We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Inn

Boardwalk Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Boardwalk Inn to your Saves list
Boardwalk Inn
316 North State Street, Saint Ignace, MI 49781   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Saint Ignace B&B and Inns
Saint Ignace, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Boardwalk Inn is located in the heart of St. Ignace across the street from the lake. Everything is just out the front door. Jim and Kayla were very nice hosts. My room was cozy with antiques - definitely not a cookie-cutter hotel. If you're looking for something quaint and charming - you will enjoy this. Thanks for a very pleasant stay! Will definitely will stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

In late July, following a family reunion at Homestead Resort near Sleeping Bear Dunes, we decided to extend our stay in Michigan and explore the Upper Peninsula. St. Ignace was selected as our base due to proximity to other points of interest such as Mackinac Island. Of course, lodging was needed so our on-line search put us in touch with the Boardwalk Inn.

Kayla, the owner, suggested that The St. Anthony Suite would be comfortable accommodations for 4. Being from Florida, air conditioning was a priority. AC & en suite bathrooms were features of the suite. (However during the day we did enjoy the fresh air blowing through the curtains while we were away on our adventures.) So we booked... Happy we made that choice!

Upon our late evening arrival, we were greeted warmly by Jim & Kayla. They patiently answered many tourist questions we posed. Our suite was ready, keys issued and bags were tugged to the third floor. Yes, the only real challenge we faced during our stay was "the steps" as there is no elevator. After the 1st day, the stairs became less of a burden ... maybe. We attempted to think of this situation as "good exercise."

The suite adequately met our expectations of comfort and cleanliness. Private sleeping quarters and baths were available + ample room for relaxation and visiting. Continental breakfast was available each am on the second floor in The Fireside Room.

Location, location, location is the best feature of the Boardwalk Inn. Shepler's Ferry was right down the street, restaurants within walking distance and large parking area. Very convenient...

At the end of our busy three days, the Boardwalk Inn looked like home to four weary tourists!
Thank you to both Jim and Kayla for their hospitality and services.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Oak, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the boardwalk inn because my mom ran it as the travelers hotel in the 70's. Was very clean & helpful. Loved the upgrades done to the property. Even with upgrades it still holds the old time charm. Highly recommend you check it out!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The owners were pleasant, easy to talk with and made us feel welcome. The Inn is like a bed & breakfast but minus the big breakfast like some places but they did have the continental breakfast. We were up and out before that was out. There were plenty of good places to eat within walking distance. We chose to stay in St Ignace, Mi because Mackinaw city hotel prices were ridiculous. The ferries to the island were right there. The Inn faces Lake Huron.We have already told friends & family about the Boardwalk Inn. This was a hotel at one time but they have made each room like your own bedroom at home(well actually it looks alot better than mine) There are also adjoining rooms for familes or couples traveling together. If we come back to the area we would stay there again. Thanks Jim & Kayla. Gary & Cheryl

Room Tip: Tell the owners why your coming and they can recommend the right one for you. It was our anniversary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikeville, Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I have been coming to this unique property for over ten years and continue to make the trip from Kentucky to stay at this wonderful place. Jim and Kayla are fabulous hosts and just good people who care about their guests and their hotel. The charm of this old but re-vamped hotel is second to none. You are so relaxed and the history of the property just adds to the experience. Everything you need or want to do is pretty much within walking distance. If you are looking for a great place to stay in St. Ignace, look no further, this is it. I look forward to many more visits to the Boardwalk Inn and St. Ignace.

Room Tip: We love the Sunrise Room but all the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Beware, if you have to cancel there is a $20.00 fee. The "help" is less than helpful ... they border on offensive. The rooms appear clean but have a definite old smell. The help smokes on the grounds and brings the smell inside. The breakfast is very poor. I stayed two nights and would never stay in this facility again or recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Go to another facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Three of use shared a room in early July. We were very pleased with the room: it was clean and quiet, a nice contrast after a visit to very congested Mackinac Island. Great value. The boardwalk is about a block from a grocery store and 10 minute walk to Shepler's dock.

Room Tip: Our room was on the west side of the building so received afternoon and early evening sun, necessita...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boardwalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Inn

Address: 316 North State Street, Saint Ignace, MI 49781
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Boardwalk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.