We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Tucked Away Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forbidden City Chinese Restaurant

Forbidden City Chinese Restaurant
4024 Bay Road, Saginaw, MI 48603-1201
989-799-9340
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 244 Restaurants in Saginaw
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Topeka, Kansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice Tucked Away Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I definitely judge a book by it's cover when it comes to restaurants. Although this restaurant is not sketchy, it does not have the cutest facade. Additionally, the inside decor is a tad dated. HOWEVER...the food is delicious!! I definitely judged, but when I received my egg drop soup, it was some of the best egg drop soup I've ever had! Additionally, their fried rice, crab-cheese won tons, sesame chicken, and Hunan chicken was really good, too! My fortune also said that great wealth was going to come to me soon--so I couldn't have asked for a better experience :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013









































This restaurant has been here over 35 years and we have never been disappointed. The food is great and very, very reasonable. It is a bit hidden in the back of a lot off Bay Rd. but well worth the search!


Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saginaw, mi
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“getting better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I was a little negative on a previous review but I felt things had improved at a recent trip here. They were never "bad" , always one of the best but the food is a little improved over previous visits. There were four of us and we had the imperial dinner for four. Sizzling rice soup was great as usual, best in Saginaw. All four dishes were fresh and served timely. The help with the Mo Shu pork was appreciated. I think they are back to their old high standards. They will prepare take out for any dish, I have had it several times and it is always ready on time and very good!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrill, Michigan
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

This place has been here for years It is a very good place foe Chinese food it Is one of my favorite places for chinese

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saginaw mi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant since childhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have lived in Saginaw since I was three years old and this has always been my favorite restaurant. Their sizzling rice soup is my all time favorite food. In Saginaw, we have a lot of Chinese restaurants but this one has the best food made with the best ingredients. The shrimp is always tender, never rubbery and they use thinly sliced bamboo shoots that never taste splintery. I recommend the beef or chicken with broccoli the sauce is delicious or the fried rice because it has a delicious smokey flavor to it. Every meal I've had is delicious and after 22 years it's still my favorite place to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forbidden City Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Forbidden City Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forbidden City Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.