We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Roast Beef!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sign of The Beefcarver

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sign of The Beefcarver
27400 Woodward Ave, Royal Oak, MI 48067
(248) 546-7888
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 167 Restaurants in Royal Oak
Restaurant details
DETROIT
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Love the Roast Beef!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I go out of my way to eat here...I just love the set up. Grab a tray and pick out whatever you want along the food line. I always get the Roast Beef with Mashed potatoes with lots and lots of gravy. The staff are very friendly and seem to know most of the customers. That's always a good sign. And I love the fact they have the horseradish and beets for anyone to help themselves too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rio Verde, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fifty years of great roast beef.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I'm predjudiced. I worked in this restaurant in the 1960s when it was called Sign of the Beefeater. It is still owned by the same family and serves sliced roast beef from 30-pound rounds of slow-cooked beef. The menu contains other choices of fish and meats served cafeteria style. The quality is always good and the prices are reasonable. The atmosphere is colonial. A place I return to over and over again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“NOT FOR BLUE HAIRS ONLY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This cafeteria style restaurant is really very good. Get your tray, silver and a napkin and get ready to choose your food. THAT is the best part of the Beefcarver; seeing your food so you can decide what you want.

Trays are always clean and there are always a stack. Since everything is pre-served, all you have to do is put the item on your tray. The people who slice the beef are always friendly.

I usually go with the roast beef; however, Fridays I go for the fish because I love seafood.

Everything is ala carte here and very tasty. The staff does a great job of making sure that the food is hot, ready and eye appealing. Desserts look so delicious.

There are usually lines so try to go between times. A lot of the staff know the regulars on a first-name basis. Staff carries your tray into the dining room. And, they make you feel very comfortable.

For years the Beefcarver has had free beets and pickles and as much as you want. Drink refills are free, too. However, let's have a heart here folks; tip the person bringing you the refills. To go boxes are available, too.

Bathrooms are always clean.

I don't know why people make fun of this place when the food is really excellent. I never had anything to complain about. I love the fact that I can get in and get out as patience is not my virtue.

If the front parking lot looks jammed, drive to the rear of the building where there are plenty of spaces.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Cafeteria style”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Grab a tray and get in line ... everything is under the lights and kept warm waitng for you to order and take it to your table.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Best tasting food in al Detroit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Most people shun Buffet type restaurants like Old Country Buffet. Beefcarver is so different and so much better. First the entrees and side dishes are actually cooked right at the restaurant not just heated up. Second all the food is baked not fried. The Beef is cut before your eyes( you choose how well done),The Scrod is baked. All the side dishes are like home cooking. Real blueberry or apple pie. Free beets and pickles. Refills of drinks. Try this place..Ignore the average age factor. These people have survived this long for a reason, they don't eat fried food all the time.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sign of The Beefcarver also viewed

 

Been to Sign of The Beefcarver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sign of The Beefcarver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.