We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Million Dollar View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moran Bay Motel

Moran Bay Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Ignace
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moran Bay Motel
Save
You added Moran Bay Motel to your Saves list
500 US Hwy. 2 West, P.O. Box 341, Saint Ignace, MI 49781   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Million Dollar View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by this small motel, it was everything we wanted for our St.Ignace stay. It is short walk to shopping, restaurants, and the ferries out to the islands. It is also pretty close to the only grocery in town.. Owners are friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and comfortable. You can't ask for more than that..

Room Tip: All rooms had an awesome view of the lighthouse..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Caveat emptor!
Potential for updated furnishings and professional personnel, as yet unrealized.
We decided to try this motel based on positive online reviews and price, but were disappointed upon arrival. Staff seemed confused, office and room meager and worn. We were unable to get room fee canceled after explaining that we were deciding not to stay. Has a view of the bay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, Owner at Moran Bay Motel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
We are sorry we did not meet your expectation. We are a safe Motel with no problems in the 11yrs. we have owned the motel. When a reservation is cancelled upon arrival we have a cancellation fee of 1 night room rate which is standard in the industry. As can be seen by all reviews we have clean and comfortable rooms, which may be dated, but with the best view in town. If we can make it up to you in the future please give us a chance. Thank you. Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed over the July 4th weekend so the rates were a bit higher but we were very glad we chose the Manor Bay. It was certainly an excellent choice and value for us for the holiday weekend. The motel sits up on a hillside overlooking the bay so the views are about all one could hope for in the area. The owner lives in the end unit and was very helpful and friendly. As others have said, it is an old-school motel but clean and well kept. The bathroom and sink were quite small but the bed and living area were just fine. The Wi-Fi worked pretty well except for late the second evening when it became unusable. Maybe someone was overloading it at that time.
We had good water pressure but found it impossible to adjust a constant comfortable water temperature in the sink or shower. Didn't need A/C or heat so cannot comment on that.
It's a very short walk to a Star Line ferry to Mackinac Island and it's no problem to walk to downtown St. Ignace.
There is a main highway that runs uphill between the motel and the bay. There can be some loud traffic noise when the windows are open but we had no problems with the windows closed.
The only McDonald's in the area is less than a mile away on that highway.
We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leroy
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Cute motel only 2 blocks South of the main St. Ignace walkway area. Don't expect modern, up-to-date lighting or bathroom fixtures. Does not include telephone or flat screen TV or hairdryer. Does include small TV, refrigerator, coffee pot & plenty of relaxing ambiance along w/a most spectacular view of the bay. The price was more than reasonable at $44.00 per night. NOT a dive! Extremely clean. Owner very nice & friendly. Will definitely stay at this motel again. This motel is the type we absolutely love...not the sterile cookie-cutter of big chain hotels.

Room Tip: All rooms have a fantastic view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambton Shores, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Joan and I have stayed here on our way to St. Joseph's Island and when we visited MACKINAC ISLAND . The motel should be called the GRANDVIEW . We loved its neatness and old fashioned appearance . The owner was kind and helpful . The motel is within walking distance to the downtown and you can see the cruise boats going to the island . And we just loved having a meal in that old fashioned restaurant downtown where they even had an old fashioned juke box or nickelodion . Remember the song " Put an other nickel in the NICKELODION ". My nickname for the MORAN BAY is the "GRANDVIEW " and it's grand for sure . You'll love it and the price is right.
CANADAVE.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a grand view . If you have the north end rooms then you are closer to the parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loretto, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Moran's Motel has a great view of Lake Huron. It is within walking distance to everything in Saint Ignace. The porch is wonderful to sit out on to look out on the water. There is a park across the street. Downtown Saint Ignace is two blocks. Ferry boat is one block. The beds have older mattresses and are not bad, but not the best either. A/C was very good condition. The bathrooms are very tiny, but the shower had great water pressure (very important). Don't expect much, but the price matches what you get. Small refrigerators and coffee in every room. Wi-Fi is free - but weak. We used our Mi-Fi. The guy that runs the office was very pleasant and accommodating. He seems he was waiting for us to arrive and prepared. This place was very quiet, unlike those larger hotels. The walls were not paper thin. The only thing I would say is I don't think the older carpets were shampooed in a long time and I'm not sure how clean they were. Also, having older mattresses, unsure how clean they were.

Room Tip: They have two double beds or one double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rootstown, Ohio, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We chose Moran Bay for an overnight based on the many positive reviews on Trip Advisor. It met all our expectations -- and at a very low price. Nice view of the bay and a short walk to town. Clean room with comfortable beds. The place also is kind of nostalgic -- the story of motel my folks stayed in when we were kids in the 60s. Much like all of St. Ignace, this place is sort of retro.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moran Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moran Bay Motel

Address: 500 US Hwy. 2 West, P.O. Box 341, Saint Ignace, MI 49781
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 clean and comfortable rooms with a MILLION $ VIEW of Mackinac Island and Lake Huron. Close to ferry lines, restaurants, shopping. Free WI-FI,small refridg.,in-room coffee, C/CTV. Sorry No Pets. Visa, MasterCard, and Discover accepted. Open Mid-April-Nov.1. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moran Bay Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.