We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay before flying” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7680 Merriman Road, Romulus, MI 48174 (Formerly La Quinta Inn )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Overnight stay before flying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This Holiday Inn is new and comfortable. The beds are comfortable and we found the hotel quiet. This was our second stay in 2015. We stay and use the parking and shuttle at the lot across the street. Convenient and timely. Would recommend with no issues.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    30
    14
    2
    6
See reviews for
14
27
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I normally rave about HI Express, but not this one. First off, the one woman working the front desk was EXTREMELY SLOW, and I mean slow. We had to wait almost 20 minutes to check in. After a 3 hour drive, this is the last thing I wanted to do. The elevator was horrible dirty and well the room, eh, not much to say. Sorry HI, I would tell people to skip this hotel and stay at Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: ask to stay closer to elevator, or your walking a long way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hello Matt S,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review providing us with your thoughts regarding your experience at our hotel. We would like to apologize that check in seemed to have taken longer than expected. I do see that you checked in late in the evening around our peak check in time, even during this time we like to provide each guest with our undivided assistance. In regards to the elevator, we strive to keep our facility clean and up to date. Common areas such as the elevators are cleaned each day by our housekeeping staff. If anything requires immediate attention throughout the day we encourage that it be brought to our attention as we are more than happy to attend to it. We appreciate your feedback and will remain hopeful of another opportunity to accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First, let me say that I only stay at holiday inn for work travel and have never asked to change rooms. I travel at least 3 times a month and this review really has nothing to do with the staff or the rooms. Both were very nice, newer and updated but the hotel design, you can literally hear everything. I tried from 11pm to 3 am to go to sleep but you could hear every noise, people walking down the halls, the elevator dinging, and yes, the couple next door if you get my drift. I finally moved rooms at 3 am to be awakened again at 4:30 by a crying baby. I am not a light sleeper but you could literally hear all of this like it was happening in your room. Stay at the holiday inn up the street to avoid all of this, never had a problem there

Room Tip: Never by the elevator if you must stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello Clm20032014,

Thank you for your loyalty as an IHG Rewards Club Gold member and for consistently choosing to stay at IHG hotels. I am very sorry that your stay fell short of your expectations due to noise disturbances from other guest rooms. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention prior to departing from the hotel. We always appreciate having the chance to listen to our guest feedback first hand and having the opportunity to take care of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Thomas, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

This Hotel is very clean and up to date. We are a family of five and the room we had was wonderfully spacious! The breakfast was excellent and the staff friendly. We do have one complaint, though our room was lovely, clean, beds comfortable we were beside the Electrical Room and Sprinkler System. Every 10 minutes you would hear a loud whoosh like a plane taking off. Unfortunately there were no other rooms so my husband and I did not get much sleep. Other than that I would highly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not beside an maintenance room of any kind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello Wendy F,

Thank you for your delightful feedback! We pride ourselves on keeping our hotel clean and up to date and appreciate your recognition. It seems as though you had a room near the elevator and I am very sorry that noise proved to be a downfall of your stay as a result of your room location. We do hope that you choose our hotel for accommodations again and encourage that you leave a request for your room location as we do our very best to meet room requests/preferences prior to check in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Stayed the night prior to flying to the Caribbean. Rooms are outstanding with more than adequate lighting (rare) and entire place was clean and well appointed. Park and fly parking is immediately behind the hotel and is a real plus!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, responded to this review, March 16, 2015
Hello Mike P,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your experience at our hotel. We love to hear that the park & fly package proved to be a highlight of your stay and that you enjoyed the convenience of the secured parking at Qwik Park. We hope that you had a great time during your trip to the Caribbean and that you keep us in mind next time you fly out of the Detroit Metro airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

I was stuck in Detroit because United canceled my flight. They gave me a hotel to choose and I picked this hotel, because the other was too far away.

The shuttle picked me up in about 5 minutes. He went right to the hotel. The driver was very friendly.

I got to the hotel around 12:45 am. The front desk had 2 people, a woman and a man. The woman was really nice, personable, etc. The man was very business and/or really tired.

The lobby looked nice. I was checked in quickly and went to my room. The hotel looked as if it was recently remodeled. The room was fantastic. Very clean, comfortable, easy clock, easy thermostat. The bathroom was nicer than some more upscale hotels I have stayed in. There was free Wi-Fi and free bottled water in the room.

I fell right asleep. I left at 4:30 am to catch my flight. When I checked out, much to my surprise, the man was still at the front desk. Still very business and still seemed tired.

The driver was prompt, helpful, friendly, etc.

If I was back in the area, I absolutely would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, responded to this review, March 16, 2015
Hello Robert S,

Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your experience. I am happy to hear that each aspect of your stay combined, created an overall excellent experience. We will look forward to having you as a guest again if you return to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

We have stayed at this hotel everytime we fly out of DTW. It is always clean and fresh looking. Large parking company is located just behind the property so it makes it very easy to park your vehical and catch a ride back to the hotel. You receive a coupon for 8 days of parking. Our only disappointment this past time was that we were on the ground floor and the people above us sounded like they were bouncing a basketball most of the night. Didn't sleep much.

Room Tip: This was our first time on the ground floor, in the future I would ask for a higher room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport

Address: 7680 Merriman Road, Romulus, MI 48174 (Formerly La Quinta Inn )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are traveling for business, leisure or a family fun filled vacation, here at the Holiday Inn Express Detroit Metro Airport we have got what you're looking for! Our amenities include free WIFI throughout the entire hotel, hot Express Start Breakfast, fitness center, business center, guest laundry and a sundry shop where you can refresh with snacks and beverages! Guest rooms are equipped with 32" flat screen TV's perfect for lounging around and relaxing, microwaves and mini refrigerators along with Bath and Body Works shower essentials. If you are looking to hold a small meeting/gathering we offer a 10 person max board room for rent based on availability. Due to our close proximity to DTW we offer a wonderful park stay and go package for our traveling guests! Our package includes your one night stay at the hotel along with 8 days free parking in Qwik Park;which is located directly behind our hotel. We provide a 24/7 service shuttle to and from the airport which is operated by Qwik Park. Shuttle pick up and drop at DTW is located at ground transportation level approximately every 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Detroit Airport Romulus Hotel Romulus
La Quinta Romulus
Romulus La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.