We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mom and Pop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Northernaire Motel

Northernaire Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Ignace
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northernaire Motel
Save
You added Northernaire Motel to your Saves list
2020 North Business Loop I-75, Saint Ignace, MI 49781   |  
Hotel amenities
Flint, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Mom and Pop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great little mom and pop motel. The owner was very sociable and helpful. Steered me toward a great pastie place and full of information about the area. Very clean and prices were reasonable for high season.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
14
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bay City, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Love this place! Andy is such a great guy he even moved his car out of his garage so bikers could park their bikes in the garage at night. Little fire pit for sitting outside at night and great company. He really makes people feel welcome. Andy and Sherri have done a great thing with Northernaire, made it a place people like to come back to time after time. The little cabins are great with knotty pine interiors, refrigerators and coffee machines in them. Rooms are warm and comfy in the winter and air conditioned in the summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The cabin was nice and clean, with internet. Knotty pine interior gave it an old reminiscence charm of the days gone by! Everything worked well and Andy was very informative on events and places to go

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is our second time staying with Northernaire,and once again they didn't fail us! Andy & Sherry were very helpful, gave us discount coupons and suggested places to eat and visit. Our cabin was exceptionally clean and neat, and furnished with everything we needed.We appreciated the quietness and privacy of a cabin. They even opened the windows and had the room cooled when we returned from a hot day on Mackinac Island!
Thank so much Andy & Sherry!
Joe & Brenda Cavanaugh

Room Tip: Outside of the hustle& bustle of "town"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very clean rooms. No funny (or not so funny) smells like other little Mom & Pop establishments. Hot water right away, clean carpets, comfy beds. We sat around the fire with the owner, Andy, and other guests and had a pleasant evening telling stories and learning about each other. We will definitely return on our next visit. Greg & Patti, Jackson, Michigan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Rooms are clean & comfortable. The customer service here is worth the stay alone. The owner (Andy) gave us coupons for activities for our kids and let us know about other local events happening that our kids would enjoy - Ie. the week we stayed, there was a movie showing on the beach, for free. He even made brownies for our family! =}. It's close to 'downtown', right across the street is a convenience store, as well as the water! Fire ring & picnic table available for nightly s'mores. We've stayed here twice now and will stay again. =}

Room Tip: Tell Andy how many people are in your party and he will recommend the best for you! Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinckney, Michigan
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just a two minute drive from both downtown St. Ignace as well as Kewadin Casino, this little motel is a great place to spend some time. My wife and daughter have been staying here for years and love the hospitality of Andy and his wife Sherry (not sure on the spelling). They treat you like old friends not just guests. The rooms are not huge but are very clean and include that up-north knotty pine landscape. Andy can answer any of your local questions and always has great deals for the local and not so local casino's and other attractions. The price is outstanding we stayed on a Sunday for around $40. Also I found out if you decide to overdue it a bit at the casino they will give you a ride back to any of the local hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northernaire Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northernaire Motel

Address: 2020 North Business Loop I-75, Saint Ignace, MI 49781
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northernaire Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.