

Address: 1074 N. State Street, Saint Ignace, MI 49781
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — America's Best Value Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your America's Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage America's Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.