We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay! Highly recommend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31700 Smith Rd., Romulus, MI 48174   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park, Stay, & Go!
Ranked #1 of 25 hotels in Romulus
Tiffin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay! Highly recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very comfortable and nice place! Beautifully decorated, comfortable beds, clean bathrooms, very nice pool and spa area. Complimentary breakfast was excellent. Staff was very friendly and attentive. Shuttle to and from Metro Airport was very convenient. All around great experience, highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    216
    66
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
98
72
23
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canfield, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We came to town to attend the Fathers' Day weekend "Motor Muster" car show at Greenfield Village in Dearborn. Even though we have a Hampton Inn in our home city, we had never availed ourselves of their hospitality. What a wonderful experience! Having read reviews about this facility, including issues with airliner noise, we felt the value more than offset an airport location. Our "studio" room was large, inviting, and exceptionally well appointed. We especially appreciated the well designed location of the room HVAC unit so that it does not blow directly, or reflected, onto the main sleeping area, yet maintains an even temperature. The breakfast area is expansive, well-lighted, and particularly well staffed. Items were restocked when supplies became low, not after several requests by patrons. Tables were cleared and cleaned frequently, even if there were many clean spots available. KUDOS! We will definitely stay at a Hampton again, but likey not so near an airport. Unless, of course, we're flying somewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a great value for the dollar. The facility is clean and well-maintained. All the amenities are as stated - nice weightroom with several treadmills, bikes, ellipticals and free weights, inside pool and hot tub area, full hot breakfast... bagel toppers? Yum. Had a family with about 18 kids beside us one night slamming doors and running up and down the hall... that can happen almost anywhere. Pleasant, friendly and professional staff. It's a ways out if you don't need to be close to the airport. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The location of the hotel seemed a bit odd. There wasn't much around it and there were a lot of empty fields nearby (perhaps for future development). However, the proximity to the expressway was a plus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I had an early flight so I stayed at this hotel. I believe it is the second time I stayed here. Everything was as expected in such a property: clean, comfortable, and efficient. It all worked great and I am sure I will be returning. Kudos to the management and staff.

Room Tip: I did not hear any, but airplanes approach DTW right above the hotel. I am not sure, but maybe there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My family and I are going on college trips over the summer for my daughter and the University of Michigan is one of the schools we were visiting. After having read all of the reviews on Tripadvisor as well as others and comparing prices of the hotels in the general area, we decided to stay at the Hampton Inn in Romulus, MI, by the airport.

The most positive thing that struck me about the hotel is their friendly and very attentive staff. Every time we walked in and out the the hotel we had to pass the front desk and each time, the staff would greet us and ask us if they could help with anything. On the first night we noticed that there weren't enough towels, so we called down to the front desk and within 10 minutes the towels were delivered to our door. Additionlly, I had been looking at the tea selection in the lobby area one night and one of the staff members noticed and ran over to get more tea from the back without me even asking. I didn't really even need them as they were fully stocked already. Also, every time we ate breakfast, while the selections were very similar to the comperable hotels i.e., eggs, sausages cereals etc., the food trays were always filled and the staff came to all of the tables to see if we needed anything. Wow! You don't see that very often. Usually in these hotels the lines for food are long, there is little seating, the food bins are empty and there is no one in sight to fill them. So, needless to say, we were very impressed. The breakfast area was always pretty quiet and I believe that most of the people there were professionals there on business. No kids running around or being loud.

The location of the hotel is a little odd. In order to get there from the interstate, you have to constantly make U-turns and there is a series of winding roads that leads you straight through miles of farms/fields. This can get rather confusing and we ended up making a few go-rounds before we found the hotel. There are several hotels all clumped together in the same general location. Fields on one side of the hotel for miles and down the road on the other side are the airport runways and a small street with a few fast food restaurants. While the runways were very close and we could hear the planes taking off, I didn't really find it a problem and the last plane we heard was at around 11:00 p.m. The location does make it a great hotel for the professional who wants to be close to his/her flight. The location is also fine for those who are visiting the University if you don't mind a commute. It is about 1/2 hour away and the traffic didn't seem too bad even during rush hour. However, as it is in the middle of nowhere, there aren't that many restaurants to choose from if you stay in the area. At least I didn't see many. But we spent much of our time around campus, and really didn't do any exploring around the hotel so there may have been other restaurants that we just didn't notice.

All in all we had a good stay at the Hampton Inn and I would have given them a five star rating, however, there were just a few small things that made them miss the mark. Again, the location is somewhat "off the beaten path", secondly, while everything else looked clean, when I first checked in I found a hair on the bathroom floor and I know it wasn't from my family. This happened on the second day of our stay as well, which tells me that maybe they aren't cleaning as well as they could, even though everything else looked clean. Thirdly, the toilet didn't flush well. I don't think it was malfunctioning, I just think it was one of those "green" toilets that save energy. However, I found myself having to flush more than once for it to do it's job. On the upside, the water velocity in the shower was great. I hate when the water just trickles out of the showerhead, so this is a big plus for me.

I feel that this hotel is good for the price. It's not perfect and they could use a little update relative to furniture and carpeting and the problems I found with the hotel were just minor annoyances to me so I didn't feel it warrented reporting them to the manager. However, the big plus in their favor and what will make me come back again and recommend others to stay here is the attentiveness and friendliness of the staff. For me, that's what makes this hotel stand apart from many of the others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I travel for Business and Pleasure. I enjoyed my stay at the Hampton Inn Romulus. There was a small problem handled quickly when I tried to connect to the internet. A young Man from the concessions stand was dispatched to help me and it was quickly settled. The van drivers to and from the airport were great. Personable and I didn't have to wait. Breakfast was good, plenty of choices. The fitness Center was more than adequate and the equipment new and well kept. The bed was great and the pillows perfect. High Marks! I got the AARP rate and it was very reasonable! When you weigh out all the other factors - this was the best option!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus Hotel
Hampton Inn And Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus Hotel Romulus
Address: 31700 Smith Rd., Romulus, MI 48174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Romulus
#1 Business Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.