We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Marriott hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Detroit Metro Airport Marriott

Save Saved
You added Detroit Metro Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   30559 Flynn Road, Romulus, MI 48174   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #14 of 25 hotels in Romulus
GreenLeadersBronze level
Palo Alto, CA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Decent Marriott hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Stayed here for two nights. The area around the hotel is rather bleak, but safe enough. The hotel doesn't look all that attractive from the outside, but it's clean and comfortable inside. The staff is friendly and welcoming. The room are clean and well-appointed with large LCD TVs (but no digital/HD content as of December 2011). The room is slightly small compared to most Marriotts. The bathrooms are average Marriott size (that is, small). The room air-conditioning is relatively quiet, and the rooms are soundproofed adequately. Despite the proximity to a major airline hub, I didn't hear any airplane noise during my stay. The Concierge Lounge is small but provides the basic amenities for elite customers. Perhaps my only complaint is about the restaurant, where the food is greasy bar fare and the wines by the glass are priced outrageously ($9.75 a glass for a wine that sells for $8 a bottle in the grocery store). If you have a car, you're better off driving a quarter mile north to Leonardo's Italian Grille for your dining pleasure.

Room Tip: Away from the Interstate highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    93
    40
    14
    7
See reviews for
34
41
24
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

I was only here for a short stay but it was very clean and the bed was sooooo comfortable

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Stayed for one night, to get an early flight out of DTW.
Rooms were in need of a refresh, but were clean. The bed was clean and comfortable..
Prompt shuttle ride to the airport (10 minutes) made an easy start to the day.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

The sheer name "airport hotel" has always freaked me out. To me it sounded like a dingy, noisy place but this Marriott hotel changes all my perceptions. First of the front desk service was superior. The rooms were clean with the most comfortable bed. My husband and I had a king room and it was one of the best night's sleep we've had in a long time. The shampoo was also amazing. The whole experience left us feeling fresh and ready to get on an airplane the next day. We took part in the park and fly package. $30 gets you to leave your car in a highly secured area and they shuttle you to and from the hotel and airport at no extra charge. The irish pub downstairs looked great as well. I noticed many pilots staying here so I guess they know the secret. I will stay here for all future flights. Room was $65 for 2 adults one king bed and they even accomodating by putting our friends acros the hall. Loved it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011 via mobile

Great place for what I paid, $111 for king bed/2 adults. Bed very comfortable, sheets very soft, pillows excellent! Bath & body works brand shampoo, conditioner good quality. Excellent tv, good coffee. Room very clean and nicely decorated. Bar/restaurant had decent prices and good tasting food (had walleye). Shuttle runs every 20 min's. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

While this isn't the kind of place I would choose for a vacation, this hotel was extremely accommodating and friendly to our conference of approx 115 people. At one point someone fainted, and the staff were responsive and caring, and asked about her and took good care of her. We also loved the food! They were more than willing to work with the food requests of our vegan and gluten-intolerant, etc. friends. I loved the restaurant inside, too. My bed was huge and comfortable, I like having a flat screen TV (NOT standard at every hotel, it turns out!), and I used the pool and hot tub every night. I liked the gym, even though it was small. It's not in a very attractive location, but the shuttles were consistent and timely, and the staff very courteous so everyone got in and out just fine. Overall, very pleased!

Room Tip: I had one on the first floor behind the front desk; very quiet, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

This was the 2nd Airport Marriot I tried, and the last time was in Pittsburgh. Their renovations were similar except that the room of this hotel is smaller. We arrived at about 4:00 pm and the check in was easy and efficient, and hotel staff willingly gave us a 2 double beds room while we check in despite I booked it through priceline. Staff attitude were professional. However, they could ask the client a bid more about where they are going. I found out later with another staff that the hotel provide a "deal" of airport parking of $30 a week right before the hotel and they could take you to the airport with their own shuttle. In-house buffet was for $12 per person and does not include with priceline price. Overall, the hotel is clean, updated, quiet and comfortable and I suggest to everyone to stay there.

Room Tip: Do not hesitate to ask for a suitable room, and let them know you needed parking for additional days...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Detroit Metro Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Metro Airport Marriott

Address: 30559 Flynn Road, Romulus, MI 48174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Metro Airport Marriott 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Detroit Metro Airport Marriott Hotel combines convenient location with friendly staff to create a one of a kind Detroit hotel experience. Looking for a Detroit hotel for your next business or social event? The Detroit Metro Airport Marriott Hotel will help you plan with ease and flexibility in one of our fourteen meeting rooms occupying 6,600 square feet. Whether flying into Detroit or looking for an escape from downtown, the Detroit Metro Airport (DTW) Marriott hotel is uniquely suited to meet your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Detroit Metro Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Detroit Airport Hotel Detroit
Marriott Romulus
Romulus Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Detroit Metro Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.