We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hostesses with the Mostesses :-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cedars Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Ignace
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cedars Motel
2040 I-75 Business Loop, Saint Ignace, MI 49781   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 27 hotels in Saint Ignace
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The Hostesses with the Mostesses :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

Wonderful stay! First this has been the cleanest "mom and pop" motel we have ever stayed in! Our room was spotless, the sheets smelled freshly washed no dust or cobwebs! They are a 11 room motel away from the hustle and bustle of town but still within close range to go where ever your destination is. Beach, Mackinac Island, or locally in St Ignace. Our room was perfect for us, we felt like we were in a little cabin- it had cedar walls and log like headboard/footboards and chair. There was a coffee pot, microwave, refridge and tv of course ( I think we only had it on once so busy sightseeing). They have a cute lobby/breakfast area and serve breakfast every morning. They have french toast, bagels, cereal, different breads to toast, milk coffee and orange juice. Tim and Kathy (the owners) are supper nice and very helpful if you have any questions. They also provide a bonfire every evening with smores mmmm! They even come out and sit around the fire and visit with their guests. There is a convienence store across the street, we bought hot dogs and roasted them over the fire too. Our daughter enjoyed going to see them at breakfast and sharing with them the things she did and bought while we were out and about in the local town and surrounding area. She had colored a picture to give them of what we see around our house (a barn) and they even put it in a frame and hung it up in the breakfast area. How sweet is that! There were pretty flowers and the lawn was well kept too. You can see the pride they have in their motel! We would recommend this wonderful motel to anyone who wants a nice quiet get away! We plan on staying here again if we are lucky to get back to northern Michigan. Thank you Tim and Kathy for helping make our trip wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
20
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plainwell,Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

We have been going to Cedars motel for many years. And the new owners Tim and Cathy are just as great as the previous owners. It's our pleasure to know them. They go out of their way to please everyone. we think it's the best out there. Very friendly people with great personalities. And clean motel.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

Like the previous reviews, we enjoyed our one night stay. Very clean room. Love the knotty pine. Had one queen and one double bed. Breakfast was served in the small office area. Nicely done. Appreciate all the small details. First class mom&pop motel. We will return this winter. I have nothing negative to put in a review.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

Fantastic value! The Cedars was the cleanest motel we have ever stayed in. The rooms were comfortable and included microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. The hosts were super friendly and provided a bonfire and smores at night. What a great way to spend an evening and meet the other guests! The breakfast was very good and we will definitely stay here again. We would recommend highly.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farmington hills
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

Tim and Kathy Nolan own and operate this motel. After staying here, I am done with cheaper chain hotels. The Cedars Motel is exceptionally clean and the hosts are very friendly. The rooms were very comfortable. They lit a bonfire at night and invited everyone for smores. The breakfast they provided was just fine. I certainly plan to stay here again when I travel through St. Ignace.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

This was a great trip, and great car show. At the motel they had nightly bonfires with smores, we had a cookouts with burgers and hot dogs. We made friends with the other guests, and cant wait till next year to see them again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandon, Oregon
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

I stayed at the Cedars Motel in St. Ignace just last night. I highly recommend this little gem to everyone, especially people who steer clear of chain motels and prefer family owned places.
The rate was way more than reasonable and the location is super convenient to anything you want to do while in the St. Ignace area.
The room I had was spotless. The bed was comfortable and clean, there were 2 sitting chairs and a small table. The shower in the bathroom was worth the price of the room on it's own. Super strong water pressure - perfect !
I had a microwave, frig and coffee maker in the room, and it's nice to have that, especially since right across the street is a convenience store and deli.
The Kewadin casino is just a few minutes drive, and there is also free shuttle service to and from the motel.
The owners are so friendly and helpful, and their pride of ownership is evident everywhere. The grounds were freshly mowed and the hanging flower baskets were in full bloom.
Definitely stay at The Cedars Motel when you head to the St. Ignace area.

  • Liked — great curb appeal, super clean rooms, exceptional value
  • Disliked — nothing. liked it all
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cedars Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedars Motel

Address: 2040 I-75 Business Loop, Saint Ignace, MI 49781
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Ignace
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Ignace
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just a stone's throw away from the Kewadin Casino. Whether you want to stroll down the mile long boardwalk in downtown St Ignace, or travel one of the ferry's to Mackinac Island, we are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cedars Hotel Saint Ignace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cedars Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Cedars Motel to your Saves list