We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9191 Wickham Road, Romulus, MI 48174-1904 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #20 of 25 hotels in Romulus
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Family Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Place needs updating, but staff was accommodating; needs a bit of soundproofing as you can hear in the other rooms. Breakfast buffet area well run by what looked like a one man team out front. Kudos to Ivan and anyone he had helping in the wings during our July 12th thru 14th stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your review. Your comments have been forwarded to the breakfast staff and are truly appreciated. Ivan takes great pride in his job and we are thankful to have him as part of our team. We look forward to your next stay here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    48
    58
    50
    48
See reviews for
80
43
24
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Hotel was clean and friendly.Room was very nicely decorated. Only complain I have is the bathroom {tub and toilet in one room } very small had to stand over toilet to close the door. Breakfast had a lot of choices and fresh.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and provide us with your feedback. We look forward to serving your hospitality needs again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheboygan, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

It was great to arrive and spend the overnight, have a safe place to leave our car and quick shuttle to the airport in the morning. Very convenient in that regard! The hotel rooms were pretty average even though the lobby is impressive. But it was all you would need for a quick airport stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments and look forward to serving your future vacation needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I was hesitant about staying here but it was the hotel choice for our family reunion. The hotel is quite dated, but the staff was nice at check in and changed our room because we didn't want to be near the pool exit. There were two family reunion groups and a baseball team present that weekend. I dreaded taking my kids down to breakfast and almost skipped it and ran to a nearby McDonalds. I am so grateful I took them. The man handling breakfast (Ivan) was one of the best hotel employees I have ever encountered. He kept the area/tables clean. Kept the food stocked. Helped some of the smaller children there with their waffles. Ran back into the kitchen to make a fresh pot of decaf for a guest per request and when some of the older people didn't want to use the plastic silverware, he went to the restaurant to get them real silverware. I understand that part of an employees job at a hotel is service, however, I have been to some really nice hotels where the employees get overwhelmed and clearly annoyed by too many requests when they are busy. Best Western should consider promoting him to some sort of trainer of all hotel staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have forwarded your comments to our breakfast staff as well. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed here one night before catching a morning flight home. Room was small and clean. Breakfast was generous for a hotel. It's not often that I see eggs and sausage on a continental breakfast.

The hotel is within one or two exits on the highway of the airport so it didn't take long to get to the rental car return area from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were sent here after missing a flight on Delta. The building is very run down so I was suspect from the beginning. The carpet in the hallway to our room was filthy. It truly looked as if it had not been vacuumed in a very long time. Our room was also disgusting. There was about an inch of dust around the edges of the room, there was a tooth pick on the floor and dirt in the sink. We went to the front desk and the staff was pleasant and moved us to another room. The new room was slightly better smelling and was only missing a light bulb. We should have left. I cannot recall staying at a dirtier place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I sincerely apologize for the experience that you had. This is not the typical experience we provide to our guests. Please contact me directly the next time you are in the area and I will be happy to personally assist you in your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Rooms are getting a little tired, we were off the main building and the rooms and corridors were a little more run down. By the looks of the carpet in the main area they are replacing and upgrading, a bit overdue. Still it is cheap and an ok place to stay before flying out of DTW. We have always found the shuttle to be prompt both ways.

Room Tip: Get one off the main hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. There have been many upgrades and changes done since your stay and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport

Address: 9191 Wickham Road, Romulus, MI 48174-1904 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 hotels in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.