We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Sandwhiches & Apps, near DTW, Bar feel vs. Pub” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wheat & Rye

Wheat & Rye
7000 Merriman Raod, Romulus, MI 48174
734-729-0044
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 58 Restaurants in Romulus
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Big Sandwhiches & Apps, near DTW, Bar feel vs. Pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I was here with a female coworker while traveling on business. The food was good. The Macho Nachos and all their apps are huge. I think we finished less than half the nachos. Their burgers at 1/2 pound and the sandwhiches are huge as well (think almost as big as NY Deli big) but around $7 each. Good selection of beer with good service.

Decor was on the low end and the atmosphere didn't seemed geared towards women (small group and or a female traveler on their own). Dark, l don't remember many if any windows, very basic chairs, tables, beer signs, pool and bar games.

While the food was good and much of the place was food related it had a power drinking acceptable, locals place feel to it. I know my wife would walk in and walk out.

I liked it and felt comfortable and it would have gotten a 4 if it was a little cleaner. I am thinking of the female travelers that will read this.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    39
    8
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“AWESOME Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Not only does the food taste great, but the portions and prices are UNBEATABLE! I've been several times and I don't think I've ever had something that I didn't like. The atmosphere is fun and the drinks are great too! Highly reccomend!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

great food great portions and great price! a must!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bend, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beware”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Tried the wheat &rye on Visit to Detroit Airport. Staff was very good when asked if they could turn on the NHL Allstar game. Berr was cold but someone should have warned us about the size of their sandwiches. One is enough for two ordinary people? large portions so if you are hungry go for it. Food was not the greatest but not bad. Wings were a little undercooked and not up to my standards which when it comes to wings is very high.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, ON
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“COME HUNGRY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

This is not your typical restaurant. The food portions are MASSIVE and that is no joke. I had their ham sandwich on an onion bun and I could barely finish 1/2 of it. The service was very good. Can't expect super fast service on a Saturday evening with the place rammed to the rafters. Prices were very reasonable. My bill for 2 sandwiches, a couple sodas and 2 alcoholic beverages was under $30.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wheat & Rye also viewed

 

Been to Wheat & Rye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheat & Rye, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.