We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Sunrises On The Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay View Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Ignace
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay View Motel
Save
You added Bay View Motel to your Saves list
1133 North state Street, on Lake Huron, Saint Ignace, MI 49781   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Livonia, Mi.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful Sunrises On The Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This is an awesome place. Have gone here for six years now. Very clean, friendly, and the price is right. Can't beat the place.and Karen is awesome. Make this place a part of your next vacation, it is sure not to disappoint !!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great, with water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    14
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for two night and I can't believe how much of a hidden gem this place is. The rooms are clean, the staff treats everyone like family, beautiful view of crystal clear water and free fire wood. Whenever I come to the UP I will be staying here!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

If you're looking for luxury, the Bayview is not your best choice. However, its positive aspects make it comfortable, fun and definitely economical. We booked a room by phone three weeks out for a 3-day stay in the second week of June and were surprised to find the Bayview very sparsely populated. We hadn’t realized that peak season in northern Michigan begins in late June. This turned out to be dumb luck, because despite chilly morning and evening temperatures, the relative lack of visitors and the absence of crowds made our stay in St. Ignace very pleasant. The Bayview is right on the water, and we were able to get one of two rooms with excellent views of Lake Huron, which is just 100 feet away. We were in Room 9. The other room with a desirable view is Number 19. A newer two-story wing has been added on the south side and may also have some nice views. However, the management appears to prefer filling the one-story older part of the motel first. This original part of the motel is something of a blast from the past, with rustic knotty pine paneling, a linoleum bathroom floor, a sheet metal shower cabinet (no tub), and doorknob push-button locks opened by old fashioned room keys-- the kind from which dangles a diamond-shaped tag embossed with “Drop in any mailbox. We guarantee postage.” Amenities are minimal. Our room had a CRT TV with cable channels and a mini-fridge. The room did not have a microwave, coffeemaker, alarm clock or telephone. However, I believe some of the other rooms are equipped with microwave ovens. Despite some wear and tear, including a much-trodden carpet and electrical outlets that have lost their grip, we had a very pleasant stay in our single queen room. It is not huge (12x15, not including a window seat niche and a tiny bathroom); however we found it perfectly adequate for our needs and even experienced some nostalgia in the rustic surroundings. The room is clean, the bed is comfortable, hot water is prompt and plentiful, and towels are nice and plush. Though the shower is a bit quaint, it's clean and functional. The oher bathroom fixtures have been updated. Housekeeping was excellent. (For some reason, though, the tip we left for the maid was never collected.) With windows on three sides, including windows on two sides that can be opened, you get a cross breeze of fresh air. On hot days you will probably need to use the window-unit air conditioner. Wi-fi is complimentary, and parking close to the room is likewise free of charge. Several positives to the place revolve around the waterfront location. The term “picture window” really earns its name at the Bayview. With the curtains open you can lie in bed in the morning or sit at the window table and watch a magnificent Lake Huron sunrise fill the window. When we were there Venus was very bright in the morning sky, perfectly centered in the panorama. There are a lot of water fowl on the shore, including ducks and geese in addition to the ubiquitous sea gulls. We watched a gaggle of goslings came ashore and feast on the grass in the lawn. At night you can see the lighthouse beacon on Mackinac Island. There is a small deck on the lake end of the motel, which overlooks a modest beach just downhill from the building. The beach has lawn chairs, a grill, a fire pit, and a volleyball area. We were amazed at the inexpensive nightly rate and were not expecting much, but we ended up being very glad we did not reserve a room at the higher-priced beachside hotels just to the south. A day trip to Mackinac Island satisfied any need we had to gawk at expensive gingerbread hotels. Nearby ferry lines take passengers over to the island and back for $25 round trip. (They also offer shuttle pick-up at the motel if you want it.) The management is very friendly and informal. We were concerned when we phoned that no credit card was required to hold the room, and we half expected that the reservation would be lost. However, they “had us in the book” as the clerk put it, and there were no problems. Due to the low occupancy when we visited, the motel was very quiet. However, on our last night a guest was assigned to the room next door. Because the doors are paired close together, we could hear our neighbor opening and closing his door. We either shopped for deli food at the one grocery store in town and brought it back to the room, or we went out to eat, for example at the Mackinac Grill on the south end of St. Ignace, which has deck views of the Wawatam Lighthouse and excellent fish dishes on the menu.The Bayview may be very different when occupied during peak season, or if you have a room farther away from the lakeshore. However, for us it turned out to be a gem in the rough while we were vacationing in Michigan.

Room Tip: Two rooms (9 and 19) in the older original part of the motel offer wonderful picture window views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel overnight, the staff was very friendly and the area beautiful. If you are looking for an affordable room, and a pet friendly location it is a great stop. Not many hotels in St. Ignace will allow pets - and it is appreciated that this one does!

Be aware that the bathroom/shower is quite small. The room I was in had a lamp that wasn't working (wasn't the bulb - I tried switching it out) - but it was just for a stopover and I mostly was there to sleep so wasn't too annoyed.

Room Tip: I believe they have waterfront/view rooms - it would have been nice to be in one of those. If you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Went to the Bayview for the second year in a role and had a great time. Bob and Karen are great host. Great bon fires. Beautiful views. Jan and I will always remember going up there. Made good friends with alot of people. Like I said Bob and Karen are great. You have to check this place out, you will love it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our room was on the beach with a view to the north and the east. Spectacular! Brought our dog and he was welcomed by Bob. There were several other dogs and it was so much fun to watch the interaction of them playing on the beach. Bonfire every night. Clean and comfortable. Couldn't ask for anything else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Bay View came highly reconmened from friends. We loved this place. Location, people, & of course the nightly bon fires make you feel like your are really up north. Bob & Karen are great host & will help you in any way possible. Looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Motel

Address: 1133 North state Street, on Lake Huron, Saint Ignace, MI 49781
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Saint Ignace
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
come visit our place located on lake huron with a sandy beach and nitely bonfires, our rooms in the main court are done in notty pine so you get that up north feeling , also we have rooms on the beach . no matter which room you are in you get a wonderful view , ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay View Hotel Saint Ignace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay View Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.