We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hampton Inn right near DTW Airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus to your Saves list
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31700 Smith Rd., Romulus, MI 48174   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park, Stay, & Fly!
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Hampton Inn right near DTW Airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I was here for a 1 night stay for business and had a great stay. the property is in excellent condition, the staff if very helpful/professional and the location is really good as well. A couple of miles away from the DTW airport and close to several restaurants of all different types of price points and cuisine types...or you can walk a few feet to the Hilton Garden Inn and grab dinner there.

I was up late and watching TV in the lobby area and the hotel's shittle driver was gettig boilng water for a guest to make a hot snack with vs. just pointing the guest in the direction of the hot water.

Rooms have a nice desk area, Fridge and microwave and a large flat screen. The room was immaculate, the heat works well and is fairly quiet and the bathroom was also in excellent condition.

When in the area I will stay either here or the Hilton Garden Inn, which is another excellent property with the same type of great staff right next door. I believe the person who owns these two properties also owns the the Embassy Suites so I would try their as well.

For both the HGI and the Hampton Inn the room and facility in general is amazingly quiet despite being right next to the airport and near the flight plath.

Checkin Process was amazingly fast, they had everything predone so I am guessing it took less than a minute from when I walked up to the counter to I was walking to the elevators. this is not m first stay here and it was like this when I had previously stayed here.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong. I have stayed on multiple floors on multiple sides and they all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    88
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
121
88
28
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

We stayed at this hotel after a late night flight arrival. The rooms were very clean and spacious. The bed was very comfortable, with clean duvets, no comforters that aren't washed after every guest. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. The close proximity to the airport makes traveling easy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albion
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

To allow a somewhat more leisurely trip, I decided to stay at the Metro Airport Hamption Inn and Suites before my morning flight. The room was, in fact, a suite and was very comfortable. The desk personnel were personable and pleasant people with whom to deal. The shuttle was on time and I experienced no problems.
before, during, or after my stay. I will use their services again.

Room Tip: Become a Hilton Honors member.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

What an awesome hotel. The hotel is newly built and is well maintained. The check-in moved quickly however a line soon formed behind us.

We stayed in a room with two queen beds. The room was huge and well layed out. The bed was so comfortable however I think I have an issue with the pillows the Hilton Hotels choose to use because I just can't find a comfortable one for me. The pillow appear large and fluffy, however when I lay on them they seem to deflate into a pancake. I do not fault this hotel for this.

The manager was more than accomadating when we needed some milk for our three year old and allowed us to grab a cup out of the breakfast station.

The breakfast was to be served at 6am.

First, the breakfast was very good, nicely presented, and clean. The staff person that we saw working the breakfast was very pleasant.

On the negative side, being primarily an airport hotel, I felt the breakfast should have opened a little earlier than 6am. There were at least three groups of us waiting for the doors to open and I feel, as did another woman we talked to, believed that a 5:30am breakfast opening would be more appropriate, at the least. Full disclosure, we had no issues with this and were able to get down our breakfast with about four minutes to spare before out 6:20am shuttle.

Overall, I will certainly choose this hotel again and would, without a doubt, recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Choose a lower floor room due to the air traffic overhead. We stayed on the fifth floor, the top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elgin, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for the first tim, in October as a starting point for a trip to Seattle. It was excellent. Location was great, service was great, room was wonderful and the parking was right next door, with free shuttle to and from the airport, directly to and from your car. The price was $89.00 plus tax, room, free breakfast and eight days of parking.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Although we've stayed on Hampton's Inns before, I was a bit worried about the airplane noise on this one. No need. I wasn't bothered by any.
Rooms are very good, with fridges and microwaves. Nice TV. Great beed. Good shower. Free parking.
They had coffee and cookies downstairs, as well as a convenience store and free internet in a business center.
Staff was very nice and breakfast was good (and free). They even had breakfast to go bags.
Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We have always stayed at Hampton Inn's but this hotel was very convienient to airport and city. The staff was very eager to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The rooms were beautifully appointed and had lots of amenities. For an airport hotel, it was extremely quite. Would stay there again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the front of the property. It was quieter and the rooms were bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus

Address: 31700 Smith Rd., Romulus, MI 48174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Romulus
#1 Business Hotel in Romulus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus Hotel Romulus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.