We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice clean room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aurora Borealis Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aurora Borealis Motor Inn to your Saves list
Aurora Borealis Motor Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   635 West US-2, Saint Ignace, MI 49781   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Sandy Lake, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice clean room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

nice to give a senior discount ...very friendly staff...we were disappointed by the lake view we paid an extra $10 for....basically a peek a boo view past a church and houses, but the window opens to enjoy a nice lake breeze.

It is definitely no frills...no microwave, frig, hairdryer, or iron and minimum of soap and shampoo....good sized tv and wifi connection was good.and there is a coffee pot in the room. They are adamant about their no pet policy.

The manager gave us tips and info on things to do, and a discount breakfast coupon at a local restaurant.
It is very clean and well maintained and we felt a good value for the price. It fit our needs for a nice clean place to sleep near the Island.

Room Tip: rooms with a lake view are more and the view is somewhat obstructed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Eureka, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
124 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We came in late at night and left early in the morning. The bed and room were clean. There was no continental breakfast which was a bummer because we could have stayed in a Super 8 for the same price which provided a continental breakfast. It is AAA recommended and free Wi-Fi. Over all a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice and was amazed the value for the price. You can't find extremely clean hotels for less than $50. a night. It is very clean on the outside and inside. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were very clean. The rooms is like a dorm room, very simple. There is no breakfast but a brand new McDonalds a block away.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor and don't get a room with lake view. Not much to see and is $20.more. F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is an old-school motel but it is nicely kept up, and our room was surprisingly large. The room and grounds were spotless, and the location is convenient, if not exactly scenic. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eatsoutalot50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Room basic, but very clean. Man at reception would not accommodate us in a ground floor room as he was "saving them for older folks". We are in our 70's and one of us never does stairs due to a knee injury, but we hauled suitcases up the stairs...lower room never filled up at all!
Warm night, but a/c didn't stay on.
Man at reception really pushed a downtown restaurant for dinner...it wasn't anything special
Probably would not stay here again, tho it was very clean and that was appreciated

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 128BobbiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is the very, very clean hotel. I could not hear any road noise. I would stay here again!!

Great location to the ferry system to Mackinac Island and historic downtown St. Ignace. Not too far off 75 after the Mackinaw bridge. Only an hour drive to the Soo Locks.

Owner gave info on things to see in the area, very helpful and very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

These are the cleanest rooms I found on my entire vacation. With the senior discount I got a nice room at a good rate. $49/night + taxes. This was one of the least expensive rooms on my motorcycle vacation and provided the most value. The owner is very knowlegeable about things to do in the area and where to eat. There is a coffee maker in the room which is great if you like a cup of coffee when you wake up. There is a good family restaurant next door that does breakfast, lunch and dinner. And the rooms and the motel properly are clean. Motorcyclists are welcome.

Room Tip: Make an early reservation and request a ground floor room if you don't want to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Ignace
0.2 mi away
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
#24 of 31 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#15 of 31 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,933 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
#22 of 31 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#12 of 31 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Borealis Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Borealis Motor Inn

Address: 635 West US-2, Saint Ignace, MI 49781
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aurora Borealis Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20% senior discount for persons 50 years and older! 56 new units. All rooms air-conditioned with color cable TV, phones, tub/shower combinations. Non-smoking and handicapped rooms available. Immaculate housekeeping. Two blocks from Mackinac Island ferry docks with free shuttle service to and from docks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Aurora Borealis Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing