We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mystery Spot

Mystery Spot
150 Martin Lake Road, Saint Ignace, MI 49781
(906) 643-8322
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 20 Attractions in Saint Ignace
Type: Mysterious Sites, Landmarks
Attraction details
michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a fun place to visit. Our grandchildren had fun walking through the mystery rooms and getting to participate in the demonstrations. They also have two ziplines which they really enjoyed and a maze. Fun experience for everyone.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    64
    28
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester MI
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“A Tourist Trap That's Worth a Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

OK, so this is kind of campy, but well worththe time. Very entertaining. They have a number of weird building angles and a well rehearsed script that will have you saying "hmmmmm". I had brought my now 16 year old son to the Mystery Spot when he was 6 or so. He asked to come back. I'm glad we stopped. The place has undergone some careful renovation after it was apparently severely damaged by a storm last year. (Likely due to all those mysterious and twisting magnetic waves at this exact spot!) Areas that formerly unroofed now have a transparent plastic roof, allowing light to penetrate while keeping sprinkles of rain off the guests heads. The big addition is the Zip Line. That was well worth the extra cost. The fisrt one is a huge step off into open air and fast. The second is a bit more gradual, slower, a better view to the Straits of Mackinaw and countryside.

Ask the guys helping you with the harness how you can stear the rope by twisting it up by the pulley attachment. You'll have a better ride, and can see what you wish versus just spinning wherever on the ride down.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caseville, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Zip Line was great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I have always wanted to zip line and when I saw the sign, I thought why not go for it. The staff were very helpful and friendly and made me feel reassured that it would be an enjoyable and safe experience. The view from the second zip line platform is great and you can see the Mackinac Bridge in the distance. I didn't get to try out the rest of the Mystery Spot attractions, but will be sure to return again someday.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Michigan
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Relived memories with my family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I remember Mystery Spot as a kid. They have since rebuilt the buildings and added some paved brick floors (I remember them being wood). The kids thought it was cool, but very short. We'll have to go back for the ZIP line as it was closed due to weather.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Kids loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Yeah, it's a tourist trap, but if your kids like Gravity Falls on Disney... it's totally Gruncle Stan's Mystery Shack.

Our tour guide was great and made the tour quite fun. Kids (8&11) both went zip-lining afterwards and LOVED it!

Putt-putt was only "ok" and the wood fence maze was fun, too.

Don't forget your bug spray for putt-putt and the maze!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mystery Spot also viewed

Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 

Been to Mystery Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mystery Spot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.