We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport to your Saves list
Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9095 Wickham Rd, Romulus, MI 48174 (Formerly Red Roof Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Northville, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Small room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The room was reserved as a superior king. The size was incredibly small with barely enough room to fit the desk chair between the desk and the beeen the desk and the bed. Very uncomfortable and movement difficult.

Room Tip: Sorry....I cannot recommend this property. It does not come close to comparing to other properties u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    7
    13
    8
See reviews for
10
13
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, ON
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This Red Roof is very convenient to the DTW airport. It also has a park and fly option where guests can leave their car at the hotel and take a shuttle to the airport. That is good. The bad is that it is SOOO convenient to the airport, it sounds like the planes are going to fly right through your window as they take off. That was bad. The toilet in our room was stopped up. That was bad. The girl at the desk was very helpful in getting the maintenance man there to fix it. That was good. The room was clean. That was good. The room had old mattresses and needed updating. That was bad. The staff was helpful, the wake-up call came through on time and the shuttle got us to the terminal in 5 minutes. That was good. Did I mention the planes, oh and the trains that also blew their whistles and the cars you could hear in the parking lot... not so good. If you need an affordable place to try to sleep before a flight, it`s OK, if you need a good night sleep, get further away from the end of the runway.

Room Tip: It might help to get a room facing away from the airport, ours faced it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

No remote for the TV to be found. Took about an hour to get one. Whle trying to find it, made the mistake of looking behind the furniture. Can't unsee the crud! Toilet paper holder hardware was filthy. Bedspread was soiled. Was glad I only had to be there 1 night. Just not clean or modern feeling. Staff was indifferent.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Who would hire someone with pink hair? In they not professional at all she need to really work on her attitude.in she told me that it would be biscuit pancakes etc for breakfast it wasn't I needed more towels n she would not give it to me I will not return here until she is gone

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is not the first time we used a "Park, Sleep, Fly" hotel before a major trip, but it was our first stay at this Red Roof Inn. On the plus side, the lady who staffed the front desk was friendly and efficient. There was nothing lacking in our check-in process.
The room was very adequate for the one-night stay, though it was definitely low budget. Though continental breakfast was advertised, we found out that it wasn't served until after six, and we had to leave the hotel to catch our plane at six, so it's unfortunate that there isn't some accommodation for early flights, as I don't think it's unusual for businessmen, especially, to be up and out early. What we could see of the eating area, though, was pretty unimpressive, though I'm comparing it to other hotels in the same block. Also, judging by the limited counter space, I don't think there would have been lots of breakfast options.
While there was nothing terribly wrong with this Red Roof, I would opt to stay somewhere else, even for the extra five to ten dollars it would have cost.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband I came to town for the Jr. Olympics I am use to staying in a different hotel chain, they were booked as well as many others. I booked the Red Roof in Romulus relunctantly, but to my surprise the hotel was clean, the room was great and the staff were exceptional, friendly and professional. It us located close to highway so going to and fro was easy. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I came in last week 3/28/13 and did the park sleep and fly package first of all it was a great price, the rooms where very clean, and the staff was awesome,the front desk clerk Laurie that check me in was really great and friendly she really help us out, she had check us in pretty fast and explained everything very well when we return back and after we where check in she called us and ask us if we needed a wake up call she for got to ask us at the desk i thought that was very sweet because i forgot to ask her so it work out well i will be coming back to stay there again. thanks again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonya m, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Travler,

Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay with us at the Redroof Inn in Romulus, MI. We truly appreciate your business. We know how many options you have when choosing a place to meet your lodging needs and we're glad that you chose us. Please keep us in mind for any of your future lodging needs it would be our pleasure to serve you again.

Tonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport

Address: 9095 Wickham Rd, Romulus, MI 48174 (Formerly Red Roof Inn)
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Detroit Airport, Red Roof Romulus is just 1 mile from I-94, near exit 198 (Merriman Road.) We’re close to all the big city attractions of Detroit, Ann Arbor, and Lansing, but we have our own smaller town charm and fun things to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Detroit Metro Airport - Romulus Hotel Romulus
America's Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn Romulus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.