We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Rooms Fair Price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus to your Saves list
Days Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9501 Middlebelt Road, Detroit Metropolitan Airport, Romulus, MI 48174   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Terrell
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Old Rooms Fair Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked two rooms in July over the phone and I requested two rollaway beds( one for each room). When we arrived at the hotel they told us they had no available rollaway beds at all. We still took the rooms and although clean they are very outdated. They are also very small. The price is fair and they do have a very nice breakfast setup in the morning. This hotel is fine if you are just staying for a night or two.

Room Tip: We asked for adjoining rooms on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnMetroAirport, Manager at Days Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks so much for writing in and telling us about your experience at our hotel! We are so sorry that the rollaway beds were not available for you! Usually what happens in situations such as this is that a guest will request one the night before, and will decide to keep it an additional night. When these circumstances happen, they are out of our control, and we do apologize for that!

We are glad that you were happy with our complimentary breakfast, we go out of our way to supply as much as we can so that our guests are happy with their options. We have also recently decided to add a hot breakfast in our restaurant on the weekends after the complimentary breakfast has ended.

We are also always in the process of updating and renovating our hotel to meet the needs of our guests. We have recently added flat screen TVs to all of our rooms, the pillow top mattresses I mentioned, new linens, and we are updating even more as this year begins to come to a close. We do our updates on a room-by-room basis, and it is more than likely that you received one of the rooms that has not been updated as recently. Hopefully the next time you are in our area you will give us another chance to show you just truly what our hotel can offer you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    204
    165
    70
    45
See reviews for
224
189
81
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The rooms are much nicer than the smelly hallways and entrance. The pool looked to be boarded up. We drove from Toronto to fly out from Detroit as it was significantly cheaper and this was the only hotel that would let us book for 5 with a rollaway. Very good price as well to leave the car for 2 weeks. Shuttle was ontime and everything work according to plan. Breakfast is a bit of disaster as the front desk clerk was expected to clean tables, keep everything stocked and man the desk. It was free so we did not complain - there was cereal, yogurt and english muffins you could toast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

This place is somewhere between three and four stars, but that's not an option. The hotel gives deceivingly lackluster impressions on the outside, but is a bit more inviting once you journey through the barred front doors. The lobby and hallways were a bit warm, as was the room upon first arrival, but after turning on the loud air conditioner this was fixed. One complaint about the AC is that its fan has two speed settings- high and about 2rpm higher. The room has pretty decent furnishings, albeit a little beat up, but it's nothing major. There was just the slightest feeling of being a little cramped, and the lack of any spare outlets within reach/sight save for one power strip in a corner was a tad bothersome. One thing I found odd was the complete lack of any towel racks, which meant the abundant towels all had to go in a large stack next to the sink... The breakfast was pretty good (I heeded other reviewers' warnings and didn't try the biscuits and gravy, so I can't state any opinion) and nicely stocked. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay here again, for the price, if need be.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were sent here as an airlines comp after our flight being cancelled. I have to say, the Days Inn brand did not exactly bring amazing thoughts to my mind for the evening. Overall, I'd say it was an average hotel.

The front end manager was OK. He was funny and kept positive considering the buses of people who the airlines kept sending over at 10pm. However, I made a simple request for a crib that he said he would act upon (bring it up to the room) that never occurred. I ate a meal at the restuarant, returned to the room, and still no crib. Thankfully I walked down the stairwell and noticed to cribs there so I asked to just take one myself. His response, "Sure. That saves me the time of bringing it up." Not the response I expected.

The lobby bathroom was an experience. Quite dirty, toilet clogged and no effort was made to fix when brought to their attention.

The room was average. Beds were OK -- good enough for a quick night sleep before leaving the next morning. Outside of that, probably not recommended for a long-term stay. The refrigerator wasn't plugged in when we got to the room. That was probably intentional since it made all sorts of noise when plugged in and almost shorted out the entire room. Interesting...

No sense of value since I didn't pay for my room. Happy I didn't though. I would certainly not return by choice, but if the hotel is cheap, you could probably last a quick night for the free shuttle to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus

Address: 9501 Middlebelt Road, Detroit Metropolitan Airport, Romulus, MI 48174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gem among Detroit Metro Airport Hotels, the Days Inn & Suites Romulus is proudly listed on AAA’s 3 Diamond rated hotels. Great for business travel, leisure, or family vacations. Conveniently located close to the airport and many of Detroit’s main attractions including Greektown, MGM, Motor City Casino, Greenfield Village, and much more. We offer a business center, workout facility, free 24hr airport shuttle, complimentary continental breakfast and many more amenities located on 3 stories with all indoor corridors. Also try our on-site restaurant Wing’s Bar and Grill newly remodeled with large Flat Screen HDTVs and a full menu to choose from. Ask about our Park and Fly packages which include, one night stay and extended parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus
Days Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus Hotel Romulus
Days Inn Romulus
Romulus Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.