We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing friendly charming this is it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Motel

Tradewinds Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Ignace
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tradewinds Motel
Save
You added Tradewinds Motel to your Saves list
190 N. State Street, Saint Ignace, MI 49781   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Garden City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“relaxing friendly charming this is it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

hard to find this kind of host these days. Carol and Mike are just what the doctor ordered when he said get some rest and let go of that stress. Stayed three days and that was not enough. Very clean and spacious rooms. They must have many repeat customers because there is a good group of folks sharing the events of their day with them as the laughter is genuine. Yeah I really liked my visit and am sure to return for years.

Room Tip: all rooms are ground floor all rooms have very easy access
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Owosso
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

After dealing with very unpleasant staffers at a chain hotel, we saw the reviews for the Tradewinds. Loved the room styling. Loved the comfortable beds. Loved Carol, the proprietor. Loved the convenient location. Do yourselves a favor and stay at this shining gem in St. Ignace. We are returning next month!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Do yourself a favor and drive right past all of the chain motels in downtown St Ignace. Just beyond the hospital and Bessie's Pasties is the Tradewinds. You will be greeted by Carol who is the friendliest person you will ever meet. She will give you recommendations for dinner- let you play with her dog Maggie and then give you a nice, clean quiet room at a fantastic price. We have been coming through St Ignace for years and staying at Carol's place (which is what we call it) the last couple years. One visit and she will know your name the next time. If you want to have personalized service, a clean room and a great view of Lake Huron, go to the north end of the hotel/motel strip and stay at Carol's- you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Our plans were to stay two nights in the area, and we spent the first night across the bridge in the lower peninsula at the Comfort Inn in Mackinaw City. I was very highly unimpressed and annoyed by the Comfort Inn and their lack of advertised amenities. We decided on the next day to look across the Straits in St. Ignace. In driving down the hotel/motel strip in St. Ignace we happened upon The Tradewinds. We were actually going to turn around in their parking lot and double back to one of the chain motels.

We noticed that it was an old 60's style motel but that it was very well maintained. Neat, clean and well-cared for. We then noticed the price on the sign. $39 a night! We decided to "inquire within" and met the very friendly owners. We decided to stay and were happy that we did. It is a little dated, but frankly that's part of it's charm. No phones in the room, but who uses them anymore in this age of mobile phones. No morning breakfast (but there is coffee/coffee maker in the the room), but after having two sad, little chain hotel breakfasts in as many days, I can't say that no breakfast is a bad thing.
They have free wifi, which is how I am writing this review - another amenity advertised at the Comfort Inn but that I never was able to use because it was down.

The other nice thing is that even though it is on the main road through St. Ignace, it is set back from the road enough that we slept with the window open and never heard the traffic that goes past.

We make about two trips a year up here and only wish that we had discovered The Tradewinds years ago. EXCELLENT VALUE FOR THE MONEY!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

This is a real throw back to the late 60's motel. It no doubt needs updating but it has that Up north charm that I kind of enjoyed. The beds are small double beds...from the 60's and so is everything else. A large picture window with high beam ceilings and that "up north" smell makes up for the lack of updating. No phones in the rooms, which is fine since most people have a cell phone now. It has a pool but it was empty.
The lake is across the street and you cant really see it from your room. There's a nice courtyard in the middle and its nice to be able to park right in front. I think the owner would benefit from putting some sheer curtains up as there is only heavy curtains. You're either out in the open so everybody can see you, or in the dark.
You have to drive into town but its only a few miles.
I think this was ok for an overnight stay but I was also taking a "walk down memory lane."

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Three couples in three rooms stayed at the Tradewinds Motel on the start of our two-week vacation in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Carol, the owner, greeted us warmly and accommodated our desires regarding room choices. She was a constant presence whenever we needed anything from extra pillows to shuttle to the casino. Because she was ever vigilant, we were not uneasy about leaving our motorcycles while taking taxi or shuttle excursions into town.

The rooms were spotless and very spacious with large picture windows looking out on to the parking area and lawn, complete with gazebo. Parking was right outside each door (convenient when traveling on motorcycles). Immediately across the highway was an unobstructed view of Lake Huron.

Although the website had listed a pool, we knew before arriving that Carol would not be opening and heating the pool this year. As it turned out, it was a moot point because it rained the entire three days we stayed in St. Ignace. Also of a disappointment, but not reflecting badly on the Tradewinds, was that the restaurant next door was closed. Without this restaurant, every meal was a drive or taxi into St. Ignace.

Upon checking out and leaving for our next stop, Carol hugged us and wished us well. How many motel proprietors do that?

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tradewinds Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Motel

Address: 190 N. State Street, Saint Ignace, MI 49781
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Number of rooms: 25

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tradewinds Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.