We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Metro Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Metro Airport to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31800 Wick Road, Romulus, MI 48174   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Tiffin, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Close to the Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed here (before flying to Detroit). Both times, it has been a very good stay! They used to have people park at the hotel for the Park and Fly package, but they did some remodeling and this time we parked at a place very close to the hotel. They let us take our car over to the parking facility the night before our flight, and then a shuttle brought us back to this hotel so we could sleep. We left right before breakfast started, but the lady in charge said we could have some juice or coffee before we left. The first time we stayed, the breakfast was delicious! Would recommend this hotel to others leaving from Detroit Metro Airport, and I would use it again in the future!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doval B, General Manager at Comfort Inn Metro Airport, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Chelsey,

Thank you for reviewing our FIVE STAR quality service and accommodations. Again, it is our pleasure go above and beyond for every one of our guests BECAUSE WE CARE!

Upon the New Ownership/New Mgmt take over........yes, we are now serviced by AIRLINES PARKING for all the parking needs for our guests. They offer a FIVE STAR QUALITY service and a great partner for THE NEW COMFORT INN METRO AIRPORT. Airlines Parking and Comfort Inn exclusive shuttles run 24 hours a day....so we're always there for our guests when they need us.

Thanks again and look forward to accommodating your lodging needs in the future. Hopefully next time you'll enjoy our breakfast that starts at 4AM every single morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    89
    22
    14
    5
See reviews for
77
95
21
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Mercy is an Angel! I was delayed overnight by an airline error and sent to this Comfort Inn. Mercy went above and beyond to turn a terrible situation into a very pleasant experience. Thank you Mercy, and thank you Comfort inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doval B, General Manager at Comfort Inn Metro Airport, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Bonnie,

Glad to see that you've experienced our FIVE STAR SERVICE by one of our Elite agents, Mercy.

Going above and beyond for our guests is something we do and we do it well for ONE reason.......WE CARE.

Looking forward to accommodate your lodging needs in the future. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I (ages 64 and 59 respectively) chose this property for two primary reasons: (1) we generally used the Comfort Inn chain because we're familiar with it and (2) we wanted something close to Detroit Metro for a short weekend trip.

This property is older and in need of attention. However, they are now under new ownership and undergoing some renovations/remodeling.

The lobby area is completed and quite attractive. The 'back' of the lobby is a small bar/grill. Although we did not order from the menu there (or get room service) the menu looked good and the prices reasonable. This newly renovated area is also where the morning breakfast is served. By the way, to accommodate guests who must arrive at the airport early, the breakfast service begins at 4:00a.m. Very nice for us who need to be at the airport by 6:00a.m.!

Our room was clean, especially the bathroom. The bathroom was small, but nice with all tile floor and surrounds, granite counter, hair dryer.

The room proper was in need of redecorating/renovating . . . but again, that is now happening.

Although we were near the airport, flights didn't bother us with noise, etc.

No hot tub or swimming pool at this property.

Oh. They do have a computer on the second floor lobby for customer use but it was "down". I needed to print boarding passes and the front desk folks helped me do that on their computer. ALL of the employees we encountered were super friendly and helpful

This is not the nicest Comfort Inn we've stayed at, but the price and location worked well. Because of their undertaking a remodel, I'd book here again . . . and look forward to seeing the improvements.

Room Tip: For the next several months from the date of this posting, ask if a renovated room is available. In...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doval B, General Manager at Comfort Inn Metro Airport, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and on behalf of my Elite team and myself, it was a pleasure servicing your needs during your stay.

Even though we don't have renovated rooms until a month from now.....Each and every one of our rooms are IMMACULATE clean and home away from home type of feeling.

Hope to see you in the future and accommodate you with all your lodging needs. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Heights
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Had stopped staying here (I stay in hotels 2-3 nights per week) about 6 months ago because they were more of a parking business for the airport and not a hotel. They're in the process of cleaning the place up and remodeling. I can finally connect to the internet with ease, have ALOT of choices on the tv, and the lobby looks great. The 5th star will come after they replace the furniture and TV's in the rooms. Very friendly staff and a gracious general manager.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doval B, General Manager at Comfort Inn Metro Airport, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dan,

Thank you for reviewing our FIVE STAR ELITE SERVICE we offered you during your stay. This is what we do.....and our Elite team will go above and beyond all the time and always......BECAUSE WE CARE!

Glad that you enjoyed our 50 MG SPEED INTERNET/Comcast. And yes, we already began the multi million dollar renovation and every inch of this hotel will be brand new except for the mature, experienced, and "go above and beyond" type of mentality staff.

Hope to see you lodging with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I found nothing but nice, helpful people in my 4 day stay. They are doing a remodel as well and it is going to be NICE! Airport location was great, not in the engine noise flight path but close enough to watch the planes land and wonder how the heck they even get those things in the sky. They upgraded me to the Jacuzzi suite when my room wasn't ready, whereas the hotel I was in the week before made me sit around for 2 hours, like it takes that long to clean one room! Very satisfied. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doval B, General Manager at Comfort Inn Metro Airport, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
John,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our FIVE STAR ELITE SERVICE and we are happy you've experienced it first hand.

We look forward to accommodate your lodging needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I don't normally leave a comment...but I had to this time. I must say....I've stayed at lots of Comfort Inn properties.....by far... this one has the winning team running the show at this hotel.

It is the small things that they do that highlighted my stay. Everything that me and my wife requested was provided....and even more.

From me and my wife from Europe, I would like to say to the Comfort Inn Metro Airport: Thank you for the personal treatment and We will definitely come back and stay with you again.

Yours Truly,

Stein and Jill

Room Tip: Mention what you need and it will be provided. Just like that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doval B, General Manager at Comfort Inn Metro Airport, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Stein,

Thank you for lodging with us and glad to see you've experienced first hand our FIVE STAR CUSTOMER SERVICE. Personalized service is what we do best and will continue providing such service to maintain number one status in our guests eyes all the time.

Thanks again and looking forward to accommodating your lodging needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocoee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Don't stay here. The woman at the front desk yelled and lectured me and treats people terribly. The corridor to my room smelled musty and had a lot of stains. I asked to speak to the owner to complain about the woman at the front desk and after I talked to him nicely, he hung up on me. Not only that, This motel is so hard to find and it's in the middle of nowhere. Save your money and go anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doval B, General Manager at Comfort Inn Metro Airport, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Belindabell,

We strive to provide nothing BUT FIVE STAR ELITE SERVICE for our guests and our Front desk agents are equipped with the utmost knowledge...experience and respect to our guest as our motto at our hotel is to satisfy each guest and make sure they are fully satisfied.

My mgmt. company manages this hotel property and I don't know who you are referring to when you said " you spoke to the owner" because it is surreal due to the fact a board of directors over see this property.

There is an error down the line that I would love to resolve. Please give me a call at the hotel 734-326-2100 and ask for the GM and I will be more than happy to talk to you and make sure you are satisfied because this is what my staff and I do best "satisfy our guests."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Metro Airport

Address: 31800 Wick Road, Romulus, MI 48174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
#2 Family Hotel in Romulus
#2 Business Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Metro Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Metro Airport, a Romulus hotel one mile from Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport.The Comfort Inn(R) Metro Airport is conveniently located off Interstate 94.The hotel has recently completed a multi-million dollar hotel wide renovation. Each of our guestrooms feature free 50 MBS wireless hi-speed internet access, refrigerator, microwave, 40" HD flat screen TV's with over 60 channels. A free hot buffet breakfast from 4:00am-9:00am, free 24 hour airport shuttle, free local calls and newspapers. In addition some rooms feature whirlpool tubs. A free 24 hour state of the art Business Center and Fitness Center and a full service Restaurant,Bar are also available. The hotel was recently awarded a 2014 Cerificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor. Popular points of interest include the historic Greenfield Village,Henry Ford Museum,Ford Factory Tours, the Charles H. Wright Museum of African American History, the University of Michigan-Ann Arbor,Briarwood Mall,Southland Center,Eastern Michigan University,historic Greektown,Suburban Collection Showplace event facility and Belle Isle.This Romulus MI hotel is close to other area attractions, which include Cobo Conference / Exhibition Center (also known as the COBO Center), Comerica Park, Ford Field, Detroit Opera House, Joe Louis Arena, MotorCity Casino, MGM Grand Detroit Casino,Motown Museum and the Detroit Institute of Arts. There are meeting and banquet rooms available that accommodate up to 85 people, and include audio/visual equipment and an array of meeting support systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Metro Airport Hotel Romulus
Comfort Inn Romulus
Romulus Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Metro Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.