We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a tall rock.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Rock

Castle Rock
2811 Mackinac Trail, Saint Ignace, MI
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“It's a tall rock.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

It's okay, some scenery. Quite a climb for what you get.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    53
    30
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Cool climb and great views for $1”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Cost $1 dollar per person. Quick climb with platforms along the way to catch your breath. It is about 100 total steps to the top. unbelievable views once you go to the top.

Warning: if you are scared of heights, at the top you can stay back a ways and still get great views.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Long time tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Castle rock has been here since 1922 as an attraction (I asked). The last time I climbed this rock was when I was 8 years old and still remembered it. I was traveling with my 23 year old daughter who had never seen upper Michigan so we had to do it. It is not very high or the view not spectacular, but well worth doing with the family. It is inexpensive also.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nice view!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This place is pretty cool. Take a walk up Castle Rock and take in the awesome view around the area.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I love CASTLE ROCK!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

1$ to climb all the way up and cross what my family calls the cookie sheet! LOL. its so much fun! they have "Brake stops " to stop and chill out at. 170 steps! Great gift shop and an amazing view . its by far something everyone needs to try !

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Rock also viewed

Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 

Been to Castle Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.