We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Java Joe's Cafe

Java Joe's Cafe
959 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1145
906-643-5282
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 36 restaurants in Saint Ignace
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We really enjoyed the atmosphere, friendly service, and great food! They have a HUGE breakfast menu (huge menu in general, but we were there for breakfast) and we were all happy with our choices of: Denver omelette, Almond Joy pancake, Crepes with strawberry on top, and our daughter had french toast from kids' menu. Excellent coffee too! A gentleman (who we believe to be the owner??!) provided customers with local travel advice and maps if needed. We will definitely go back when in the St Ignace area!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    144
    41
    17
    11
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chaska, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Spot in Town for Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

You can't beat Java Joes for breakfast! Great menu, the staff is entertaining. Great coffee. Parking is a bit of a squeeze but its worth it. Lots of fun and you always leave well fed and in a good mood. Highly recommended. We even stop here when we are just driving by on the highway.

  • Visited August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fun and Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We went several times to Java Joe's when we were in St. Ignace the last week of June. It is a fun place, especially for older kids. It is painted outside and inside with bright colors. There are all kinds of teapots and teacups lining the walls, all of which are for sale. The food is very good. We had pancakes, pizza, and several kinds of crepes while we were in town. My daughters said the crepes were as good as their French teacher makes (and she is French, and her dad is a chef)! I'm not a food critic (I like most food), but that is high praise to me. The pizza is hand tossed, the crepes are made on site. We did not try the ice cream, but there were pictures all over of customers eating absolutely HUGE ice cream sundaes! Now that we are home, I think that the thing they miss most about St. Ignace is Java Joe's. We will definitely return the next time we are in St. Ignace.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Zion, Il.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great family place....we loved everything about it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

My family and myself were staying in one of the hotels behind Java Joes and frequented Java's often. It has a wonderful quirky-casual-chic decor and a wide-variety of food to choose from! We often were in for breakfast, however we also had dinner and desserts a few nights. My kids favorites: chicken strips atop homemade mac and cheese....baked in crock, and of course the largest sundae they ever experienced! Making another trip to the UP in July and am looking forward to stopping in to Java's Joe's!

  • Visited August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Another fun visit and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

On our way back from Canada, we made it a point to stop at one of our FAVORITE restaurants in St. Ignace. Upbeat & casual, Kids will love this place. We usually stop for Breakfast, but this time, we had supper, but you can get breakfast anytime. Hubby had Crepes, I had a burger and fries and 2 friends had soup and salads. If you're expecting 5 star gourmet dining........ go elsewhere. But if you want to experience the 1960's again, with good food and a love of tea pots.............this is the place

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java Joe's Cafe also viewed

Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 

Been to Java Joe's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Java Joe's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.