We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Airport location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31700 Smith Rd., Romulus, MI 48174   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park, Stay, & Go!
Ranked #1 of 25 hotels in Romulus
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Airport location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

They were happy to pick me up at Hertz when I turned in my rental car. Very friendly drivers and right on time as scheduled. Great breakfast as usual but breakfast staff was exceptional Will stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    244
    75
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
109
73
26
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Hotel is very nice - all you would expect from a hotel during couple days stay between the flights. Hotel's stuff is very nice, rooms are cosy and clean, breakfast is very nice too. Hotel has inside pool and a hot tub, towels are provided near by the pool.
Especially want to say about the bed - very comfy, soft. Sleep was awesome.

Room Tip: Try to ask for the better view (highest floor), but any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Ignore the bad rap about Detroit! I spent a week at the Hampton during business travel and was impressed with the excellent condition of the hotel, the efficiency of the process, the automated wake up call, the beautiful pool, sufficient fitness equipment, building safety, adequate parking, proximity to the airport, low traffic, easy access to interstate and gas station, the well trained housekeeping staff, and the front desk/Management. Also, there were quite a few dinner options nearby. I enjoyed Italian and Mediterranean choices. I highly recommend this hotel and look forward to my next business trip there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Was in Detroit for a brief weekend stay and found a great deal at this DTW airport hotel. This is one of the best Hampton Inns that I've ever stayed at. Check-in was a breeze and I was pleased to be upgraded to a King suite room which was huge. There was a large living area divided from the sleeping area by a large shelf unit/desk. The flat panel TV hung from the wall and could be swiveled to either the bedroom or living room. There was a microwave, sink and small refrigerator in the entryway and a vanity and sink off the bedroom, separate from the toilet and tub/shower. The bed was very comfortable, but I missed my nice down pillows from home. The room and hotel was very nicely decorated in vibrant and modern colors and decor. Breakfast was good and plentiful with the old Hampton standards. Service was friendly and helpful and my two requests to them were handled quickly (a new box of tissues and my "welcome gift" as an HHonors Gold member). There is a bit of airplane noise if airplanes are taking off at the end of the runways closest to the hotel, but it was not at all disturbing. In fact, as an avid aviation lover, I enjoyed watching planes landing at DTW. I found an excellent Middle-Eastern restaurant less than a half mile down the road, Beirut, that was filled with DL flight crews, other airport employees and lots of locals. I had a delicious, healthy meal there. While there's really not much in Romulus, if I were returning and the hotel was convenient to my visit, I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Clean, clean, clean! A very friendly staff complimented a really comfortable room with a spacious bathroom stocked with a lot of towels. Strongly recommended! Would absolutely stay here again and encourage you to select this great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here when visiting the area for the Woodward Cruise and NASCAR at MIS. One of the best Hampton Inns we've been at. Super room, no air blowing directly on you, spacious, quiet and clean. Would recommend to anyone visiting the Detroit area - not just as a stop over for airport travelers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I was just here for the night, but was thrilled with the service. The shuttle driver recommended a little Mid Eastern restaurant nearby, then told me what to order. He was correct, it was delicious.

There are a bunch of hotels in this area, but this one is off the main road, so a bit quieter. The rooms are huge! Clean and fresh, very modern looking.. Breakfast was standard hotel breakfast, but much better than the Hilton Garden Inn, which would charge for a breakfast buffet.

I slept like a log.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus

Address: 31700 Smith Rd., Romulus, MI 48174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Romulus
#1 Family Hotel in Romulus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus Hotel Romulus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.