We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great workingmans place to camp” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Detroit - Metropolitan Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Detroit - Metropolitan Airport to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Metropolitan Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30325 Flynn Drive, Romulus, MI 48174   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great workingmans place to camp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

This is an excellent place to stay if you need to be away from home for a length of time. Full size fridge, cooktop, microwave, excelent front desk service, pretty good bed/linen and accomodating housekeeping are very helpful for the odd hours worker. Dan the maintenance man is a friendly and quick bundle of problem fixing energy. I have stayed here for most of 4 months and my biggest complaint is that thely dont have foxsports detroit, so I can't watch the Tigers play. All the staff is friendly and helpful even when I come "home" from work @8am and am not at my social best.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Robert,

Thank you for your positive comments on your stay at our Extended Stay America Detroit Metro Airport. It’s great to hear feedback like yours that our product was such a great fit. Thank you for sharing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    16
    7
    8
    9
See reviews for
7
8
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Nice place , Dan the (mant man) was very helpful ,I think he can fix anything.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for your positive review and thank you for your business. I am so happy Dan was able to assist you. He is indeed a very handy maintenance engineer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I travel for work. I usually stay in these type of hotels. This hotel was clean and for the most part peaceful. I felt very safe, The management and staff went over and beyond to make my stay as comfortable as possible. Maintenance man Daniel Betterly, saw to any problem or concern as quickly as i spoke of them. I was here about 5 mo. If I have to be in the area again.... I just hope they have room for me.

Thank u

Room Tip: Get a king size!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. It is always great to hear that our staff is going above and beyond. That is wonderful to hear! We appreciate your business and thank you again for your sharing your comments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I love the Extended Stay America Detroit- Metropolitan Airport! When we need a great weekend get away or my family or friends come in town to visit, we stay at the Extended Stay America Detroit- Metropolitan Airport! The staff is always warm and friendly. The manager is marvelous!!! The rooms are always clean and well stocked. The room service and front desk service is very helpful, and make you feel right at home. I recommend this Extended Stay America to everyone visiting the Detroit Metropolitan Airport Area! This Extened Stay America is an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for your great comments on our Extended Stay America - Metro Airport. It's great to hear our hotel is your go to hotel. We appreciate your continued business. Thank you for your compliments; they are very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I understand budget hotels, but this hotel is below budget. The hotel is conveniently just off I-94 minutes from the Detroit Metro Airport. I think that the area may be a bit shady, as there are bold warnings in the parking lot providing advice not to put anything valuable in your vehicle. Check in was smooth and the hallways were respectable as was the elevator. What was strange was that many of the rooms on the 2nd floor (where I was staying), had their doors ajar - almost like they were inviting company in. Weird. When I entered my room, that's when it started to go downhill. There was unflushed urine in the toilet in my room. The bed was very small and uncomfortable. The kitchenette cupboards had dirty marks all over (I'm sure it hadn't been cleaned in weeks or perhaps longer). There was no shampoo in the bathroom - you had to wash your hair with soap. No wakeup calls provided....the response from the front desk: "We're not set up for wake up calls". There are many people on this site rating this hotel as 4 or 5 star. I guess that would make the Westin Detroit Airport a 17 star. I got this hotel at a cheap price, but I paid for it in a sheer creeped out uncomfortable and unclean stay (I slept in my clothes). Moral of the story: Fess up a few more bucks and stay somewhere more respectable. It just isn't worth it

Room Tip: As you are walking in, turn around and walk out (now this a REAL tip for this hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience at Extended Stay America Detroit - Metropolitan Airport. Providing for your total satisfaction, from the moment you arrive to the moment you depart, is my staff's primary duty. Hearing that we failed in your case is truly disheartening, and for that, I offer you my sincerest apology.

Please understand that we maintain strict quality control standards, which demand that every room is inspected prior to guests' arrival. Clearly there was a failure in our system during your stay. In response to your comments, I’ve personally met with all of our staff and used your review to demonstrate the specific areas in which we can improve.

Let me assure you that your experience is certainly not typical, and that we have put in place measures to ensure that the type of stay you had won't be repeated. Again, I apologize and promise you that we are committed to your total satisfaction. If there is anything you would like to discuss further with me or our guest relations team, please don't hesitate to contact us by visiting our website and clicking on the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope you will give us the honor of having you as a guest again if future travels will bring you into our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Besides maintenance knocking on the door, no real complaints... A little worn, but overall, worth it...

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at our Airport location. I'm sorry that our maintenance engineer knocked on your door and disturbed you. That is certainly not our policy and something I will address with the staff. Thank you for your feedback as it helps us improve our operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

During a very difficult time with our house & dealing with insurance company and contractors, we found ourselves living at the Extended Stay America Detroit - Metropolitan Airport for 11 months and 3 days!!

This stay, which in most peoples minds, would have been a stressful situation but it turned out to be just the oppposite due to the fact that the staff did everything above and beyond what was needed for our comfort. Professional yet personable, always ready to listen to our "house" stories and they became like a second family to us. I would truly recommend the Extended Stay America to anyone. Thanks to everyone at ESA. Louise Bonham

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Extended Stay America Detroit - Metropolitan Airport. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. We strive to provide a "home away from home" experience for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or 11 months and 3 days. It sounds like we were able to do just that for you, and we are truly honored for your recognition.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Detroit - Metropolitan Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Detroit - Metropolitan Airport

Address: 30325 Flynn Drive, Romulus, MI 48174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Extended Stay America - Detroit - Metropolitan Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Extended Stay, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Extended Stay America - Detroit - Metropolitan Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romulus Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Detroit - Metropolitan Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.