We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Cheap Place for Parak and Fly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7600 Merriman Road, Romulus, MI 48174   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
London, Ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good Cheap Place for Parak and Fly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Needed a park and fly to go away to Las Vegas. They were half the price of the other places I have stayed before so a little unsure. Its a motel so no luxieries, but I didnt need them. Check in was fast and friendly, the room was a little small but was clean, new, had a fridge and microwave. Free breakfast (standard) . You can leave your car there and they shuttle you to the airport or they give you vouchers to use at quick park. Great Deal.
There is a bar in the plaza at the front of the place with a few other take out spots.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    62
    32
    9
    8
See reviews for
38
74
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton Township, Michigan
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed at Americas Best Value Inn for 1 night. How can you beat the price? $100 for a decent nights sleep, 10 days of parking, continental breakfast, and free shuttle to and from the airport 24 hours a day.

Room was decent. Nice queen size bed, Flat Screen TV with cable, mini fridge, microwave, hair dryer, along with a parking space right in front of the door.

If you are sensitive to sounds waking you up. Bring a cheap pair of ear plugs because planes fly over at all hours. What can you expect though? You are very close to the airport after all!

Car was parked in a very secure gated lot.

Great location right of Merriman Rd very close to Metro Airport.

Would I stay here again? Yup! Its cheaper to stay here for the night and get a good night sleep than pay for 10 days of parking onsite at the airport and have to wake up and drive there 2-3 hours earlier.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The rooms are not the greatest and it is so close to the airport that it can get a little loud if you don't have the furnace and/or air blower going. The mattresses had a few springs that were bad. Outside of that, the coffee in the lobby was really good and they have a few more options (above and beyond continental) breakfast. It is included in the rate. The shuttles leave every half hour for the airport. Our stay worked out well. We will stay again for the convenience.

Room Tip: Keep the fan on at night to help drown out the planes taking off and landing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We booked this to spend the night in Romulus prior to an early morning flight and to utilize their shuttle to and from the airport. The rooms were clean but one of the bedspreads had some substance on it that we preferred to not think about; we removed it from the bed and asked for a blanket. The blanket was readily provided but was in pretty rough shape. The front desk clerk was very, very busy; however, that could easily be dependent on time of arrival. As for the shuttle....when it was time to board the shuttle, they announced they had only one available parking spot so travelers were trying to decide who would take the spot and who would leave their keys. Everyone was in the lobby at least 15 minutes before the shuttle time, so I'd suggest in the future, they announce this before everyone is getting on the shuttle. Also, the driver was simply rude and drove erratically. I foolishly tipped him then wondered why. The driver on the return trip was better. I would not say don't stay here or don't utilize their shuttle but be aware there are better options.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed here before flight to myrtle beach. The accommodations were clean and comfortable, bathroom was very basic, it was noisy up until about 10pm when the flights stopped buzzing the hotel. Great value though for a family to stay and have parking for a week plus transport to airport and breakfast

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stumbled upon this motel when I had car trouble on my way to the Detroit Airport (DTW). Instead of taking my flight I decided I needed to cancel my trip and stay where I was until the next day at least. This was the first motel I came to. I did not have the usual credit card with me and the night desk clerk was very helpful in allowing me to make alternate arrangements. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and recently remodeled, giving it a very spacious feel. I was fortunate in getting a room with a microwave and fridge which made the 4 days I was stranded there far more comfortable.

There were times when plumbing and other noises came through from neighboring rooms, but generally it was quiet and I felt safe.

I thought the room and accommodations were good for the price and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Before reserving this hotel for a 3-day business trip I read up the reviews. They were mostly positive. Turned out to be true.
Pros are - Close to the Airport, call them after you arrive (from airport phone if needed - cost 50cents) and the nice shuttle bus with friendly driver comes over in less than 10 minutes. The motel is part of or adjoining a plaza that has several nice dining options. Rooms are quiet and reasonably cozy. The breakfast at the reception is not the best but works, everything fresh, and given the price point cannot complain really. The coffee machine serves hot coffee 24x7 complimentary (a blessing really in the cold). The 'big' lady at the reception is very helpful and went out of her way to reserve our cabs for the business visit. She called more than one company to find the best deal. That is, what I would call, over the top HELP.

Cons ?? - If you keep the price point in perspective then none really. But check out the room tips. And yes this is an 'airport' hotel so don't expect not to hear the sound of planes!!

Net Net good experience and will certainly consider coming back if needed.

Room Tip: The rooms are in 5 'strip' buildings behind the main reception building. The buildings are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela T, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments and we are pleased that you were happy with your stay. We hope to see you again in the future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 7600 Merriman Road, Romulus, MI 48174
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn-Metro Airport! Americas Best Value Inn-Metro Airport is a newly renovated hotel with up to date guestrooms and amenities. Our guestrooms offer coffee makers, hairdryers, full size ironing board/iron, microwaves & refrigerators. A complimentary deluxe continental breakfast is served each morning in our lobby. We are located 1 mile north of Detroit Metro Airport and only 15 minutes from Downtown Detroit and its many attractions. At Americas Best Value Inn we know you have a variety of hotels to choose from, but what makes our hotel different from the rest? At Americas Best Value Inn-Metro Airport our Lodge, Park and Fly Package is what separates us from the rest! Americas Best Value Inn-Metro Airport is the only hotel licensed by the City of Romulus to offer on premise long term park. We look forward to your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Romulus
Howard Johnson Hotel Romulus
Howard Johnson Romulus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.