We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Detroit Zoo

Detroit Zoo
8450 W 10 Mile Road, Royal Oak, MI 48215
(248) 398-0903
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Attractions in Royal Oak
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Watch frolicking and splashing polar bears through a glass pane and experience life on the tundra at the Arctic Ring of Life, the worlds largest Arctic exhibit. Other highlights of this interactive and educational zoo include a stroll through an indoor rainforest with free-roaming animals and a visit to one of the largest great ape exhibits in the world.
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Twenty minutes from our house in Windsor. How great is that? We love going and are going to get a seasonal pass this year. So many animals. Everyone keeps telling us to go to a bigger zoo but with a toddler this fills our day anyway and we like that the prices aren't as high as other amusement parks we've been too. Downside is giraffe experience sells out so quickly and many things at the Polar Bear Experience didn't work.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    174
    60
    20
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“time to be kids again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

its our family favourite..a go to place every summer.. we even celbrated my daughters birthday there...fun experience with the family..make a note of all the feed times for the animals..you and the kids would not want to miss that..

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownstown Township, Michigan
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful Grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

As the first zoo in the nation to display animals in natural environments it is a must see if you visit south eastern Michigan. Best time to go is on a cooler day when the animals are more active. Don't miss the polar bear exhibit.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It was so hot and we didn't realize we could bring in picnic lunch and drinks. A mistake we won't make in the future...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Water was too expensive...I can see the dipping dots, food, candy etc...but water should be an affordable price!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, FL, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Go to the Detroit Zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Excellent vairety of animals, air conditioned buildings to escape the heat in the summer, coolest polar bear exhibit you can find!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Detroit Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Detroit Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Detroit Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.