We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Galley Restaurant

The Galley Restaurant
241 North State Street, Saint Ignace, MI 49781
906 643 7960
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 36 Restaurants in Saint Ignace
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Allen Park, Michigan
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stopped in just for a quick bite after zip lining, the food was good, the chardonnay was cool and the service was very pleasant.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    72
    50
    19
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I had a wonderful lake perch, my husband had prime rib and my daughter had battered jumbo shrimp. We all had a side salad and back potato with our entrée. It was all very lovely and the service was fabulous.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Delicious Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Prices are about average for good local seafood. 15 to 35 bucks roughly, depending on what you get.
Me, my girlfriend, and her 16 year old cousin went there and none of us were disappointed. I got trout i believe and it was absolutely delicious. wonderfully done and so full of flavour. I was moaning and groaning left and right.
the ambience was nice and the staff was equally so. I highly recommend this place if you are into seafood and local eateries.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice place to go.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Staff were very friendly. The host waited to seat us as he was waiting for a couple to leave so we could have their table looking over the lake. The restaurant is larger inside than it seems when you go through the door. Service was fast. Food was very good. My husband had the seafood platter and I had a cobb salad. He felt the seafood was better than at many other places. It was lightly battered and deep fried which he doesn't usually order. My salad was very good, served in a big plastic "shell" bowl on a plate. The waitress warned me that the bowl was a little tippy. It was, but no problem for me. I would eat here again.
"

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Both surf and turf great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Had two meals here. Both the prime rib and white fish are excellent. Modest furnishings, but food and service very good. I would go back again. BTW breakfast is very good as well

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Galley Restaurant also viewed

 
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 

Been to The Galley Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Galley Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.