We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay View Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Ignace
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay View Motel
Save
You added Bay View Motel to your Saves list
1133 North state Street, on Lake Huron, Saint Ignace, MI 49781   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Portage, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice little place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

A great value for a great view. We stayed over three different nights and no complaints, other than on the first night one of the other guestswas rather loud and obnoxious, leaving their door open with the TV blasting and then shouting on the phone so we really couldn't sit outside and enjoy the view in peace and tranquility like we would have liked without feeling like we were back at home with our teenagers.

Room Tip: The rooms by the water have a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    14
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roscommon, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Greatest place in the world for a quite laid back vacation. Right on Lake Huron. Not one of your big box chain motels. The managers treat you like family. They have a BBQ grill and bonfires every night. We go every year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corunna, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Nice little place. We were traveling with two dogs. We arrived and were greeted by Bob very friendly and it was nice to be greeted by a friendly face. I paid for the room and was given the number . We drive a full size Ford truck, the parking lot was a little difficult to move it around but we parked in some other room numbered parking spot no problem. The room was very small and the bathroom tiny . If by our selfs with no dogs would of been ok but tight. The bad part of the room was the fact only two lights worked bathroom and the one by the bed. The wiring in the room was very iffy plugs hanging out . For one night it was ok . I would not stay longer .
Nice little beach area .
Other rooms could be bigger but the one we had on the ground level and maybe because we had dogs with us was just so cramped . We always put our dogs in crates in the room so they take up room but we have had rooms where we had lots of room .

Room Tip: Maybe the second level ones downstairs ones are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandville, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had the best 3 day stay ever!! Karen, Bob, & Jimmy (ED) were awesome. They were extremely accommodating in every way!! The view was beautiful, and we enjoyed campfires on the beach every night we were there. We also met wonderful people during our stay. They were all considered friends by the time we left. Without a doubt, we will be returning next summer!! ( Hopefully sooner!!) The rooms were very clean and the guests were all treated top-notch!! Thank you for the great memories and the ear to ear grin we get as we remember our stay at the Bay View Motel!! (Horseshoes, volleyball, etc. etc.) The list goes on and on about all the good things this motel has to offer, and for Karen, Bob, and "ED" for doing what they do to make it all happen!

You Rock!!

K & J

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We love this place and plan on returning as soon as we can! They are extremely accommodating to everyone in our family! They had toys for the youngsters to play on the beach, volleyball net, campfires each day and/or night. They had suggestions to get food and offered help to cook it over the campfire. We even called Bob (the host) from the grocery store to find out if they had a corkscrew available, and it was on our windowsill when we returned! Jimmy the ED (Entertainment Director) went over and above in all ways to ensure all of the guests were happy and taken care of. Karen (the hostess) works hard to ensure all of the guest rooms are very clean. Love the knotty pine classic rooms! It is excellence in St. Ignace!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We reserved the Bay View a couple weeks in advance because of all the great review. Must say I was a little disappointed. The room was quite dated and a really tiny bathroom. The bedroom, however, was quite spacious and the view spectacular. Ask for room 19. Coffee pot in the room but no decaf. Quiet and clean.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Mine, MI
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I love this place. Its on the water and they had a camp fire on the beach each night and met the other guests. The kids staying at Bay View were making smores. Bob the host is great. I recommend this place to any one with a family or just a couple retreat. Its a great relaxing motel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Motel

Address: 1133 North state Street, on Lake Huron, Saint Ignace, MI 49781
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Saint Ignace
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
come visit our place located on lake huron with a sandy beach and nitely bonfires, our rooms in the main court are done in notty pine so you get that up north feeling , also we have rooms on the beach . no matter which room you are in you get a wonderful view , ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay View Hotel Saint Ignace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay View Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.