We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of K Royale Lakefront Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added K Royale Lakefront Inn to your Saves list
K Royale Lakefront Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1037 North State Street, Saint Ignace, MI 49781   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SPECIAL RATES!
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We have been staying here for over 20 years. No problems. Rooms are clean and the staff is friendly. Nice view of the water. Can't complain about the price. We usually stay for about 5 days at a time. We come here at least 3 times during the summer and always come in the fall. We really like it here. Like that there is a refrig and microwave in the rooms. Tv could have more stations. A few years ago it was a different cable company and there were lots of channels.

Room Tip: We usually stay on the main street level. Can't go up and down the stairs. Only problem is that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    16
    12
    10
    11
See reviews for
26
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was above what we expected for the money. Room was of average to above average size with 2 queen beds, microwave and refrig. Rooms were clean and quiet, no smells of must/mold and no bugs. View is beautiful. We have stayed in Mack. City yearly for at least 10 years and have paid double what this room cost and are not nearly as nice. We usually travel with a pet and like clean, quiet rooms with a view of the water and bridge or island and on the water. The only minus if that is pets are always put on lake level walk out rooms- not ground or upper floor with balcony and a better view. I will reccommend this to all friends and tour buses. They also need to improve on their breakfast, but for the price we could easily go out and order what we wanted or fix in room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

As always just as expected. Nice clean room, beachfront. NO sand but beautiful grass beach. Been here many times before and going again next month. This is a mom and pop run business with no frills, just a clean room, nice pool , hot tub and small breakfast. Lost our room key and they took care of the problem immediately. What more can you ask for? If you are expecting a 5 star go on to another hotel.

Room Tip: best dicount room in saint ignace in the south wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is a nice place to stay if you want to save a little money but still be on the water with a nice view. The water is pretty but its not a beach, it is rocky, but the kids loved the warm pool., We spent the day in the U.P. going to all the tourist spots like the Deer Ranch, the kids love it there. On us. 2 is a really nice sandy beach (about 15 or 20 minutes away) it was free because we just parked on the road and walk 25ft and was in the water beautiful sand by the way. nice waves for the kids to play in for hours!

the staff here was great! the breakfast was your typical continental breakfast. They give you a coupon for free tokens at the casino too.

So if your on a trip not to spend time in the hotel but to get out and enjoy life, I recommend this place for sure. we have been staying here every summer for about 13 years now.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

This is an old style motel that stirs memories of travel up north to Michigan and Canada, when all the hotels were family owned. Just because a motel is not new doesn't mean it is not clean. The front desk and employees are friendly and kind to guests. We enjoy the view of the water, the island and the sunrise from the guest room balcony.
We always buy smoked fish, cheese and wine to enjoy on the balcony. There isn't a beach for swimming, and we don't use the pool. There is a refrigerator in the room and we provide our own meals. With the sliding door open and the sound of the water I have always slept soundly there. If you want the cookie cutter Disney type experience go to Mackinaw city or stay on the island. Because this is your parents type of hotel and we love it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
okemos,mi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

The WORST hotel in MICHIGAN. The bed was at least 40 years old. "Breakfast" was minature refrigerated store bought doughnuts. I can only hope the black paint that was floating in the pool wasn't lead based. NO windows and couldn't have the patio door open because the lock was broken and the people next door were smoking so it would've blown in our room anyway. It smelled like someone died in it in 2009 and the body was discovered September 6,2010.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

On August 19, 2010, my husband and I stayed the night at the K-Royale Mote Inn. I forgot my orthopedic pillow for my neck on the bed. When we got to our destination, I called and told them I left my pillow in the room that we stayed in. They said no one found a pillow in that room. I know I left it on the bed. One of the employees stole it. Guess they don't know one of the 10 commandments, "Thou shalt not steal." The Lord will punish them for stealing. Also, the room smelled really musty, it didn't have a clock/radio in the room, I tried to call the office, and there was no answer. The continental breakfast was not very good, and the toaster did not work. We will not be staying here ever again. Also, if you leave something in the room, you will not get it back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to K Royale Lakefront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K Royale Lakefront Inn

Address: 1037 North State Street, Saint Ignace, MI 49781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — K Royale Lakefront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KRoyale Lakefront Inn nestled on 700ft of shoreline, all rooms facing Lake Huron, view of Mackinac Island. All rooms have refrigerators, microwaves & hairdryers. Some rooms have balconies, other ones walk out to the lakefront. We have play area for children with swings. A fire pit, picnic table and grills. Free shuttles to Mackinac Island boat ferries and casino. Restaurant within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your K Royale Lakefront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k-Royale Motor Hotel Saint Ignace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage K Royale Lakefront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.