We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & Clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bay View Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Ignace
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay View Motel
Save
You added Bay View Motel to your Saves list
1133 North state Street, on Lake Huron, Saint Ignace, MI 49781   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Ontario
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Friendly & Clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel overnight, the staff was very friendly and the area beautiful. If you are looking for an affordable room, and a pet friendly location it is a great stop. Not many hotels in St. Ignace will allow pets - and it is appreciated that this one does!

Be aware that the bathroom/shower is quite small. The room I was in had a lamp that wasn't working (wasn't the bulb - I tried switching it out) - but it was just for a stopover and I mostly was there to sleep so wasn't too annoyed.

Room Tip: I believe they have waterfront/view rooms - it would have been nice to be in one of those. If you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    14
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Went to the Bayview for the second year in a role and had a great time. Bob and Karen are great host. Great bon fires. Beautiful views. Jan and I will always remember going up there. Made good friends with alot of people. Like I said Bob and Karen are great. You have to check this place out, you will love it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our room was on the beach with a view to the north and the east. Spectacular! Brought our dog and he was welcomed by Bob. There were several other dogs and it was so much fun to watch the interaction of them playing on the beach. Bonfire every night. Clean and comfortable. Couldn't ask for anything else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Bay View came highly reconmened from friends. We loved this place. Location, people, & of course the nightly bon fires make you feel like your are really up north. Bob & Karen are great host & will help you in any way possible. Looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Muskegon, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Love this place as it works out so well for us with the girls ( Dogs ) The fires by the water each night are a great place to meet hew people and hear there story's of the day Bob and Karen do a great job taking care of us

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids MIchigan
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

If I was in downtown Chicago and would want a hotel that is super posh, however I do not want that when in the UP. This is a very clean motel that is the full UP experience. There is a small refrigeration, microwave and coffee maker in room 14.

Room Tip: If you ask the rooms on the end have views of the lake from your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robert s, Manager at Bay View Motel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
thank you for your wonderful review , it was great having you here and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here based on other trip advisor comments and it was really quite good for $60. Clean, quiet, good sized rooms in section behind main office. They had the bonfire and roasted smores on the beach. Good place for kids as they can play in the sand and shallow water 10 feet from the bonfire. Close to Java Joe's for breakfast and Bessie's for Pasties. Also about a quarter mile from the Mackinac ferry.

Room Tip: The back section has larger rooms, the front section has some cedar lined cathedral ceilings much li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Motel

Address: 1133 North state Street, on Lake Huron, Saint Ignace, MI 49781
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
come visit our place located on lake huron with a sandy beach and nitely bonfires, our rooms in the main court are done in notty pine so you get that up north feeling , also we have rooms on the beach . no matter which room you are in you get a wonderful view , ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay View Hotel Saint Ignace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay View Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.