We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room/hotel beyond my expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Detroit Metro Airport Marriott

Save Saved
You added Detroit Metro Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   30559 Flynn Road, Romulus, MI 48174   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #14 of 25 hotels in Romulus
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Room/hotel beyond my expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011 via mobile

Great place for what I paid, $111 for king bed/2 adults. Bed very comfortable, sheets very soft, pillows excellent! Bath & body works brand shampoo, conditioner good quality. Excellent tv, good coffee. Room very clean and nicely decorated. Bar/restaurant had decent prices and good tasting food (had walleye). Shuttle runs every 20 min's. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    93
    40
    14
    7
See reviews for
34
41
24
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

While this isn't the kind of place I would choose for a vacation, this hotel was extremely accommodating and friendly to our conference of approx 115 people. At one point someone fainted, and the staff were responsive and caring, and asked about her and took good care of her. We also loved the food! They were more than willing to work with the food requests of our vegan and gluten-intolerant, etc. friends. I loved the restaurant inside, too. My bed was huge and comfortable, I like having a flat screen TV (NOT standard at every hotel, it turns out!), and I used the pool and hot tub every night. I liked the gym, even though it was small. It's not in a very attractive location, but the shuttles were consistent and timely, and the staff very courteous so everyone got in and out just fine. Overall, very pleased!

Room Tip: I had one on the first floor behind the front desk; very quiet, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

This was the 2nd Airport Marriot I tried, and the last time was in Pittsburgh. Their renovations were similar except that the room of this hotel is smaller. We arrived at about 4:00 pm and the check in was easy and efficient, and hotel staff willingly gave us a 2 double beds room while we check in despite I booked it through priceline. Staff attitude were professional. However, they could ask the client a bid more about where they are going. I found out later with another staff that the hotel provide a "deal" of airport parking of $30 a week right before the hotel and they could take you to the airport with their own shuttle. In-house buffet was for $12 per person and does not include with priceline price. Overall, the hotel is clean, updated, quiet and comfortable and I suggest to everyone to stay there.

Room Tip: Do not hesitate to ask for a suitable room, and let them know you needed parking for additional days...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

This is the second time I have reviewed this hotel. My prior rating was all top scores!! Wonderful experience. However, I now must warn folks about the front desk manager and clerk that I encountered on Thursday, August 18th at 7pm. When we arrived - I asked for two double beds. The clerk looked through available rooms on the computer and apparently found one -- but called over the Manager and said "they would like two double beds - but I want you to see this". The mgr looked at our account and apparently - since we had booked through a discount bid for your price site - we had a cheap rate. The mgr made a face and said "We are really quite full tonite and we can not give you a room with two double beds". I said -- "okay -- I probably should have called earlier to request it - but I thought PL did request two double beds...." Before I could finish - he interrupted me in a loud voice so everyone around could hear and said -- well -- if you book with PL -- they request the cheapest possible thing they can request -- and that is what you have." I said -- please don't go there -- we love this hotel and how much we pay does not need to be advertised." That visibly upset the manager and the clerk and they gave us our room and quickly stated directions. Unfortunately, we walked the wrong way -- they saw us walk the wrong way and watched us wander around the first floor attempting to find the room. I finally had to go back to the clerk and ask for directions again -- she (in a snippy tone) said - you did not go the way I told you -- that is why you could not find your room". WOW -- what did we do to deserve that type of treatment. If this hotel does not want to deal with discount site users - then they should stop being a part of them. I was not upset that we could not get the bedding we wanted, but I was upset that we were spoken to and treated the way we were. In defense, other than these two people, we were treated well by other desk clerks when we asked questions (however -- would we have been if they knew we were in "the cheapest room possible"? This is sad as I love this hotel and have stayed there multiple times. No more. I will not be treated rudely and as inferior guests because I book through discounter sites.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Not much to report here! It's a clean, well-run airport hotel. Not surprisingly, it's very convenient to the airport. Staff were friendly. Rooms were clean, if not huge. The hotel met all of my expectations for a Marriott. The staff were willing to accommodate my last minute request to change from a 1-king room to 2-queens, even though the I had booked the cheapest available on-line rate, which was the 1-king room. So that is definitely a positive.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I just had to await my flight back to home for a few days and wanted to use these days to advance my work. I think I was VEERY lucky to have ended up in this hotel for that: Veery comfortable EVERYTHING here. For only "relaxing" I'd not recommend it, as it's not situated in a beautiful natural environment, but for working (in the room or on the terrace) its very great! Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We received a great rate on Priceline after being unexpectedly delayed by Delta Airlines. Check-in was a breeze and staff was very welcoming. We slept well - very quiet, very little airplane noise. Food at the hotel restaurant was better than average. Breakfast buffet is offered in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Detroit Metro Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Metro Airport Marriott

Address: 30559 Flynn Road, Romulus, MI 48174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Metro Airport Marriott 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Detroit Metro Airport Marriott Hotel combines convenient location with friendly staff to create a one of a kind Detroit hotel experience. Looking for a Detroit hotel for your next business or social event? The Detroit Metro Airport Marriott Hotel will help you plan with ease and flexibility in one of our fourteen meeting rooms occupying 6,600 square feet. Whether flying into Detroit or looking for an escape from downtown, the Detroit Metro Airport (DTW) Marriott hotel is uniquely suited to meet your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Detroit Metro Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Detroit Airport Hotel Detroit
Marriott Romulus
Romulus Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Detroit Metro Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.