We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7680 Merriman Road, Romulus, MI 48174 (Formerly La Quinta Inn )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Just Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I guess if you are staying near the airport for a day or two, this hotel will work just fine. The breakfast is good (standard for HIE), with those yummy cinnamon rolls, and there is room service. The room I was in was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Also, right next door are several places to eat (Beirut Lebanese, Subway, Grill, a Chinese place) and down the street is Big Boy, which is a major plus since so many of the airport hotels have nothing to eat in walking distance. There is also a room with three computers where you can print your boarding passes or use the Internet for 30 minutes. There were many electric outlets and you can connect your gadgets to the TV on a wall panel, which is cool. Some of the furniture is modular and can be moved around. However, I can't imagine staying in the hotel for several days!

Firstly, the staff were not friendly or welcoming. There wasn't a single question I asked about the hotel services or surrounding area that was answered sufficiently. The responses were usually "I don't knows" and "let me ask the manager tomorrow" (of course no one ever got back to me). This includes basic questions like "where is the nearest gas station?", "how long does it take to get clothes dry cleaned and where/when should I drop it off?", "do you have xxx in your pantry shop?", etc. When I checked in and visited the front desk more than once, not one person informed me that the water would be cut off in the hotel - they did call me 1/2 hour beforehand to mention it and said there had been a sign near the front desk, but I never noticed it. Water being cut off is something you should verbally tell your guests so they can make arrangements ahead of time!! In short, they need major training in customer service as well as orientation to their own hotel and surroundings - especially the person who has the night shifts.

The hallways were all smelly (in one there was a sign saying wet floor so maybe it was wet carpet, in another it was a subtle chemical smell, in another it was just musty). Although it was nice that the bed had lots of different pillows of varying levels of firmness, I was irritated by the chemical smell of whatever they use to wash the towels and sheets and ended up covering my pillow with clothes to avoid the smell. The TV had only about 30+ channels. Although you can't hear any airport sounds, you can hear everything in the hallway including kids yelling and running and people talking (depending on your luck, this could go on late into the night depending on when people come and go from the airport). There's also only one coin washer and dryer in the laundry room.

I've stayed in many of the hotels around DTW and this hotel was just fine, but not spectacular in any way - I guess that's what it was meant to be.

Room Tip: The double queen rooms are great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hello Anonymoustravel,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for providing us with feedback on your stay. We have very high standards for cleanliness and do our best to make each stay is as comfortable as possible for our guests. Thank you for providing us with the many highlights you enjoyed about your stay including the complimentary hot breakfast with our delicious cinnamon rolls, connectivity with multiple outlets for your electronic needs and many convenient restaurant options within walking distance. We are very disappointed that our water repairs proved to be an inconvenience during your stay as that was never our plan. Along with the notices at the front desk and throughout the hotel, our staff was informing guests to make sure each guest was aware as they checked in. We apologize if you were not made aware and did not notice the signs posted as we understand that it is not very pleasant to receive such information in a short notice. Our goal was to get the repairs completed at a reasonable time while taking into consideration that our guests generally shower early morning before heading out or late in the evening before bed. Fortunately, the repairs were completed in just a few hours, shorter than we expected. We are sorry if you felt the staff did not acquire the information you requested. Each of our front desk representatives are trained to be knowledgeable and to answer any questions you may have about the hotel and our surrounding area. If there is any information we do not have, we are always happy to find the requested information for you. We pride ourselves on providing all guests with excellent customer service and apologize if you experienced anything less!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    30
    14
    2
    6
See reviews for
14
27
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Ohio
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I have been trying different hotels in the Detroit area in an attempt to find a nice and clean hotel, preferably in the IHG chain to receive points during my stay - The HIE- Romulus/Detroit Airport is NOT it!

When driving to the hotel, the hotel was easy to find and easy to access from the highway.

When I arrived, the front desk did not have my room ready for quick check-in. They also could not find my reservation. I showed the front desk employees the text on my phone that I received after booking the room through the IHG website that proved I did have a reservation at this hotel and they were then able to give me a room.

When I first entered my room, I was impressed as it seemed updated and clean, but first impressions may often be deceiving...

Immediately upon inspection of the beds (this room had two beds), I found a pillow that appeared to have a blood stain and I also found several strands of hair on the bed. With further inspection, I found a dozen or more stands of hair.
From past experience at IHG hotels, I know moving to other rooms provides little to no improvement in cleanliness, so I removed the strands of hair from the beds and placed them on the pillow that had the possible blood stain and just stayed in this room.

Other issues - the toilet seat was missing the supports under the seat on one side.

I mentioned these issues to the person at the front desk when I checked-out, but he seemed to not care and said to take a business card and tell the manager.

Due to the unclean room and the front desk issues at check-in and unhelpful / unfriendly employee at check-out, I highly suggest not staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel with clean rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Mike E,

Please accept our sincerest apologizes for any issues you encountered during your stay. We will be contacting you personally to discuss this matter further. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, this is not acceptable; we want you along with other guests to know that you can feel comfortable enough to come and speak with any of our staff members at any time during your stay, especially when it is an issue below our standards. We look forward to speaking with you and hope that this issue can be resolved, as we would love to welcome you back as a guest in the future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsville, ON
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel last weekend for two nights while we were in Michigan for the NASCAR race. We booked a couple months (and paid) in advance and got a great deal that way. We were thrilled with the location so near the main highway, the ample parking allowing us to find a place where our vehicle was visible from the room. The staff was wonderful and friendly, including the housekeeping staff - we met the head of housekeeping outside when we were getting ready to leave and she was genuinely sad to see us go and wanted to know if everything was ok with our room. She was great. On that note, the room was clean and we had everything we needed. One of the window curtains was torn but that would be the only thing that was wrong in our room and that was nothing that impaired our enjoyment of our stay. We loved the fact that rooms had a fridge and a microwave and this came in very handy for us. We also loved the breakfast and took advantage of that both mornings we were there...I especially loved the cinnamon buns!!!! We will definitely stay at this hotel again when we return to the area...we would even consider looking into the park and fly option as we are looking into flying out of the nearby airport next time we have the need. The QuickPark is right behind this hotel, has a free airport shuttle, and others commenting in their reviews seem to be really happy with the package that this hotel offers so worth looking into. Bottom line...we recommend this Romulus hotel and would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Hello Lisa O,

What a great event that brought you here to stay with us! We are delighted to have had the chance to accommodate you during a nice weekend trip and hope you enjoyed the NASCAR Race. It is great to hear about your encounter with our housekeeping manager, she cleans the hotel as if it is her own home! We appreciate your recognition of or staff and all of your kind feedback. We hope to see you again when your ready to take advantage of our parking package.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOWE
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I purchased park and fly deal. The price was very good considering that the parking is adjacent, you got a voucher for QuickPark parking lot. Very convenient. Cannot be better arrangement. This property is recently (fully) renovated Country Inn (I think). Last year hotel was under a full re-construction. The result is very good. You do not feel being in older hotel, everything is new. To my surprise, the night was quiet, without airport/airplane noise. Well, air conditioning might be quieter, but bring your ear-plugs, or turn it off. Everything else was great: The front desk girl was very pleasant. Breakfast good as in any other HI-s. I will be back to this hotel any time I have to fly from DTW.

Room Tip: Maybe room at the back side of the hotel is more quiet, no street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hello HoweDZZY,

Thank you so much for completing your review. We are glad you found the parking package to be of value and convenience. We aim to help create an easy & stress free experience for travelers prior to their flight out of the Detroit Metro Airport & from the looks of it , we have been a success! We appreciate the confirmation of your return to our hotel and will be looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Room was clean and with the sleep, park, and fly package one night stay covered parking at qwik park for 8 days with shuttle service to the airport. Close to several places to grab a bite to eat before heading out of town on a trip.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Jack C,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay at our hotel. It is our pleasure to provide guests with a clean, comfortable and convenient stay. We are glad our parking package accommodated your traveling needs and hope to have you as a guest next time your in the Romulus Detroit Metro Airport area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is fine and in a central location. Bed was good and hotel overall fine. The employees however were borderline rude and unattentive. Don't need anyone to be sugary sweet, just pleasant and versed in customer service.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Kelly R,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel. We are delighted you chose our hotel to accommodate you during your travels. We want all of our guests to feel welcomed as if they are at home when they stay with us and are greatly disappointed you felt otherwise. We are truly sorry you felt any of our staff were less than pleasant as that is just unacceptable. We would appreciate if you would kindly contact us directly regarding your stay. We will look forward to hearing from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Flying out in the morning so we booked a park and stay package with the Holiday Inn Express. Pretty slick!!! Booked in advance. Checked into the room. Dropped off luggage. Took car to parking (Kwik Park) for 8 days included with price of room. In morning caught early shuttle at front door and it took us right to the departure terminal. When we came home the shuttle picked us up at the same place as they dropped us off and took us right to our car. Simple!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Detroitjb,

We are so thrilled to hear that our park and fly package made your travels at the Detroit Metro Airport simple and stress free! We appreciate the time spent reviewing our hotel and thank you for all of the terrific compliments! We look forward to servicing you next time you are flying out of the Detroit Metro Airport.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport

Address: 7680 Merriman Road, Romulus, MI 48174 (Formerly La Quinta Inn )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are traveling for business, leisure or a family fun filled vacation, here at the Holiday Inn Express Detroit Metro Airport we have got what you're looking for! Our amenities include free WIFI throughout the entire hotel, hot Express Start Breakfast, fitness center, business center, guest laundry and a sundry shop where you can refresh with snacks and beverages! Guest rooms are equipped with 32" flat screen TV's perfect for lounging around and relaxing, microwaves and mini refrigerators along with Bath and Body Works shower essentials. If you are looking to hold a small meeting/gathering we offer a 10 person max board room for rent based on availability. Due to our close proximity to DTW we offer a wonderful park stay and go package for our traveling guests! Our package includes your one night stay at the hotel along with 8 days free parking in Qwik Park;which is located directly behind our hotel. We provide a 24/7 service shuttle to and from the airport which is operated by Qwik Park. Shuttle pick up and drop at DTW is located at ground transportation level approximately every 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Detroit Airport Romulus Hotel Romulus
La Quinta Romulus
Romulus La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.