We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31800 Smith Road, Romulus, MI 48174   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, good service, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I recently stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn for the first time, and was pleasantly surprised. Having spent most my stays in Michigan either at the Westin (DTW) or in the outlying suburbs, I decided it was time to try something new. My rating is in relation to other value chains.

Pros: Great service in the dining area, especially in the morning (kudos to Dennis!). Food was the biggest surprise for me, good selection and prepared nicely. Lobby area is small but not cramped, nicely appointed and functional for check-in, dining, or a beer/wine. Rooms were decent size, and good selection of tv channels (LCD). Workout area had nice equipment (but maintenance not so great, see below).

Cons: Maintenance in general. Only one elevator was functional during my stay, which created long wait times (but easily cured for me by taking stairs). Not a large issue in itself but noteworthy as it seems thematic for this hotel. The gym needed attention as both treadmills seemed inoperable and the eliptical was missing a handle (which another guest said had been the case for one month). The climate control in my room was functional, but slightly loud for a wall mounted unit. Speaking of noise, if you're an extremely light sleeper (not myself), you may focus on the incoming planes as this location is directly in the flight path and the windows do not seem adequately designed for the location. Last but not least in my book, the water pressure in the shower was equivalent to a watering can.

In Summary: Great value for one or two night stints. The dining and service pushed this from average to very good for me. I tend to put a lot of weight behind those two aspects, as they are becoming increasingly neglected these days.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    108
    54
    23
    9
See reviews for
51
38
51
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed here before catching our flight. Very reasonable room rate through Priceline. Very clean hotel. We arrived late and left early so we didn't get to see their amenities. Hot breakfast available for $10......quite a lot to choose from. The gentleman that runs the dining area was very nice. We were leaving for our honeymoon and he comped our breakfasts. Very nice and appreciated. All staff that we encountered were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again. Only minor complaint was that it was hard to find the hotel off the main drag of Romulus......the street sign is very hidden.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Only one elevator working, staff complains, shower doesn't work. Breakfast so-so, but wait staff very nice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I stay at this property at least 3 times per year and have yet to experience disappointment.
The front desk staff are always friendly and accommodating. During this last visit I had the pleasure of receiving the most outstanding service from the night front desk agent who I believe his name is Rob or Robert. I observed him engaging and welcoming every person that walked in the door. I inquired about getting a newspaper and since there were none in the hotel, he had the shuttle bus driver pick up one from a convenience store. I was surprised that anyone other then a 5 star luxury property would do that. The rooms are always immaculate and the complimentary cookies in the lobby are delightful. The rooms are always priced well for some great accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed there 1 night, before a trip to Myrtle Beach, which was supposed to be with Spirit Airlines .Spirit canceled on us, 2 hours before the flight, so we ended up driving 900 miles, one way, for a 4 night trip. I would not recommend using that airline, as they seem to cancel flights with a very short notice, very often.
Never the less,our short stay at the Hilton Garden Inn was very pleasant. The room was spacious and well appointed and the bed was very comfortable. It's an older property, but everything is kept in a good order and the hotel is very clean. There is a law in Detroit, that you can not leave you car parked at a hotel for an extended period of time (park and fly). We were allowed to park our car for 1 night only, but than we were given a discount coupon for Quick park, which is virtually next door. Their nightly rate is 5.00. There was a great breakfast available at the hotel's restaurant. It was 9.99 per person and the guy working the breakfast room (Dennis) was extremely helpful. There were hot made to order dishes, as well as a continental spread. The people at the front desk, were also very nice.
If I'm flying from Detroit again, I would definitely stay there, but my flights will not be with Spirit Airlines.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel overlookd the runways, so if you are in the plane watching, ask to be on that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I just returned from a 3 night stay with my son for a local hockey tournament, and there were other rooms booked in this hotel for the same reason. I did not chose this hotel myself, it was picked by a hotel travel booking service for this large national tournament in town. They even had a poster by the front desk, welcoming "the tournament". We had a great time during our visit, but even though they were accomodating a hockey tournament, they did not seem to like having teens staying in the hotel. I totally understand their concerns, and I'm aware of the reputation of traveling hockey teams in hotels and the love/hate relationship they have with them, but I acually felt unwelcome. They stared nervously at our kids (14 to 18 years) while eating in the restaurant, and there is a young man working there whose job it is to watch the lobby and pool in the evening, who was downright nasty to us in the pool area. We were in the pool with the kids and supervising them. This hotel has a newly renovated lobby, but it's a bit stuffy and formal. The breakfast was wonderful, but even the buffet is sit down/table service. THis is a very nice, clean hotel, but I seriously do not recommend anyone traveling with teens to stay Here. Do NOT stay here if you are part of a hockey tournament! They, and you, will not be made to feel welcome. Especially if the kids get anywhere near the lobby and all the fussy trinkets scattered throughout, or near the cookies and coffee/dining area. It's not a welcoming, comfortable, atmosphere. Yes we were traveling with teen boys, but we were not allowing them to be disruptive or wild. In fact, they were in bed early as they had very early hockey games. I've traveled with my son for a couple of years now with hockey, stayed in other cities and hotels, and have never had a problem with the kids at any other hotel, or been made to feel that the kids were unwelcome. This particular hotel should not be accomodating hockey families. I know I won't stay here again.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying on a lower floor (there are only six floors) to probably cut down on airpl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. I would like to apologize for the way you and your team were treated while at our hotel. We certainly cherish your business and we want you to know that our staff will be addressed regarding this. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC, OK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Because it is a Hilton branded hotel, I was expecting a nice experience and it was. I chose this hotel close to the airport so that I could have a restful evening before finishing my trip. Since my plane ended up being quite late it was comforting to know that I had a room ready. I also appreciated knowing that there was a hotel shuttle to and from the airport. Came quickly. Rooms and amenities are what I would expect, but the service was quite something. Very, very friendly staff. They also have a little "pantry" next to the service desk where you can pick up items you've forgotten, some food items, and since I was late, I really appreciated picking up one of those little bottles of wine since everything was closed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport

Address: 31800 Smith Road, Romulus, MI 48174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Romulus
#7 Family Hotel in Romulus
#8 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport Hotel Romulus
Hilton Garden Inn Romulus
Romulus Hilton Garden Inn
Detroit Metro Airport Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Detroit
Hilton Romulus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.