We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31700 Smith Rd., Romulus, MI 48174   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 hotels in Romulus
Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent for price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were very impressed with this hotel. We stayed Christmas eve, and the staff were wonderful. It looked like it was a slow night, so hard to say if the noise level (which was null) is typical. It was fairly clean. I am always really nervous about the cleanliness of the carpeting, but this place didn't fail to please me. There was a bit of smear on the bathroom door that you could only see in a certain light, but hardly anything to complain about. Excellent price for park and stay as well. Huge rooms and very close to airport a plus.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    78
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
115
78
26
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Lake, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The room was furnished nice, I liked the desk built into the wall for working. The white bedding was very nice, bed was good, tub/shower very clean and it smelled good. It set back off of hwy and within walking distance to restaurant off site. Close to airport, very easy trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here for one night in a 2 Queen suite before an early flight. The room was huge! Very clean, comfortable. Kids loved the pool. Staff was very friendly & helpful with shuttles and parking. The free breakfast was very good, too.
Before leaving for our flight in the morning, I realized that we did not book the 'park, sleep, fly' package! The man at the desk was so helpful & added it to our stay and we weren't a minute late for our flight, even after having to drive over to the Quik Park.
I would definitely stay here again when flying.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INDIANA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed @this hotel w/eight others to catch a BEARS VICTORY @ Detroit. After reading reviews I decided on this hotel outside Detroit, hotel was overall okay. I choose this hotel for the comfortable beds & location. Hotel welcome was well recieved w/other BEARS fans in lobby. After checking in we had 3rooms, one of the rooms given to us already had a family in it...Opps!
Once that was straighten out the rooms we had were clean and comfortable. I knew it was near airport but didnt read where we would actually hear the airplanes taking off all night. The walls are also very thin since i could hear a baby crying all night. The breakfast was decent. Overall, i would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

While traveling home from Dallas we were stuck in Detroit overnight. I called the Airport Hampton Inn around 11 pm to reserve a room which luckily they still had a few available. I was well pleased with the hotel and experience. This is your basic Hampton Inn. Nice rooms, great beds and great service. Breakfast was actually better than most I have stayed at before. Staff was very friendly and after a long day dealing with the uncaring ticket agents at American and Delta airlines this was much appreciated. I would recommend anyone stuck in Detroit to call the Airport Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is a well kept Hampton with friendly helpful staff. The room was spacious and well appointed. The shower water pressurewas strong and hot Good for an overnight or short stay. No restaurant. They do have excellent food and delivery from a number of area restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
Top Contributor
670 reviews 670 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 239 cities Reviews in 239 cities
859 helpful votes 859 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Our family of four stayed in a two queen studio suite before an early morning flight out of the Detroit Airport using their Park, Stay & Go program, which includes a nights stay and up to a week of parking at the remote lot around the corner from the hotel. The room was huge, modern and very clean along with the rest of the hotel. We had to leave before breakfast so I can’t comment on it but the process of dropping the car off and taking the shuttle to the airport the next morning was quick and smooth as was getting back to the remote lot upon our return. The best part was that the whole package cost about what I would have paid for parking alone at the airport. We highly recommend this for anyone flying out of Detroit in the early morning if you live any distance from the airport.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus

Address: 31700 Smith Rd., Romulus, MI 48174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Romulus
#1 Family Hotel in Romulus
#3 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus Hotel Romulus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.