We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK - but there are other choices around” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   30847 Flynn Drive, Romulus, MI 48174 (Formerly Lexington Hotel at Detroit Metro Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Texas
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
156 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“OK - but there are other choices around”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

Stayed here one night in May to catch a flight the next morning. I could hear some airplane noise, but it wasn't too bad.

This is an older Hampton that was about to change names a few days after my stay. The room was clean, not too large, though. Bathroom was clean and everything worked well - great hot water and pressure. I had some trouble with the Internet, maybe because I was at the end of the building.

On my subsequent stay near the airport about a month later, I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn - better choice. Given the choices around the airport, I would not recommend this one. But that is not to say that it is a bad place - nothing to be concerned about.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    75
    32
    5
    2
See reviews for
73
51
18
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Segundo, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

When I booked my room this was a Hampton Inn. The hotel was sold and it became the Lexington.

I had a large clean room with a microwave and small fridge. The desk help was friendly. I had a room with a great computer area, one of the best I've ever had. Toiletries were provided. Internet service was free.

The bed was very comfy. (It was obvious that this had been a Hampton Inn bed). The bed spread was a bit thin (thinner then what I'm used to for a Hampton Inn).

The hotel is VERY close to the airport so there was a lot of airplane noise. I live in Southern California next to LAX so the airport noise didn't bother me. LOL It was like being at home.

The hotel is also very close to rental car returns.

This is a very handy hotel for travelers. Close to airport and rental cars.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

The breakfast bar offered a wide selection of choices and unique items like a Jimmie Dean egg, sausage, and cheese bagel which was delicious! The best coffee, compared to other hotel stays, too. The room was simple, but clean and comfortable, including the beds. The shower was fabulous and there was a warming light so you don't get out of the shower and freeze. The lighting at the sink was not the usual florescents, but nice and bright--perfect for putting on make-up or shaving. This used to be a Hampton Inn but their franchise was not renewed, so it became the Lexington. I was told only the name changed and the breakfast includes more fresh items. The price was extremely reasonable for all that they offer. I would definitely recommend this hotel. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

Just before this property switched from a Hampton Inn to their current name, I had a confirmed reservation with credit card payment. I had booked a AAA rate. When I got to the hotel that night, the hotel was sold out and my room sold to another guest at a higher price. Very poor way to do business, and they never made any attempt to fix the problem.

As Jerry Seinfeld would say, "what good does it do take a reservation if you don't hold the reservation."

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inman, South Carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2007

Hotel room quality is on the low end of the Hampton standard. By this I mean the physical condition of the halls and room are in need of improvement, ex, old carpet . The beds are great, staff is very good and helpful. Everything else is fine, I would stay again.

  • Liked — Staff very helpful
  • Disliked — Rooms hallways worn
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2007

I ended up stranded in Detroit, and decided to stay at the Hampton Inn since I am familiar with the hotel chain. This particular hotel still has the comforting charm of all other Hampton Inns (warm cookies at reception, breakfast to go bags, extremely nice staff, and a 24 hour shuttle to the airport with courteous drivers), however, I think the hotel rooms are badly in need of renovations. The furniture was very old, the room was a bit dusty, and you could tell the hotel itself is quite old. The business center was also extremely hot since there was no air conditioner in the room. The lobby, fitness room, and business center all looked great in comparison to the old and dusty looking rooms. The bed was still comfortable, as with all beds in Hampton Inns. I got a great price for the room ($96.50 AAA rate), and it was just what I needed when I had a 7am flight the next morning, but I wouldn't stay at this hotel again unless I was ever stranded in Detroit again.

  • Liked — Great staff, 24 hour airport shuttle, efficient business center, great value
  • Disliked — Dusty hotel rooms, old furniture
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2007

I stayed at this hotel both before and after an international flight out of the nearby (7-8 minutes away) Detroit Airport. The hotel exceeded all my expectations! I can't recall when I have had a better hotel experience, and that says a lot since you don't generally expect much when choosing a hotel for its airport location. From the drivers of the free 24 hour hotel shuttle, to the front desk staff, to the breakfast attendants - all were exceptionally courteous and helpful. The hotel was very clean, safe and secure (important for women traveling alone), and the room, with its "Hampton Inn" bedding was very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was very fresh with good selection. Miraculously, I heard no aircraft noise. I would highly recomend!

  • Liked — Location and Comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing was anything other than exceptional
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport

Address: 30847 Flynn Drive, Romulus, MI 48174 (Formerly Lexington Hotel at Detroit Metro Airport)
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Romulus
#5 Family Hotel in Romulus
#6 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED TOTAL HOTEL MAKE OVER IN PROCESS - SCHEDULED TO OPEN EARLY JANUARY 2013. We have free high speed wireless internet - free continental breakfast - free airport shuttle - fridge & microwave in every room - outdoor pool. Suites are available as well. Pets can stay too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Romulus
Romulus Hampton Inn
Lexington Hotel Romulus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.