We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay! Beautiful place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8400 Merriman Rd, Romulus, MI 48174   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Andover, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Stay! Beautiful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were supposed to have a stop over in Detroit but ended up having a stay over when Delta flights were having trouble being on time. As a result Delta put us up for the night at the Holiday Inn. At first when I heard that I wasn't very impressed but once the free shuttle got us to the hotel and we say how modern it was inside we felt like we could truly relax and enjoy our stay. The rooms are gorgeous, modern, clean and spacious. The ceilings are high, the furnishings are new and the details are terrific.
The bathroom is outstanding with a walk in glass shower with beautiful granite, etc. We didn't get to stay long but we felt like we were well taken care of for our short time there.
I would HIGHLY recommend this as a place to stay. It appeared that their normal rates were very affordable. It's certainly worth it! It made our not so fun stop easier to handle and provided us a peaceful nights sleep so that we could rise early and get back to the airport.

Room Tip: They are all light little suites with a microwave and refrigerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hi Kimberly,

I’m happy to hear your unexpected visit with us was a good one! We want all of our guests to have a comfortable and relaxing stay; this includes providing a microwave and refrigerator in all of our rooms, as you mentioned. I hope you’ll come back and visit us again soon!

Valerie
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    57
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
27
23
8
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are large. Very new and high tech. The bed was very comfortable and the staff was great. I love Holiday Inn. We are always happy with the rooms. The bedding is great and the rooms are very clean

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We've stayed here numerous times as we were catching flights out of Detroit Metro. Conveniently located across from the Park and Fly, it also has a nice in house restaurant and bar area as well as an inviting lobby area.

Rooms were clean and updated with good room for a family of four. Will be returning soon.

Room Tip: Be prepared for plane noise.... obviously!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hi JayRay61,

Thanks for sharing your great comments! We love hearing from frequent guests, and I’m happy to hear you've enjoyed your time with us. Thanks again, and we look forward to your next visit!

Valerie
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here before an early morning flight. Check out the park and fly option with Airlines Parking across the street, for about $30 for a week's parking. The all-glass showers are beautiful. Airport is very close, so there is some airplane noise. We had a great stay. Courteous, friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel. This was a new hotel with wonderful rooms and great breakfasts! Beds were comfortable and the staff professional. We will definitely plan to stay here again if on Detroit ... Also awesome sports bar!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Hello rzrbks76,

Thank you for letting us know about your stay! I’m glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel, and I will pass your comments on to our staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Valerie
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I was very surprised by how clean and pleasant the atmosphere was. Especially for the price!

I could not expect better for a business hotel right near the airport. The decorations are a very modern new age artistic look that meshes nicely with Detroit.

Room Tip: King size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here with a 2.5yr old and a 7mth old prior to our morning flight. We did the park, sleep and fly option and it was great!
Check in was a breeze and and I was happy to see when we got to our room the crib I had requested over the phone was waiting for us. The rooms were clean and very tastefully decorated. The beds were comfortable and guests are provided with a hard and soft pillow option.
We found the pool great entertainment in the evening for our children. It was warm, clean and empty so we enjoyed it all to ourselves.
The parking is offsite through Airlines Parking. I parked the car in the evening once the kids were asleep. I was so impressed. The whole process took no more than 10minutes (from the minute I stepped out of my room). Efficiency is the name of the game here. Everyone knows exactly what they should be doing and there's no waiting around. The parking is directly across from the hotel, so convenient!
We ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel restaurant. Kids eat free so that was a great advantage. Our dinner was delicious and an exceptional value at $25! Breakfast was ok and was also $25.
Overall I was so happy with our stay. I have never stayed in such a well appointed airport hotel (aside from staying at the club level in the Sheraton attached to Pearson airport - but they don't have a pool). I will 100% be using this hotel every time we fly out of DTW!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Hello Newlyweds,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! I’m glad to hear everything was prepared for your visit and I’m happy that the Park and Fly package worked well for you. We’ll see you again soon and thanks again!

Valerie
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport

Address: 8400 Merriman Rd, Romulus, MI 48174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Romulus
#8 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport Hotel Romulus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.