We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hamburgers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Coat Tavern

Red Coat Tavern
31542 Woodward Ave, Royal Oak, MI 48073-0933
(248) 549-0300
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 173 Restaurants in Royal Oak
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $35
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Toluca, Mexico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent hamburgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

These are the best hamburgers I've ever had, and I've had a lot :)

I was there at a Wednesday night and it was crowdy, I needed to wait a couple of minutes to be seated it was worth the waiting.

The standard hamburger comes with mayo, tomato, and lettuce, and then you can add whatever comes to your mind, from jalapenos to a fried egg. So the limit is your imagination and hunger.

Try it when you around, you won't regret.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    101
    36
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Everything we tried here over multiple visits was great! Calamari was my favorite! Burgers were great, order the special beef well worth it!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Woodward Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Always on my list of enjoyable restaurants. Making plans to revisit there this month. A joy to introduce new diners to the food and experience of dining here.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best cheeseburger and onion rings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I love love the Piedmontese Cheeseburger it is so tender n great flavor and to top of the meal with onion rings you can't beat that. My only fault is the wait getting in. It's a small place up front and when busy your herded in there like livestock also note for couples they will sit larger tables before you even if you were there first not very happy with that but there lucky I can't turn down there food

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, Michigan
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This place has great burgers of all kinds. The selection of beers is amazing. Four of us had an early dinner on a Friday and had no problem getting seated. Had we been later it would have been different. The food was great and the service matched. If I get the chance, I'd stop here again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Coat Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Red Coat Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Coat Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.