We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some fun times, Tent Camping Pass not worth it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St Clair RV Resort

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Clair
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Clair RV Resort
Save
You added St Clair RV Resort to your Saves list
1299 Wadhams Road, Saint Clair, MI   |  
Hotel amenities
Anaheim, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Some fun times, Tent Camping Pass not worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We purchased the Zone Camping Pass (Southwest) for about $500 in 2011 and tent-camped at various campgrounds to save on hotels while visiting surrounding areas. After camping just a few times, the pass paid for itself. Very nice to have showers and other conveniences in a reasonably secure setting. In the colder months, we put the tent away and used rentals units (cabins, trailers), which still were much cheaper than hotels and even more convenient, though our first trailer was very run down and had a hole in the roof.
As for the Tent Camping Pass (TCP), it is about $250 at the time of this writing, and may be worth considering. In fact, we purchased one (and cancelled it; more below) earlier this year (2013). However, understand that YOU CAN'T RESERVE TRAILERS AND CABINS with this pass. I understand their reasoning behind this given the limited number of units, but it is a huge restriction, and Thousand Trails needs to put this up front and make it clear. The contract seems to imply that you can reserve the rental units, but you can't, as we only found out after the online system rejected our reservation. On the plus side, Thousand Trails were good about refunding the TCP fee and cancelling our Zone Camping Pass as requested, so doing business with them was not an issue. Be sure to read the contract for where and when to send your written cancellation request (i.e. letter).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
9
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were looking forward to the 1000 Trails membership...free camping all year. How could you not be excited?

Our first overnight was at St.Clair's campground. The trees were beautiful, the quiet was peaceful and the women working there were nice as can be. That is where my compliments stop. Most of the desired sites we taken by year around residents (like another reviewer mentioned) and they 'set up camp' taking more space than should be allotted to one spot. There were also a lot of 'closed up' campers that must also be annual residents. If you want year around campers, give them a section where they can build their stairs, have a house worth of patio furniture, etc. Do not let them set up house where regular campers will be camping. It makes them feel like they are intruding on the residents.

Also general maintenance needs to be addressed. There are weeds taking over the playgrounds, miniature golf course, etc. While walking around, it was unpleasant to look at. There are also a lot of fire rings missing or full of ash. I did notice that some of the 'resident' campers had more than one fire ring. A walk around by the staff on a daily basis would fix 100% of these issues. A little elbow grease, a rake, and keeping the 'annual residents' in line would make this campground an amazing destination.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We signed up for Thousand Trails after we had attempted to get a campsite for our 32' 5th wheel for July 4th in Gettysburg. Needless to say, the rate for the one site we could have rented required a 4 night stay at $77/night. We were camping close by to the Thousand Trails in Gettysburg Farm and thought we'd take a look at what they had to offer. Turns out, with an incentive offer, we obtained 30 days of camping for a little more than our 4 night stay in Gettysburg. Needless to say, we signed up.

We've been very happy with both the Gettysburg Farm (in New Berlin - not Gettysburg) and the Hershey (in Lebanon, not Hershey) Thousand Trails sites. The sites are well kept, the people are friendly and they assist you whenever you have a problem. If we never visit another campground, these two will be worth the price.

Room Tip: Restaurant Sydney in New Berlin is AWESOME but pricey. The Hollywood Casino is fairly close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed at the Scotrun campground on 4/5/12, our first stay since enrolling in Thousand Trails membership. Previously, as 10+ year campers, we primarily stayed at state parks. We were disappointed with the Scotrun park in several aspects. First, although there appeared to be many available spaces according to the reservation system, in fact there were very few that would accommodate our 40' 5th wheel. In fact many of the available sites seemed only suitable for tent or pop-up size camping. Second, the overall atmosphere of the park was that of a seasonal and or long-term rentals. Many of the sites had semi-permanent structures on them, i.e. wood decks attached and fences. Given that these sites were permanent in nature, many were in need of routine repair and maintenance, giving way to an appearance of what many would call run down. As we went around the park, there were many sites that had closed up trailers with tarps covering outdoor accessories, and trailers in dire need of repair. (See attached picture, which is representative of dozens of sites). The best sites (size and location, as well as 3-point hook-ups) we being utilized by these seasonal renters, therefore there were very few decent sites left for the transient camper (almost none with sewer). Third, the utilities are located near the road area. My hook-ups are located in the back of my coach, as I assume many are, and therefore I needed to run extra cable to reach the connection point. Forth, they advertised cable TV and WIFI, however in reality the cable TV signal was so weak we were unable to get any stations to view. Also, there is an extra daily charge to anything other than the basic big 3 stations. The WIFI signal was very poor (only 1-bar) because we were far from the only access point located in the camp store, and there is a daily charge for that also. Fifth, the dump site is in the rear of the campground, making it difficult to navigate to upon leaving. There are 2 hairpin turns that one needs to navigate within the park, and with 40 foot of trailer it was difficult. Also, once at the dump site area you need to navigate the units being stored there. Many of the units being stored there did not look roadworthy and some would call them abandon in appearance.

For those of you who may be thinking of purchasing a membership in Thousand Trails, you need to be aware of a few things. One... within the reservation system you can not actually "reserve" a site like you may be familiar with in a state park system. In a state park system you reserve a specific site (i.e. site # A23), wherein with the Thousand Trails system you reserve an undesignated slot. During the sales pitch they say they will always have a spot for you if you reserve one, however its first-come first-served on which spot you will get. And with the example we experienced above (seasonal renters occupying the best sites), you may or may not get a slot that will accommodate your rig. Second... you can not reserve a spot more than 60 days out. Also, you can not reserve more than 1 holiday a year. Third... some (to many) of the links to the individual campgrounds were dead links, i.e. you will receive a page/site error when selecting some of the campground links. Forth... when reserving a site you have no idea what type site you are reserving. If you have a large rig like a 5th wheel, or a large toy-hauler, you may be disappointed with what sites may be available when you pull in the campground. Now if you're like me, and you drive 4-6 hours to a location only to find out the only sites available are suitable for tents or pop-ups... you will likely be disappointed like we were.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Great Location for visiting in the Detroit, Mt. Clemens, Port Huron Area - very close to I 94 exit.
Gated Park with choice of open or shady sights -some pull throughs; nice comfortable "community" facility with exercise room, large recreation room with attached laundry (4 washers and 4 dryers) washed several loads with out difficulty; wifi access; small store open on weekends with basic RV needs; swimming pool onsight - we did not use it. Bath house facilities were adequate and well maintained. Some park-wide activities planned We were not 'members' but were welcomed as guests with reasonable pricing for our 10 day stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonestown, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

Not worth your time.... Even if it is free. We received "supposedly" a free 3 night stay when we bought our trailer. Yeah right!!! Thought we would check it out in the NorthEastern Zone. If we wanted to use this free stay we would have to buy a membership!! I would not recommend this membership to anyone. What a joke!!! Don't waste your time or money!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

My husband and I joined Thousand Trails with hopes of enjoying our new travel trailer, what a mistake we made. We just discovered that we can only use our membership 7 out of the 12 months since all the sites in the Northeast zone close for the winter. Also once you sign the contract you are bound by it for the full year, there is no early termination. We are stuck in a contract that we do not even want. We do not recommend this program unless you live down south where you can use it year round. Will be terminating this contract as soon as our year is up.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Clair RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Clair RV Resort

Address: 1299 Wadhams Road, Saint Clair, MI
Location: United States > Michigan > Saint Clair
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Saint Clair
Number of rooms: 229

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Clair RV Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.