We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Upgrade” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7680 Merriman Road, Romulus, MI 48174 (Formerly La Quinta Inn )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Swanton, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice Upgrade”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here several times when it was a La Quinta property. New décor is nice. Better quality furnishings, more inviting lobby, breakfast area. Comfortable beds. Check in was quick and smooth. The early morning clerk was cheerful. She worked the previous property and was a wise choice to bring back. Checkout was also smooth. We used the Park and Ride for one of the rooms paying for our week of parking at QuikPark. The other room was a lower AAA rate.
Only disappointment was the pancake maker was not working (apparently for 2 days according to the attendant) Would have gotten an excellent rating but I was looking forward to pancakes before a long flight. Staying here with the QuikPark services is a hassle free way to use DTW.
We will be back in the future and look forward to the pancake machine working...If you have an early flight and need parking for the week the room pays for the parking/parking pays for the room. Shuttles are always there quickly since the parking is behind the hotel. During vacation times parking at the airport can be a pain driving through the garage looking for a spot.

Room Tip: Park in the lot in front of the hotel and move to QuikPark the next morning if you need 8 days of pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Russell G,

We greatly appreciate that you have stayed a loyal guest of ours through our transition to a Holiday Inn Express! It is a delight to have such positive feedback on our new renovations. We are sorry to hear that you were unable to utilize the pancake maker during your stay while enjoying our complimentary hot breakfast. Unfortunately, being new equipment we have had general maintenance issues and we do apologize for the inconvenience. However, the pancake maker has been working well recently as it should be. We look forward to being able to accommodate you next time on your trip out of the Romulus Detroit Metro Airport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    30
    14
    2
    6
See reviews for
14
27
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LaSalle, Canada
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

When we travel by plane we have always stayed the night before travelling on Merriman Road and booked a park and fly hotel. Our hotel of choice has changed hands and it moved a few miles down the road... but in it's place is now the Holiday Inn Express, on Merriman Road and it is located directly in front of the Quik Park short/long term parking lot. As we travel 3 to 7 times a year we got to watch the former La Quinta Hotel gradually change into the new Holiday Inn Express.... the hotel is great, new, fresh and clean. The rooms are fresh, clean and large... king bed rooms or 2 queens, both with small fridge and microwave. We have never had a bad room here - either before the name change or after. The park and fly package here is very reasonable, and for the cost of the room for the night you get 8 days parking behind the hotel at the Quik Park - it is a great value. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and you can get a free hot/cold breakfast in the lobby/dining area starting at 5:30 AM. Unfortunately our flights always require us to leave the hotel before 5 AM to get to the airport.... I would like to see them change it to "continental breakfast" (grab and go coffee and donut or pastry) between 4AM and 5:30AM and then the regular "hot or cold" breakfast after 5:30AM to help the early morning travellers. Just a thought, but staying there is not a mistake, it is a very nice venue.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but if you want a quite room get one on the 3rd floor, then if someone checks in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Bonnie G.,

Thank you for being a loyal returning customer. We love the idea of being able to provide a grab and go breakfast earlier than our 5:30 AM hot breakfast; we do take all suggestions into consideration, as it is our mission to make every guest feel at home. We are glad to hear you enjoy our very convenient park and fly package; we do our best to make traveling stress free and a huge part of that is knowing your vehicle will be safe and secured while you are gone, whether it be for business or pleasure! We can not wait to have the pleasure of consistently providing the best service we can to you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Well placed for doing business around the airport, I was most impressed with the attention to detail exhibited by the friendly housekeeping staff. The bed was a little hard, but the room was comfortable, the wifi strong, and I had a good experience staying there for 2 days.
The only issue I would cite was that there was an unruly guest staying near me, probably the same one Allan B referenced in his negative review, as our stays overlapped.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Sandra F.,

Thank you so much for taking time to complete our survey; we enjoy to hear our guests feedback! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the amenities we have to offer. Our whole staff aims to please each and everyone of our guests! We are sorry to hear that one of our guests caused so many others inconvenience . We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you next time you are in the Romulus Detroit Metro Airport area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Checked in on Fri 14th June.
At night when we went to bed there sounded like there was a party going on in room above us, phoned reception 3 times to complain and I had to go to reception to complain again where the receptionist told us there was no one in room above us, I actually went up myself to find room number and there was a lot of noise coming from room, I went back down to tell receptionist she was trying to phone wrong room number, she told me she would phone the room I got no apology, when I got back to my room the noise was not as bad but they were still making a noise, I never complained again as it didn't seem to make any difference whether I did or not. will not stay at this hotel again or will I recommend it

Room Tip: Will not recommend this hotel to anyone
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Allan B,

Thank you very much for sharing your candid feedback regarding your stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who strive every day to create special experiences one guest at a time and I am truly sorry we did not manage this for you. Please accept our sincere apology for the noise challenges you experienced during your stay. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our services continually. Rest assured that your input will be shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The hotel is new. All rooms are very pleasant clean and bright. Easy access to hotel right off MERRIMAN rd. Staff is friendly and very informative. Also important us they are pet friendly. No charge.we have stayed here three times in recent months the last just May 2, 2013.
Great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear yayablades,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express Detroit Metro Airport. We are newly renovated and are pleased to hear you enjoyed our clean, bright rooms. We aim to please and love making every guest feel right at home; including the pets! We can not wait to have the pleasure of providing you with the same friendly staff in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslett, Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We have used this hotel many times to stay the night before an early morning flight out of Detroit Metro Airport. This hotel was previously the La Quinta. The hotel was completely remodeled in 2012. It is a basic hotel but the rooms are clean, the staff are friendly and helpful, it is right next door to Qwik Park (red shuttles). The room comes with a voucher for seven or eight days of parking at Qwik Park, and it is only five to ten minutes to the terminals. We generally park at the hotel for the night before and then go to park the car at Qwik Park in the morning. We have found that it is quicker to park the car in the morning and then get picked up immediately by the shuttle than it is to wait at the hotel for the shuttle if you park the car at Qwik Park the evening before. This also saves one day of parking on the voucher. Qwik Park has always provided good service. The wait at the airport for the shuttle on the return trip is generally only a few minutes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear rich069_11,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had originally booked this when it was a La Quinta but on arrival we found it had recently changed to a Holiday Inn Express. What a fantastic place to stay before a flight out of DTW. They have an incredible 8 day parking package (great price) and the Qwik Park is right beside the hotel. We parked at the hotel that night and in the morning just drove next door to park and get the shuttle to the airport. The hotel rooms are lovely and seem to be recently redecorated. They have a great breakfast in the morning and the staff is very friendly. We will definitely be staying at this hotel before our next flight out of DTW.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExDTW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and taking time to leave your kind comments! I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our Park and Fly Package. As you mentioned, we did indeed just complete a $2 Million renovation of our hotel. I am very pleased you love the new look and feel of our hotel! We always value your comments and greatly aprpeciate them! I hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Chris Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport

Address: 7680 Merriman Road, Romulus, MI 48174 (Formerly La Quinta Inn )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are traveling for business, leisure or a family fun filled vacation, here at the Holiday Inn Express Detroit Metro Airport we have got what you're looking for! Our amenities include free WIFI throughout the entire hotel, hot Express Start Breakfast, fitness center, business center, guest laundry and a sundry shop where you can refresh with snacks and beverages! Guest rooms are equipped with 32" flat screen TV's perfect for lounging around and relaxing, microwaves and mini refrigerators along with Bath and Body Works shower essentials. If you are looking to hold a small meeting/gathering we offer a 10 person max board room for rent based on availability. Due to our close proximity to DTW we offer a wonderful park stay and go package for our traveling guests! Our package includes your one night stay at the hotel along with 8 days free parking in Qwik Park;which is located directly behind our hotel. We provide a 24/7 service shuttle to and from the airport which is operated by Qwik Park. Shuttle pick up and drop at DTW is located at ground transportation level approximately every 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Detroit Airport Romulus Hotel Romulus
La Quinta Romulus
Romulus La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.