We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Balsams Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Ignace
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Balsams Resort
Save Saved
You added Balsams Resort to your Saves list
1464 W US 2, Saint Ignace, MI 49781   |  
Hotel amenities
Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A nice stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We booked the same cabin we had on our honeymoon 43 years ago...yikes! We thought it would be fun to stay there for the Mackinac Bridge walk (first time walkers). I started to get cold feet on the drive there, hoping there had been considerable refurbishing done since 1968. It was very pleasant. The cabin was clean, the bed comfortable and the shower great - key items. It is hard to rate it more than average, however, because it is rustic. Still, it was very comfortable and the staff was great. It seemed a little pricey for what it offered, but that could have been because it was Labor Day weekend. It is a real "up north" spot.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson Ohio
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We came back to the Balsams this summer and booked motel room 6 (it has a wood floor). This time we hiked in the national forest about 2 miles to the west, swam at the public beach about 8 miles west, went to Mackinac Island for a day trip, biked around the island, ate at a couple of local restaurants, and hung around on the Balsam's beach. There were four of us in the motel room, the bedding and curtains were clean, and we were able to get more towels when needed from the "Internet Cafe" / supply room. We all had computers (I know, we're weird) and were able to keep up with the rest of the world when we wanted to using the motel wi-fi.

Had a great time at the Balsams, and hope to visit again next year. We love to swim in Lake Michigan - it's like the ocean, only really clear, cold, and clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We recently spent a night at The Balsams and had a wonderful time. We had just come from 3 days of wilderness camping so the rustic log cabin that we rented seemed quite luxurious in comparison. The room was very clean, fresh linens, plenty of towels and pillows for the 5 of us. The kitchen was suitably stocked for our needs. We enjoyed hiking the trails and spending time on the beach. We took their kayak out for a ride around the point to get a really good view of the Mackinac Bridge. As was mentioned in several other posts, the beach is across the street. We had to wait 30 seconds or so for an opening to cross the road, but that wasn't a big problem for us. Later that night we borrowed a movie from the office and watched it to help the kids wind down.

This isn't a Ritz Carlton, but if you're looking for a cozy log cabin in the woods with several nice amenities then this would be a good choice for you.

Room Tip: I'd prefer to stay in one of the log cabins rather than the hotel rooms up front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belding
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

My husband and I along with my teenage daughter, and my two dogs stayed in cabin 1 and had a wonderful time. We are not real big camping people. The cute little cabin was just the right amount of "roughing It" for us. We found the cabin to be cozy and clean. We were surprised to find that the motel and the cabins were booked because it was so quiet and peaceful. Alot of little details were thought of by Balsam's, like dish towels, a clothes line, a basket for picnics, brochures for area attractions, etc. We were grateful to find a place our dogs were welcome. The beach was clean and we had it to ourselves for sometime. They provided beach chairs. Just bring your cooler and some towels. The fans in the cabin kept it very comfortable even on a warm day. Comfy chairs and a fire pit, and a grill, anything you may need was provided. We enjoyed Castle Rock after seeing a brochure in our cabin as well as a wonderful mexican restraunt called Jose Cantina which also allowed us to dine on their deck with our pups. Also the local paper in the cabin pointed us to a place filled with fudge and other yummy things. Thank you Balsams. We hope to see you again. The Zachow Family

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudsonville, MI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

We recently returned from a stay at Balsams Resort in St. Ignace. We stayed in Cabin #6. We chose this cabin based upon the photos (what few there are) on the website + the amenities it had for the size of our little family. However, the pictures are NOT entirely accurate now. My guess is they're old photos from when cabins were originally built. So, the photos you see may not be what you get entirely, but are semi-accurate. For example, in Cabin #6 the photos show a patterned carpeting, but when we got there it was just (very uneven) wooden floors (with a nail head or two poking up - watch little ones' feet!), refridgerator in different place (not a big deal), porch not NEARLY as tidy and porch furniture not as nice quality as shown.

The good:

- The location
- Kitchen decently stocked with utencils & appliances working well
- Beds pretty comfortable & linens clean
- Cozy except for gross cob webs in every corner (see comment below)
- Friendly & helpful staff

The bad:

- Cabins seem shabbily built (floor very uneven, cabins held up by cinder blocks, obvious replacement of roof planks - possibly from major leakage?), drawers in kitchen very sticky and hard to open.

- VERY cob-webby! You'd think for $110/night they would have broomed out the cob webs that are all OVER the cabin! Yuck!

- Very dusty & generally unclean feeling (except bedding, surprisingly)

- Very dim lighting in bedrooms - hard to see & get around on uneven floors = lots of stubbed toes & banged knees

- Sink in bathroom leaked all over my feet when I turned the water on too high - not sure what is up with that

- TV provided gets NO channels - only for use with a VHS player provided (they offer a small selection of VHS tapes in their office). This is a little hard with small children who get bored easily with sitting around the fire w/ Mom & Dad.

- Wood selection for firepits is a messy pile next to Cabin #6 and wood is constantly wet from rain - takes a long time to get fires going

- Playground is OK, but not much - playset looks very unstable & rotted (wood)

- Had major T-storm & rain one night of our stay and woke up to a couple leaks on the floor, but nothing too major. Thankfully nothing on the beds - just in main dining area & on hard floor.

- Decor is meant to be cozy, I guess, but definitely VERY outdated. Futon mattress was very faded & dirty looking.


Overall, I give the place a grade of: D. I think the family that runs it are very nice, good-hearted & helpful & it seems they are trying their best, BUT, the place is not worth the money, I'm sorry to say! We enjoyed it for what it was - a cabin in the woods & it's obviously not meant to be a hotel, but the overall uncleanliness of the interior is what turned us off the most. A little more housekeeping & deeper cleaning would go a LONG way. Should also update photos to more accurately represent what customers are getting. Was a pretty disappointing stay...but maybe the other cabins are better? :(

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelby township
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

My family used to come to the Balsam's in the 1960's. We used to call it snow white and the 7 dwarf cottages, as they used to have these statues at the entrance. There were also small paddle boats that you could use at the pond. Many good memories, as this was one of our frequent summer destinations up north. I brought my own kids here when they were little.

Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan and Jamaica
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

What a glorious place for a relaxing retreat. My husband and I and our daughter (23 yrs old) stayed in a true UP 'rustic' log cabin right next to the creek - a cozy, charming rustic cabin with a stone fireplace (and we used it at night, even in July!), kitchen, lovely new bathroom, and a porch with a view of the creek - not another guest in sight - the privacy was much appreciated. Campfires (plenty of wood provided) in the evenings with our visiting 20 year old daughter and her boyfriend were very special - we had a chance to catch up on each other, chat and play cards and relax together far away from jobs, school, computers, TV's, Ipods, and the hustle and bustle of our everyday lives. The sandy beach just a short walk across the road is lovely and the Lake Michigan swimming cold but fun - great for little ones as it is shallow a long ways out. The staff and owners are unfailingly helpful and pleasant with great suggestions for where to go - we especially enjoyed our fresh whitefish, trout fillets and smoked whitefish that we got from the Mackinaw Fish Co. - inexpensive and delicious cooked over our campfire one night. The town of St. Ignace is close by, but we preferred to stay at our cabin, sitting out in the lush woods, awash with wildflowers, and listen to the babbling of the creek. Don't be fooled by the roadside motel rooms which are very nice and comfortable ... the true treasures are hidden back in the woods, along the creek. We'll be back to stay at 'our' cabin again soon. Thanks to all at Balsalm's1

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Balsams Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balsams Resort

Address: 1464 W US 2, Saint Ignace, MI 49781
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Saint Ignace
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balsams Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;