We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Budget Host Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Budget Host Inn & Suites
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Indiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Would definitely return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed here the last week of June. It was very clean, the breakfast was good. There were potatoes, sausage, eggs, assorted cereal , oatmeal. english muffins, donuts, small biscuits. I think there was gravy, also. The breakfast area is very small, with only four tables, but you can put your food on a tray and eat in the pool area, or bring it to your room. If you sit near the a/c vent and open a window, the pool area is OK to eat in. Otherwise it is really hot. Our room was a 2 queen room, and it was a good size for myself and 2 kids. The beds were comfortable, as well as the pillows. There is a small closet "area", with rods and shelf, but no doors. The sink is separate from the tub/toilet. However, there is very little counter space. Also, you get little packets of shampoo and lotion, but no hair conditioner. If you need it, bring it with you. If you need a microwave/fridge, it is $5 extra. I'm not sure if that is for one or both, I didn't get it for the room. It is an easy walk to the Star line ferry. The pool was warm, fairly big. There is a hot tub. Also, there is a guest laundry, which I used. It is $1.00 each for washer, dryer, and detergent. The machines all use quarters. The arcade was OK, but some of the games seemed a little old, and they ate a few quarters without working properly. However, I have to confess that I didn't complain about it to the management. I guess I was was a bit tired by the time the kids hit the arcade, and then I forgot about it. Otherwise, the staff seemed very nice, and helpful. Our sink stopper got stuck in the up position one night, and it was fixed the next day. There is a pizza place called Pizza Builders, which just opened about 2 weeks when we were there. They were OK, but slow. However, they were a new place, so maybe it will be better as time goes by. They advertise pitas and salads on their awning, but so far they were sticking to breadsticks and pizza for now. They were literally two houses away. A few blocks north was Java Joes, which I will review separately. I highly recommend trying them. Overall, it was a great bargain for the room, very clean and safe with a good location. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thank you for your nice comments about our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    53
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
75
76
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maumelle, Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We had two rooms for three days on a recent visit to St. Ignace and could not have been more pleased. Our rooms were exactly as described when we made our reservations, with a nice view of the bay. The rooms were extremely clean and large with comfortable beds and nice fluffy pillows. Great location within walking distance of several restaurants. Very nice breakfast area with a good variety to choose from. We would highly recommend this hotel as a great value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
We, at Budget Host Inn & Suites of St. Ignace, are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to post this review. Our guest's recommendations are important to us. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

After a previous visit that did not go well for 2 reasons, we decided to give our favorite Budget Host another try. We spent 3 nights there in a 3 room suite. 2 bedrooms with a queen bed in each. The livingroom included a sofa, table & chairs, wet bar, micro & frig, 2 comfortable chairs & a flat screen TV. The bathroom is large with seperate bathtub/shower & commode.
The staff we encoutered was friendly & helpful. Special thanks to Jack for all his help Housekeeping did a fine job each day, this place sparkles. I had to move the bedside table in one of the bedrooms and there was no dust or dirt anywhere. The beds are firm but not uncomfortable. Our suite had a nice selection of different types of pillows in the room.
We loved the pool and large hottub. Its nice to be able to watch TV while soaking the sore muscles. Wifi worked fine, and there is a computer in the lobby as well.
The breakfasts are pretty standard. Premade round egg patties, sausage patties, precut potatoes, biscuits&gravy, and the usual breads & cereals. Fruit is offered but its a canned blend.
This facility is very convenient to walking the main shopping area of St Ignace. We also love the boardwalk that follows the lake. We walked past all 3 ferry companies that go the the Island. There is a very nice grocery store located only a short walk away. This motel is located on the main road but is also in a residential area, so there are lots of safe streets to walk your pets.
We have recommended this lodging facility to friends & family, and will certainly return on our next visit to the U.P.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for the kind words of recommendation. Word of mouth is a valuable asset to our property and we fully appreciate you writing this review. Customer satisfaction is our main goal and it is guests such as you that make our jobs even more enjoyable. Thank you for the compliments on our cleanliness...our Housekeeping staff does a superb job and your remarks validate that. Thank you again. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

At least two types of rooms available: on lake side, with porch and view; or suites away from lake side, with two bedrooms. Convenient to all the ferries to Mackinac Island. Very good restaurant two blocks away, and others in downtown area, within a mile. We stay here every time we are in St. Ignace - several times a year. Always clean, with a friendly staff. Microwave and fridge available at least in suites (don't remember about lake-side rooms).

Room Tip: Request either smaller room with view, or suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for writing a review about us. We always appreciate the comments of frequent guests. They are always the best recommendations. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

I was in an auto accident after midnight on my way home from the rifle deer season. The car was un-drivable, and I needed a place to stay. The nightime staff was friendly when I checked in, and the rooms were newly remodeled and clean, so much so I was extremely surprised. The next day Jack, who handles the hotels marketing, allowed me to stay in the room way past checkout (3 hours) time, while I waited for a ride downstate. The hotel, and especially Jack, turned the tailend of my disaster into a pleasant experience. Usually you have to pay top dollar for a hotel with such service. But this little gem is simple on the outside, yet down to earth class and warmth inside.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for posting this review. It is always a special pleasure to go out of our way to assist guests and contribute to their overall satisfaction. We were happy to do it and hope that you will be staying with us again in the future. Thanks you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisoon Township
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

We have been going there for about 7 years. We love the town, walkways by the water and the most friendly people. This motel was recommened by the Harbor Point Motel because Harbor Point does not take pets. This budget Host motel is so clean that you never worry about who stayed in your room before you. The people who run the motel really do care about service. I have recommended this motel to our neighbor and he feels the same way about it. You can leave your car and walk to restraunts, shopping or marinas.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for sitting down and writing a review about us. We, at Budget Host Inn & Suites of St. Ignace do care very much about service and providing a great value and a comfortable stay for all of our guests. We're happy and grateful that you continues to stay with us and send your friends our way as well. We appreciate your remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

I am so impressed with the amenities found at this Budget Host Inn. It was so much more than the name implies. The rooms were immaculate with fluffy pillows and bright white sheets . The bathrooms were spacious with soft large towels. The pool and jacuzzi area was spotless with constant attention given by the courteous front desk staff. I can't describe the array of breakfast items (hot and cold), nor the constant refilling and refreshing by the attendant. The maid service was right on the rooms in the morning. There was always fresh towels and the trash was emptied everyday. I will recommend this facility to all of my friends and my family. It might be a budget host, but nothing else about it could be considered budget or low quality.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for that glowing endorsement. We appreciate that our guests take the time out of their busy day to write a review about us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Host Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn & Suites

Address: 700 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Ignace
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Budget Host Inn & Suites 1*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stop and experience the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Budget Host Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Hotel Saint Ignace
Budget Host Inn And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.