We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Breakers Resort - Lakeside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Breakers Resort - Lakeside to your Saves list
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   927 North State Street, Saint Ignace, MI 49781 (Formerly Comfort Inn Beachside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Livonia, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean but very basic, mini-mini fridge and no microwave. Breakfast was hot and stocked but there enough chairs or seating. The shower went from warm to cold to extremely hot. The pool deck was extremely slippery, I'm not sure how it ever passed an inspection. I saw several kids fall and a woman fall and hit the back of her head. Seems like a lawsuit waiting to happen. Very spotty wi-fi, it went in and out during our entire stay. I think I would try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    43
    45
    19
    15
See reviews for
52
62
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Livonia MI
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Found old food in the fridge, lights burnt out and missing in bathroom. Also, no extra toilet paper and no facial tissues. Kitchenette has only spoons, no other cutlery.
Next day, returned to find that housekeeping left our used coffee cups on night table, did not empty trash containers or replenish the coffee.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Overall ok, but not memorable. Crowded so-so breakfast. Good location and excellent views from rooms. Chocolate store just up the road easy walking distance was good. Overall, you could probably do better elsewhere, but if others are full, Breakers was ok.

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor probably best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We spent one night at this motel and we sure were surprised. We had no reservation and got a 2 queen room with a view of the lake and balcony. Front desk is in a separate building but had no problem with parking. Our room rate was $100 and that included a breakfast buffet for each of us. The buffets included oatmeal, scrambled eggs, muffins, bagels,toast, sausage and a waffle iron. There were 4 of us. We decided to go to breakfast early and we were very happy we did. It got very crowded in the breakfast room right off the lobby. Yes you had to leave the motel building and walk just across the parking lot. They only had one girl restocking the food and man did she work hard but with a cheery attitude! She worked so hard we all gave her a $2 tip from each of us. Wi-Fi worked. The beach behind the motel had fire pits if you wanted to have a fire on the beach and roast marshmallows. Overall, it was a very good value and the front desk staff was very helpful with all of our questions.

Room Tip: We didn't need the A/C running, we just left the balcony door open. We were a group of menopausa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We arrived to the hotel, tired from our trip and the location of the lobby is in a odd location and hard to find. Not only that but there WAS NO PARKING AVAILABLE! We had to park far away, on some random grassy location that probably wasn't even legal. The staff didn't seem concerned about it either. We get to our room after carting our luggage from a long distance and none of the lights were working! So searching in the dark, we find that all the lights were unplugged....you would think housekeeping would notice something like that. We lay down to sleep and there were long black hairs on the bed....GROSS. So after a disappointing night, we were once again disappointed when going to the "continental breakfast" where there was absolutely NOTHING LEFT! We were there on a Wednesday, not even a weekend. No staff seemed even slightly concerned that people weren't getting fed. It was ridiculous! We paid $150 for the worst stay of our lives. I have never left a hotel so pissed. The view is nice, but that is about it. DON'T GIVE THEM YOUR MONEY! YOU WILL REGRET IT!

Room Tip: View is nice but not worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This hotel was formerly known as a comfort inn. But don't mention that to the front desk staff - they get quite offended and snippy!! (What happened to the desk staff that was there for years?)

View is spectacular - the room was adequate. Housekeeping needs a lot of work - we stayed a week and some days they barely made an effort to "clean" our room. The head housekeeper was quick to let us know how short staffed they were...

The breakfast room was the biggest disappointment by far. Table layout is terrible. No fruit or yogurt or eggs available for days on end... Just cereal, stale bread items.

On the positive side, the new bed was very comfortable and my wife really liked the white furniture. Now if they had only fixed the lock on the door that fell off last summer.

We have stayed at this hotel (comfort inn) every summer for the past 10 years. Not sure if we will return... The price has increased but the level of service hasn't.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed one night, arriving after a long day on the road from Canada. The price was high; the room was adequate at best. The toilet leaked around the base. The little refrigerator didn't keep our soft drinks cold overnight. The continental breakfast kept us going until we could find a McDonald's for a decent meal. We won't return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breakers Resort - Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Resort - Lakeside

Address: 927 North State Street, Saint Ignace, MI 49781 (Formerly Comfort Inn Beachside)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Breakers Resort - Lakeside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy this lovely resort hotel from your private balcony as you look out at Mackinaw Island and the bay. Enjoy relaxing in our large indoor pool and spa. Ask about our Mackinac Island vacation package and the casino package. Casino shuttles are free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Breakers Resort - Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Beachside Hotel Saint Ignace
Comfort Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakers Resort - Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.